You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two directions from which to choose

in Pinmapple4 years ago

I haven't been, as you know, but am keen to go for sure.

I've been to the battlefields of the western front in France and Belgium though (WW1), a place of wholesale slaughter, and imagine the emotion to be similar...Although the death-factory nature of Auschwitz lends it a different feel I would say. I like how your photos seem to set the tone of the place which I would think is quite dour.

Imagine if inanimate objects actually soaked in the events that transpired there...I would say the place would exude a feeling of abject misery.

Sort:  

I was thinking that if we can wrangle it, we should visit together one day.

Yeah, I think it is a different experience. It isn't just the slaughter - it is the way it was done. Coldly. Silently.

Imagine if inanimate objects actually soaked in the events that transpired there...I would say the place would exude a feeling of abject misery.

It would make for a very difference experience considering it already feels that way. One thing that surprised me was the order of Birkenau - in another world it would have been a well maintained suburban area.

Yeah, that'd be cool...I'd really love to go there.

The Nazis were organised fuckers. I watch a thing only last week about their V2 rocket development site. Amazing what they achieved really...If only they put it to good and not bad uses.

Boy with the striped pyjamas mate, worth a look. Not the happiest of movies, poignant though.