the roofless church!

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Just the other day I had these photos about the trip I made some time ago in the Marche region exactly in the town of Fano, a town of 60,000 inhabitants in the provinces of Pesaro and Urbino

Here I still remember I made the discovery of a church without a totally open roof and with a Prato floor.

For heaven's sake in Italy there are I think 3-4 other similar ones including the most famous one of San Galgano in the province of Siena in Tuscany but the thing that struck me is that unfortunately this one that is located in the Marche and little appreciated.

I find these places always very fascinating however this is the former Church of San Francesco in Fano and you cannot remain indifferent in front of this wonder which is located right in the center of the town.

Its history is very troubled because it was built around 1220 and had years of enormous splendor also because it was chosen by the Malatesta family who were those who administered the city of Fano to house the family tombs, but at the end of the old convent it no longer remains. nothing because it was practically demolished around 1700 and rebuilt.

When I visited it I thought that the lack of the roof of the church is due to the bombings of the Second World War, instead a very kind local guide explained to me that in 1900 there were big earthquakes that hit the city, also because it must be remembered that the area is seismic and the church suffered major damage so the structure was repaired but it was deprived of the roof in order not to put the structure itself in difficulty.

when I visited it I could not visit the tombs of the Malatesta family because they are still inexplicably closed to the public

however if you happen to be near Fano I suggest you pay a visit because it is a place rich in history and very special.

I have left a map above you so you can better orient yourself for your future visit


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @giorgiamolinaro! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play