You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 10,000 Hours - Hour 216

in Pinmapple3 years ago

although I have leveled up loads in the last 4 years or so. Part of it was my move to Portugal in 2018.

Im really glad to hear that. I have as well! And by that I mean, I’m in control of my depression. It used to affect me in a much, much more drastic way- but no one wants to hear those details. I’ve become quite the expert on myself and how to fight my own brain. Hoping my move to Chile reflects some of the progress your move to Portugal made :)

Yeah, CH certainly isn’t a movie I’d watch often. This was my second time. I mainly rewatched it because it had been so long and I was looking for a shock. I do not approve of the movie, and certainly not the motives nor actions of the filmmaker. It’s just.. I dunno. It’s one of those things. Like a “why the fuck does this exist” kind of thing. That stuff weirdly attracts me

As for horror in general, I know what you mean. And I absolutely adore all three of the movies you mentioned(other than raini’s tree-rape scene; even he will admit that was a bad call). For me, it’s the escape. I am obsessed with horror and that will never change. I can’t explain it here, but it helps me in a weird sense. To be honest I can find more things that make me depressed in your typical every day tv show or popular movie- without trying to pick my own brain too much I suppose I could peg misanthropy as a reason.

Not that I dislike humans. I in fact love humans. Just not humanity. Or society. Or your typical human. And horror exploits those issues in a way I find fascinating.

I could go on and on haha. I think you know what I mean and I certainly know what you mean- I’m just straying off topic a little bit :)

Thanks for your encouragement! I think it’s the right call. There’s happiness for me here, for sure, but I’m ready for something else. Plus, it’s not a forever thing- I’m sure we’ll be living here at some point. A big goal of ours is to get a bus and do some traveling around North America while we’re both working remotely(myself writing and a workshop in the bus for her). Will it ever happen? Who knows. Not a big deal if not. But if we stay here for now, it’s less likely, for several reasons.