Exploring the Enchanting Palace in Portugal

in Pinmapple2 months ago

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024.jpeg

Hello fellow travelers of this community!

In these days, I've been a bit lost and haven't continued the story of my weekend in Portugal. To tell the truth, I've done several things, albeit a bit rushed. But today, in particular, I'd like to talk about a place I really enjoyed, and that I think is worth visiting if you go to Portugal.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (6).jpeg

Indeed, I visited the Pena National Palace, located in Sintra, a beautiful city about thirty kilometers from Lisbon. So, if you decide to go for a weekend in Lisbon, it's definitely worth visiting this place, especially since my guidebook from Milan said it was a must-see.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (8).jpeg

This palace was built in the 19th century on the site of an ancient convent of the Jerónimos Order. I must say it's a beautiful and very unique palace. Furthermore, it has mystical decorations and splendid panoramic views. In fact, it's also called a romantic palace, although the part that interested me the most about this place was its interior, as I have a great appreciation for design.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (11).jpeg

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (9).jpeg

The palace is practically always open, and since 1995 it has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site. So, I can also add this place to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites I've visited, which is quite an achievement for me.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (10).jpeg

I was definitely struck by the combination of colors, as you can see from the photos I took, and by the truly unique and very chic things. I must say it's a truly unique residence and I highly recommend visiting it.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (12).jpeg

From what I understand, it was also destroyed by a severe earthquake that struck Portugal in the 1700s. I was certainly impressed by the numerous decorations, but especially by how well-maintained this place is. Unfortunately, I've seen parts of Lisbon that aren't kept as well, whereas here you can see that they really take care to maintain this place over the years.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (7).jpeg

Let's say that in about an hour, I visited this place. I was supposed to visit the gardens as well, but I didn't feel like it because I was quite tired from the journey. So, I went in search of a good restaurant where I could taste something delicious, and I must say that both in Portugal and in Spain, they prepare food that is absolutely delicious.

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (5).jpeg

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (4).jpeg

maffeimichele77-mar-17-2024 (3).jpeg

So, I found a nice little place where I could eat some fried fish dishes and some good octopus, which I hadn't had in ages.

I hope you found my photos interesting and above all, enjoyed them. If I take care of the material to share from my short vacation in Portugal, I will definitely do so in this community. Goodbye and see you soon!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2163.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Portugal is an incredible country and so is this food 😊 Octopus is my favorite food. Thanks for sharing 😊

Thank you for comment