The beautiful caves of Neptune.

in Pinmapple10 months ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Hello everyone! I'm really excited to share this post because exactly one year ago, I had the opportunity to visit the extraordinary caves located in Sardinia, an island that I deeply love and always try to visit when I have some free time. In my opinion, Sardinia represents an unspoiled land, rich in natural beauty, and within it, there are hidden treasures, like these magnificent caves that I want to share with you the photos I took just last year.

These are the Neptune's Caves located on the western coast of Sardinia near Alghero, a famous tourist destination. They are accessible through a series of stairs, or you can also reach them with a short boat trip. When I visited them, I discovered that they were accidentally discovered in the 18th century by a local fisherman, but I think the spectacle he found in front of him must have left him speechless. In fact, you enter a spectacular environment with stalactites and stalagmites of various shapes that naturally formed over time.

To be honest, I had already visited other caves in the Friuli Venezia Giulia area and also in Slovenia. However, I have to say that I was impressed by these caves, which probably remained intact and preserved over time.

To enter these caves, you have to pay a ticket of €14, if I remember correctly, but I have to say that it is absolutely worth it, and there are over 600 steps that lead you to the peak by the sea where these caves are located. The particular thing I noticed is that underground lakes have formed, opening up to large salt deposits, and there is one in particular that is an underground lake of intensely blue saltwater. I really appreciate using guided tours by local experts when I visit these places because they not only explain how stalactites and stalagmites form but also share some legends related to the caves.

In fact, I would like to tell you one of these legends because it is said that the caves are named after Neptune, the Roman god of the sea, as he supposedly inhabited these caves. Most likely, this is just a legend, and we know how good tour guides are at inventing legends about these places, but it adds that touch of mystery that makes the visit more interesting.

https://tenor.com/it/view/acuaman-gif-24358760https://tenor.com/it/view/acuaman-gif-24358760

The Neptune's Caves, in my opinion, are an unmissable stop not only for nature lovers but also for those who want to explore the hidden wonders of Sardinia. I still remember the guide telling us that we can only see a part of these caves because their total length exceeds 4 km, and if you think about it, it's truly a tremendous distance. One can easily get lost inside. However, what impressed me the most was the remarkable consistency of the rocks forming these calcite columns, which, if you notice in some photos, almost resemble ruins of some structure. In reality, they formed naturally, and that is truly impressive.

I hope you enjoyed the photos. I really wanted to introduce you to this place I visited just last year. In fact, I hope to return to Sardinia as soon as possible because one thing I love is the food and the sea of this land.

Hello, everyone!


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1918.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @ilmaffeiano78! Your post made the TravelFeed team happy so we have sent you our big smile. Keep up the good job. 😃

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Did you know that we recently launched the truvvl app? With truvvl, you can create travel stories on the go from your phone and swipe through nearby stories from other TravelFeed users. It is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play.

Post molto bello. Sono felice che la grotta ti sia piaciuta, è una meraviglia!
Ti aspettiamo di nuovo in Sardegna, magari nel sud-ovest questa volta 😁