That time when I used to climb #02 | Mt. Kan-irag

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

That time when I used to climb... mt kan irag.jpg

Mt. Kan-irag is one of the most famous, accessible mountains from Cebu City. At 700m above sea level, this mountain is relatively easy to climb. It also has various trails to choose from. With an amazing view of the city lights, this mountain is perfect for a quick getaway with your buddies. Sure is, this was what I and my friends did!

It was quite a busy week for the gang and all they wanted was to get to the mountains and escape the bustling life from the city. During this time, I was also a "thriving" working scholar, making means end, and a young outdoor explorer! So by the middle of the week, we all have decided to block our weekend for a rendezvous in Mt. Kan-irag.

At this point, most of us had a Saturday shift so we had to meet up after our work. Thus, our ETD was around 5:00 pm. From JY mall, we rode a van and asked to be dropped off at the nearest jump-off point to Mount Kan-irag. Mount Kan-rag is also known by the name of its peak - Sirao Peak. From the jump-off point, it was just a 30-minute trek 😁.

IMGP0008.JPG

The only decent shot I have of the city lights

IMGP0037.JPG

This is Aldrin, our crazy yet great climbing buddy. He always makes our climb an adventure to remember!

By the time we arrived at Sirao peak, the sun have set. The wind was getting chilly so we had to pitch our tent quickly. At this point, I was sharing with the ladies' tent as I have no tent of my own. After that, the night went on as if time stopped still. We went on to cooked and shared our food, getting acquainted with Dale's friends. At this time, I was an outsider, a new member of the group and yet I felt I belong. They welcomed me with open arms and I didn't shy away from sharing about myself. We finished the night by silently admiring the city lights.

The next day, we woke up to a cold breeze that made my teeth chatter. As everyone was minding their own morning business, Dale went on to set up the cook set and made us our morning coffee. The rest of us took some time to take some photographs. After 30 minutes, we had our breakfast. Nothing fancy - just some tuna, corn beef, and rice. We then took our time to break camp making sure to clean up the garbage leaving no trace behind.

IMGP0013.JPG

Morning view

IMGP0014.JPG

A chilly morning indeed!

IMGP0016.JPG

Aldrin always bring a mini Philippine flag every mountain he climbs

IMGP0019.JPG

IMGP0021.JPG

IMGP0017.JPG

IMGP0053.JPG

On the left, Dale setting up the cook set. On the right, Ric and Moi cooking the tuna.

IMGP0022.JPG

IMGP0030.JPG

A beautiful view of my city

IMGP0023.JPG

IMGP0024.JPG

IMGP0026.JPG

IMGP0032.JPG

IMGP0042.JPG

IMGP0045.JPG

IMGP0043.JPG

They call this the human binoculars 😂.

IMGP0046.JPG

IMGP0047.JPG

IMGP0050.JPG

IMGP0056.JPG

IMGP0054.JPG

IMGP0055.JPG

Everyone getting busy packing up their stuff.

IMGP0057.JPG

IMGP0062.JPG

A mandatory shot before leaving Sirao peak.

As we started to descend, we chose a much more longer route so that we could enjoy Mt. Kan-irag's beauty. And we sure did enjoy the path we took. The scenery was just serene and peaceful. Who knew such a place was just a few hours from the city right?

IMGP0080.JPG

IMGP0069.JPG

IMGP0086.JPG

IMGP0081.JPG

IMGP0083.JPG

IMGP0085.JPG

IMGP0078.JPG

From left to right, Miri, Jet, Bap2x, Aldrin, Me, Moi, Ric

I enjoyed it the most because it was my first time visiting this place. Not just that, the whole gang made it more memorable and fun. I never knew that I would be able to stick with them in the long run and conquered many more mountains from then on. They were the best travel and climbing buddies I had so far. So cheers to that!


So, have you been to Mt. Kan-irag?


IMGP0065.JPG


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

Sort:  

the cover photo is really cool. blend of nature and the human skeleton.😊 thank you for sharing

This is amazing! I've always wanted to try climbing but never had the chance. Maybe in the future!
Great work!!

thank you @renegidd! Yes, please do find the chance to experience climbing! Its totally worth it.

Mt. Kan-irag is beautiful. I have never been. That's what I love about Cebu, nature, whether it be mountain or sea, they're easily accessible.
Haha, the cover image is epic! What a fun climbing buddy to have 😀 There seems to be a harmonious camaraderie and fun-loving vibe within your group as well. To share stories, camping, watching the city lights together, so blissful.

Thats true! Cebu has it all. Although, a surfing site might just complete the package! Haha. Mount Kan-irag is beautiful however @ybanezkim26 just mentioned that this place is no longer accessible. As Mount Kan-irag is a private property, it will soon be converted to a subdivision.

Also, I do love this gang. I never had to pretend something I'm not and were very helpful with my climbing journey back then!

Mount Kan-irag is beautiful however @ybanezkim26 just mentioned that this place is no longer accessible. As Mount Kan-irag is a private property, it will soon be converted to a subdivision.

Oh my, too bad. The view up there looks amazing so I guess, the upcoming residential community there will be an upscale one? It's sad though to lose nature sites like this one.

the upcoming residential community there will be an upscale one?

Not sure about this. But yeah, I'm just glad to be able to explore this one years ago.

enjoyed reading this Clara and especially the photos as well, i've been here once, we took the longer route going from talamban to mt. kan irag, i died in the process since i was not fit at all haha thinking of taking the shorter route if ever i come back.

i died in the process

NO WAY! I TRIED THAT ROUTE AS WELL! during my training with the USC mountaineers! And carrying 50lbs on my backpack was . . . NEVER AGAIN! 🤣

hahaha kapoy sa?? 🤣🤣 nindot ang falls though, but will not do that route anytime soon pud haha

Your post made me miss climbing na nuon @indayclara! huhu I "used" to climb before too hahaha Halos di mauli sa balay before oy. I can't wait for summer para nindot na i climb balik. Climb nya ta ninyo soon! 😁

Hoe! You also make me want to solo travel again with your blogs too!

Urgh, yes to climbing soon but unya na if init najud ang panahon. murag struggle kaayo pirmi ulan. 😂

Damn!!! Your post arrangement is 🔥🔥🔥… I love the view of the mountains. I wish I can go for a hang out like this with friends like this for mountain climbing (which I haven’t before).

These pictures are Gold!!! They would surely make memories.

Thank you for dropping by @starstrings01! Haha. Thank you for your kind words. Well, as much as possible I really want to present my blog well so I guess it worked out!

You sure do should try to go for mountain climbing! Its one of the best sports out there!

Yeah I would consider that. I would contact some of my friends if we could go together (later on) because I cannot do this alone.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I used to go camping in Mt. Kan irag.😍

Hello @wanderingbella! Yes, Mt. Kan-irag is really beautiful.

the Paradise!!!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1352.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Okay, first of all, what is that first image? 😂

You make climbing look like fun but I doubt I will have that much fun climbing..it looks like a lot of stress. Though I can go climbing if my friends are up for it, I just a need a little motivation. 😅

Your pictures were beautiful too, you just got yourself a new follower.

Okay, first of all, what is that first image?

An eye-catching coverpage! I guess it work its magic. haha.

Thank you. Climbing is really amazing yet tiring yet fulfilling! Everything! Looking back its always the "type" of friends which makes the adventure more memorable and fun! I always believe in choose your friends wisely!

True, unfortunately I don’t have those kind of friends yet, the kind that would want to go climbing.

@indayclara wow very nice place and fresh environment.Very enjoyable moments.

Congratulations @indayclara! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow you guys look like you had so much fun!

I've never been to o Mt. Kan-irag, but I must say your pictures are just pure energy, hilarious. Love it. I want to take a naked picture like that, but my friends always run away. Plus, on some attempts it was so cold that I could never go past the first layer haha

thanks @mrprofessor!!! well, we always have the one crazy friend who would just do crazy stuff! If you are up for such, then you are one crazy person I might just want to hang out with. haha.

But yeah, climbing in tropical countries has its perks as well. I rather climb on a freakin hot day than on a rainy one.

pabuyag kau nang ngalan ug aldrin..hahaha