Desert Views & Southwest Scenery on the Drive Through Southern California to Beautiful Southern Arizona

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

C043DDF04DE74021BFCC4BB9DFDC24B8.jpeg

After spending an entire month at an amazing little commune in central California, I finally left the beautiful Sierra Nevada foothills a week ago to make the drive south through Southern California to the desert of southern Arizona to spend some time camping again near the Mexican border south of Tucson.

It was my very first time in Southern California and western Arizona, and so the entire route was new territory for me, always fun covering new ground in your travels! The scenery rapidly changed from high mountains and farmland to your typical dry desert landscape. But unlike the desert terrain I was familiar with, southern California is land of the Joshua trees, and I was really excited to see my very first Joshua trees, and just in time for a beautiful sunset before dark.

8731052FC60C4F6B95BF5C28406BFA44.jpeg

033A7018EA14434C98306038DC17EF7F.jpeg

I made the rest of the eight-hour drive to the border in the dark and stayed at a hotel in the small California town of Blythe as planned, and awakened to some more beautiful desert views from my hotel room, which included the iconic symbol of a hot climate - palm trees.

F1D241DF703F4434A9299DA6AF985BAD.jpeg

Views from my morning walk with Dakota around what felt a bit like a run down ghost town, before continuing the journey towards our next destination in slightly more inviting terrain:
24DC7629AB094446A35FAE348EECE5B7.jpeg

A3F7013CCFD044AEBCCD209A932D51C2.jpeg

The views seemed to improve as soon as we crossed the river and passed into Arizona, but that was due mainly to increasingly good Mountain View’s.

F61AC61E59F145E88AC541655781D82E.jpeg

A53BA1679256427392E61F7ABF014E0D.jpeg

3E703A6EFE9D4573BCDE9EF3E0BBFAF9.jpeg

Then it was through the Sonoran desert to Phoenix and then Tucson, and I was pleasantly surprised to somehow miss rush hour traffic passing through both of these large cities 😋

Phoenix from the highway (I-10):

C54A57136F1946B7A6CEB42A876E28C9.jpeg

The highway took us through a long tunnel near Phoenix, my first time driving through such a tunnel in years.

6EA80635C64E48409AE989D9CD613434.jpeg

Driving through Tucson at sunset made for beautiful views of the city’s high rises, but the one shot I got was blurry and didn’t do it justice so there’s no point in putting it up here...

Arriving after dark on a Saturday night to an area with limited camping is definitely the best way to chance not finding a campsite for the night, especially in southern Arizona in February when camping is so popular in these parts, but I did find a place to park my car and pitch my tent in a really cool area after the first location I arrived at was totally full with RVs. Still, camping was technically only allowed at designated campsites along this particular forest road, and all 10 sites were filled up so I opted to spend the night in what had obviously been a campsite before the designated sites were numbered and the rest deemed illegal. I woke up to amazing views at the base of the gorgeous Santa Rita Mountains in the Coronado National Forest, finding myself living the camping lifestyle once again, a bit of a shock after so much time living in a house as a part of a small community of people, several of whom I had become pretty close with. But I was enjoying the free time without any pressure to work, and the amazing views - there was even still snow on the peaks from the recent large winter storm that hit California and much of Arizona.

C568E098DFB9483F9954FBACE61394D2.jpeg

D6582E47FAEF4971B2BFCCE6465E28E0.jpeg

Being Sunday morning, thankfully a number of parties left, allowing me to move my setup to a designated site to avoid trouble if a ranger happened to drive through during my stay, and it even had better cell service, more trees with decent amount of shade and really nice up-close views of the Santa Ritas, which peak out at over 9,000 feet.

011AACF986E64905BC345F92CA2946A6.jpeg

8E0A2691EF2749CF8989ED73D86D218C.jpeg

I spent six days at the foot of these gorgeous mountains in the mesquite tree forest before migrating just a couple dozen miles east to the other side of the Santa Ritas to an area I was already familiar with that has even more expansive views and a bit more peace and quiet. I thoroughly enjoyed my short time there, however, and probably would have stayed longer if it wasn’t so busy, particularly on the weekends.

From my campsite there were also amazing views of the Sierra Mountains and Green Valley below.

828A31DAA6EB43C5B90DCC4BAB47A0C8.jpeg

5FBB0DD1C1884D3AA5011DF60F4B1EA9.jpeg

I was really impressed with the area, situated adjacent to Madero Canyon, home to an impressive array of plants and wildlife, and unbeknownst to me one of the premier birding areas in the entire country. Little had I realized how popular the high desert could be for so many birds, while the mountains are home to black bear and mountain lions among the other wildlife.

So many varieties of cacti and other prickly desert plants and so many different types of trees all within such a compact area, it seemed there were quite a few microclimates here in such close proximity to each other.

F7EB439B8B0E463A9E733184C243B232.jpeg

There were some interesting ‘mountain bike trails’ that were more challenging than fun on a bike, but Dakota sure loved getting off the beaten track.

7843DCAF7FA8461980AAA6759019900D.jpeg

And I appreciated the changing scenery compared to the far more enjoyable riding on the two mile forest road.

8A742F71C47B479880D241B90D88D3C8.jpeg

There were some super amazing sunsets too!

155D5E2A722C4A069C3AB6F7A318A1F3.jpeg

And not so shy free ranging cattle that hung out right next to my campsite one day.

D9E1AA893AEA4FA4966E9B0B18387976.jpeg

The deserts of the southwest never ceases to amaze me, and I am still learning how varied the landscapes of different deserts and even different areas within the very same desert can be, many of which are quite hospitable to both wildlife and human campers alike (so long as one has plenty of water and is not visiting in the extreme heat of the summer!)

I’m certainly glad I found this little gem of a campsite, having finally completed my winter travels from the northwestern US in Washington all the way down through California into southern Arizona not far from the Mexican border.

And for the time being I’m perfectly content right where I’m at in southern Arizona, now on the other side of the Santa Ritas, where I was just blown away by another epic southwest sunset in the middle of putting this post together - here in the partially wooded, mesquite-dotted rolling grasslands that form the high semi-desert terrain of this unique area with its world class views, a little slice of the land connecting the Sonoran Desert of southwestern Arizona to the the Chihuahuan Desert of the southeast corner of the state.

Sun setting over the snow-capped Santa Ritas:

41C37359C8C24168968F2D1681BDE040.jpeg

Rincon Mountains to the north of my campsite:

BAE30E20456D4DB4B36F00BED5290246.jpeg

Sunset glow in the eastern sky, my yurt and the Whetstone Mountains beyond:

238FB6BAB5E044E8BBD9818E72B087B2.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice post man! Great to see what this part of America looks like... Like a lot of Australia mind you.

Happy travels!

Hi there, great to see you post from the haveyoubeenhere and pinmapple community. Please note our only community rule is that all travel posts must be pinned on pinmapple, https://pinmapple.com/ . Just click on the 'get code' at the top of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Pinning your post on Pinmapple not only increases your post exposure, you may also get greater support from Pinmapple if you're curated by us. You can find out more about it in this post here. Cheers

Just added the code, so hopefully it pinned properly!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1109.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: