TRAVEL DIARIES: BOHOL CHOCOLATE HILLS

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210312_200734.JPG

Lately, I find myself scrolling in my documents and stumble upon to this beautiful photos which were taken 2 years ago. Most of my travel blogs, I always mention that I only stayed in most places for less than 24 hours, same goes to this quick trip. While planning this blog, I want to have another escapade but I cannot because first my wallet says no and second because of the travel restrictions due to COVID19. So, I'll just reminisce and give you a glimpse of this lovely place, without a further ado, dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

WHAT AND WHERE IS BOHOL?

Bohol is a province of the Philippines, in the country’s Central Visayas region. It is where we can find the beautiful place named Bohol Island and numerous smaller surrounding islands. It is known for coral reefs and unusual geological formations, notably the Chocolate Hills.


bohol.JPG

On the main island, near the town of Carmen, these astounding and breathtaking hills are found contrasting and complementing the jungle's greenery. It is a geological formation in the Bohol province of the Philippines. According to the boholphilippines.com, there are at least 1,260 hills but there may be as many as 1,776 hills spread over an area of more than 50 square kilometres.

HOW TO GET THERE?

From Cebu (where I live), my aunt booked a ferry ticket for all of us. The ride lasted for about 2- 3 hours and landed to Tagbilaran, Bohol. After which, she booked a cab or a van to go to Carmen, it is where the Chocolate Hills located. I do recommend of getting a van because it is easier to go around the places and you can just ask the driver to visit the famous attractions nearby.


When you reached the site you have to climb the 214 steps to reach the viewing deck but along the way you can already start seeing the hills. However, if you want to have a better view then you have to make to to the top. Sure thing, it would be worth it!

FOLKLORE AND STORIES

We, Filipinos are very fond of folklore, so there are few mythical origins as to how the hills came to be like about fairies, diety and mythical stories. According to one story, a giant who had been crestfallen in love wept, and the hills grew where his tears fell. In another version, a pair of giants went to war and lobbed boulders at each other for days. The giants eventually resolved their differences, but the mounds remained where the rocks landed.

WHAT MAKES IT UNIQUE?




The origin of the hills' name is simple yet very interesting and mind blowing. The country Philippines has two seasons-dry and wet. During wet season, it will show you a soft and lush appearance of green hils. While during the dry season (summer), When the country transitions from its usual tropical state to a dry season, the color of the hills makes an epic change from green to brown. Amazing, isn't it? According to the locals and some experts, these now turned brown hills resemble of a chocolate—more specifically, Hershey’s Kisses—as far as the eye can see and the name Chocolate Hills was given to the captivating hills.

WHAT MAKES IT EVEN MORE BEAUTIFUL?



Chocolate Hills is an example of Karst Topography. According to National Geographic, Karst is an area of land made up of limestone. So, Chocolate Hills are composed of limestone which was subsequently covered with topsoil and grass. It's mind blowing, isn't it? But there's more. Due to erosion of accompanying farmland, it has formed rivers and caves with underground springs, contributing to the unique shape of the hills.

So, I think that's it. I would like to say sorry if I don't have a lot of photos. It's because the trip was too quick and I no longer bother in taking bunches of photos plus my aunts and cousins are so talkative. To end this blog I am going to leave my favorite photo.


dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR!
dividers-04.png

Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, 20 years old which means that I am no longer a teenager! I am a self taught artist, if you consider me as one. I am the only daughter of my loving and little uptight parents. Plus, the one and only sister of my naughty, messy and nasty three brothers. I am a student in Cebu Normal University- Main Campus who wishes to complete the program of Bachelor of Secondary Education Major in Science, to cut it short, I want to be a teacher someday. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

part of my bucketlist! hope we can go back to travelling like the old days.. 😅 thank you for sharing!
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz

It is a very good place. And I really hope that we can go back tp travelling without covid restrictions.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1141.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I have been there!!! They do look like Hersey kisses!!! What a wonderful post and I am so glad you did this one! Your pictures came out really nice and your explanation of the events was great!

Thank you!

Awieeee💕 thanks @dswigle