Sirao Peak, Busay - The Perfect Family Day Trip

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

IMG_2844.jpg

Hi there people of HIVE! It's me again, Aaron. Let me start off this post by extending my gratitude to everyone who has been supportive in my first week at HIVE. I did not expect a lot of wonderful people who share the same interests in travel blogging as I do. In a span of a week, I was able to virtually travel to various places through my fellow travel bloggers here at HIVE. I had the chance to have a glimpse of Thailand, Romania, America and was taken to various destinations that I haven't even heard of before.

Special thanks to @pinmapple as well for being very supportive of the travel community. Their daily Travel Digest allows you to browse through the best travel posts for the day and makes you immerse in a journey along with the author. If you haven't heard of it, check it out for yourself. If you love seeing places, I promise you, it will be worthwhile. For more travel blogs, I highly suggest you visit @ybanezkim26, @discoveringarni, @kneelyrac, @wandergirl, @scubahead, @phortun, @oldmans, @crazy-andy, @gabrielatravels. You will not be disappointed.

In my previous travel entry, A 24-Hour Getaway - An Overnight Camp at the Pristine Lambug Beach | Uncovering the Secrets of Lake Bensis, I had the chance to take you to a beach and a lake which we traversed in a span of 24 hours. I was really pleased to share that not-so-distant memory amidst this pandemic. That was a really fond memory from me.

Today, here I am at another attempt to share to you my recent travels pre-pandemic. Let us traverse through the majestic mountainous area of Busay, Cebu, Philippines.


SIRAO PEAK or MOUNT KAN-IRAG, BUSAY
The Perfect Family Day Trip on One of the Prominent Mountains of Cebu

IMG_6081.GIF

To those who have been to Cebu, you might be aware of a famous tourist spot called Busay. It is located in the mountainous region of the province which takes you on an uphill mountain tour filled with various top-picks you can choose from. This place is continually being stormed by local and foreign tourists due to its rich, picturesque sceneries and exciting adventures. Truly, this area is teeming with attractions.

Transportation here is quite tricky for the inexperienced, though. You either need to have your own vehicle or rent a car/van in advance if you don't have one. You could also hire motorcycles to get you around. A lot of motorcycles "habal-habal" are paraded just along the main highway which takes you uphill. Most locals prefer to do the latter as it is easier to get by and is perfect for those spontaneous day trips. And it is that exact spontaneity which urged us to have this adventure.

You see, this trip to Sirao Peak occurred on a hot early summer's day. We hadn't planned anything for the day to be exact and initially preferred to stay at home. The day was really warm and humid, and we could feel the heat course through our old wooden walls and thin roof. I was sure I turned the fan to the highest possible setting and had an entire liter of bottled water nearby to make up for the heat. To make things worse, our entire village suddenly sustained a black out! And that is how our family day trip began - a warm summer day, a village wide black out and a family eager to find the means to escape the blazing heat.

IMG_6121.GIF

"We have to get out of here!", I exclaimed. I could not bear to imagine being under that condition. Even if I fan myself the entire time, I considered it to be totally unbearable. "Why not go to Busay and spend the entire afternoon there?", an idea hit my sister, @maimaimaichan. We then prompted our family members to immediately change their clothes. At first, they were hesitant. "Don't worry, the power would probably resume in half an hour's time", reasoned my mother who was preparing lunch at that time. We still insisted that they change their clothes. Nevertheless, half an hour passed and no signs of the power going back on.

We wasted no moment to proceed with our plans. I had to be persistent with my father who was afraid to ride a motorcycle for fears of untoward accidents. Those kinds of things are fairly common in steep mountain rides though so I could not blame him. Luckily, when we got there, we were able to come across very considerate motorcycle drivers who assured us of our safety. At the foot of Busay, near JY Square, loads of drivers can be seen offering their services to those who need a ride uphill. We insisted that they drive as safely as possible and avoid overtaking as we were more after our safety than getting there fast.

They were very amenable with our request though and even offered us a fairly reasonable price. We were able to secure a deal of Php 500.00 for each motorcycle ride back and forth our destination. We needed to hire three since there were seven of us. One motorcycle had to take in 3 passengers - me, and my two brothers - which is kind of a challenge despite my youngest brother being really small. He was able to fit at the front of the motorcycle. This is probably his first time to do so. It was evident that he was very excited but also half scared with the experience.

The peak is approximately 1 km from where we left off. It took us roughly 30 minutes to get to starting point of Sirao Peak. The ride was thankfully very smooth and safe. The drivers did as we asked of them and prioritized getting there safely. I took videos on the way as I enjoyed the view a lot. I am sure my family did so as well, despite fears of sustaining an accident, God forbid. They dropped us off at the closest entry point to the peak.

The view of the meadows at the foot of the peak. You can see several parked motorcycles awaiting passengers,

Finally, we arrived at the closest entry point to Sirao Peak, also called as "Mount Sibugay". Through the years, this has become a popular destination for polished and amateur mountaineers alike. Owing to its close proximity to the city compared to other peaks, no wonder is has gained a lot of attention. For more experienced hikers, the peak is reached through what is called "Budlaan - Sirao Peak trail". This would take hikers approximately 3-4 hours to arrive, traversing through waterfalls and forests to get there.

IMG_6126.GIF

IMG_6127.GIF

The view at the foot of the trail was mesmerizing enough. We originally intended to reach the peak but seeing as how it came as a difficulty for my family, we simply opted to go back and set up our tents at the plains down below


My family had no prior experience with hiking so experiencing the original trail would be really difficult for them. Even if they did, this trip was totally unplanned so we decided to take the easy way. To those who are interested to experience the trail for themselves, it is definitely a great experience. However, in our case, instead of taking the time to hike through the trail, and up the peak, we opted to just stay where they dropped us off. Nevertheless, the view is breathtaking.

As soon as we arrived, we ran across the wide open field like savage uncultured children. We would have intended to reach the peak as planned, but seeing as how the plains before the peak was beyond mesmerizing, we opted to stay there for the rest of the day. After all, all we wanted was to spend a relaxing afternoon together.

IMG_3059.jpg

The high altitude offered a cool breeze which was enough to tighten your pores. I could feel the wind brush my face. I just wish we could experience the same sensation back at home. It is the fresh air away from the harsh polluted cities that really makes you appreciate the isolated mountain areas. I didn't take a lot of time to acknowledge how refreshing it all was. This was exactly what we came here for - an escape from the furnace our house felt like. I was glad we made the choice to come here.

IMG_2934.jpg

Examining the view, all we could see were the luscious greens the mountains had to offer. Trees erupt sporadically across the plains which allowed a lot of room for the vibrant grass to grow. What we saw was a serene panoramic meadow which was nothing short of being picturesque. Looking even further ahead, you could even have a glimpse of the mountain ranges not far from where we were standing. We could not ask for more but an almost 360 view of immense natural beauty.

Enchanted with the beauty we saw, we decided to drown ourselves even more with the view. What better way to do that than to set up our tent at that exact site and rest our eyes on the delightful meadows right in front of us.

IMG_2853.jpg

IMG_2855.jpg

My mother, brother and I helped each other out and began pitching the tent. We made sure to find a wide canopied tree to give us shade for the day. Soon after, my father and brother could not help themselves to take a short but sweet siesta.


We picked the closest tree which offered us adequate shade for the afternoon. There weren't many people around the area which meant that we had the luxury to chose as we wished. Who would have thought that this area is not at all filled with people. It was a really good idea that we brought with us our trusted tent and a yoga mat which we could use to lie on. We had a fair amount of shade under what appeared to be a Narra tree.

My family getting the tent ready for us to eat. You can see my father outside, enjoying his siesta

I enjoyed the idea of us staying here out in the open. Since I also have a detachable hammock at home, I made sure to bring it today. My brother helped me to attach each end to stable portions of the tree branch for us to anchor on. Knowing simple knots through scouting proved to be extremely helpful for traveling. I ensured that my brother would get to know some basic knots as well in case he may need it someday.

The process was relatively easy as we only needed to make sure that the hammock was tied securely on the tree. It did take us a few minutes to find the right spot but it was ready in no time.

IMG_2873.jpg

IMG_2889.jpg

Of course, I insisted that I take the first turn on it. I fit myself comfortably and hoped that my knots were secure enough. It would definitely be comical to see me fall off. Fortunately enough, I was pleased to still find myself suspended in the air. There is a serene feeling of laying back on a hammock, your body flexed like a baby, legs elevated in the air, as you gaze into the green open meadows and bright blue sky. Call me exaggerated, but I could spend the entire day here. In fact, I would even love to spend the night.

IMG_2909.jpg

I have been learning to embrace the philosophy of Mindfulness Meditation lately. It is a mindset which calls you to "be in the present". These teachings suggest that achieving joy and happiness involves taking time to notice the little things that make up life - the sound of the wind, the heat of sun's rays on your skin and notice the feelings that you feel at the exact moment you are in. I just lay there on my hammock and did exactly that. And true enough, I guess I was enveloped with a comforting feeling of being blessed to be alive, to see the wonders of the world right before my eyes.

IMG_2938.jpg

IMG_2918.jpg

We did not have a lot of time so we just took turns on the hammock. Soon after, my brother took his turn. Having nothing else to do, I scaled up the tree and remained there for thirty minutes or so. From way up, the view was pretty much the same but you get to see the surrounding mountain ranges much clearly. The air remains to be fresh and cool. If not for the ants and random bugs that crawled into my shirt, I would not have gone down for a few more minutes.

IMG_3024.jpg

As you can see, the meadows were simply heavenly. The grass was really vibrant and perfect for an outdoor activity. As my siblings were still children, I took this as an opportunity to get them up and running on their feet. Children these days often only have their electronic devices to keep them entertained. My siblings fall victim to that truth. There aren't many open fields and plains in the city so this is a really good opportunity for them to enjoy the rare experience. I wanted them to exercise their gross motor abilities and I had the perfect activity for that.

IMG_6122.GIF

IMG_6123.GIF

My siblings and I playing a racing game I suggested. The challenge was to keep your balance while running after spinning several times.


I invited my siblings to a silly game. I tasked them to bow towards the ground, place one hand over the other, flexing the bottom arm to hold the opposite ear. The rules were simple. We were to spin around while facing the ground to the count of ten. Afterward, we were to race ourselves towards the finish line. It sounds fairly easy when you look at how its done until you do it for yourself. You will be surprised how your world turns upside down while you run forward.

IMG_6125.GIF

It was crazy hilarious to have to do this. After counting to ten, we began to race each other. I was a bit surprised to see my vision play tricks on me. It was as if the world shifted to the right and my weight being drawn to the same side. I was laughing the entire time while I was running. I reached the finish line first, owing to my long strides. Subsequently, it took some time for me to recover from feeling nauseated and dizzy.

We took a couple of minutes to rest. It was not caught on video but my brother almost fell off a small depressed area because he was not able control himself as he was rather dizzy. I would have wanted to do another round, but it proved to be a dangerous activity. We laughed about it as we remembered how funny we looked like. I decided maybe it was enough rough play and proceeded to have a short snack and enjoyed the view.

Not far from our tent, we could see a carabao, an endemic Filipino water buffalo. These gentle creatures were primarily useful in native agriculture in the early years of Philippines history. As tamed but very powerful animals, they could help farmers plow the fields. This carabao was peacefully grazing the grass and occasionally taking a dip into the nearby puddles. I bet this is also the first time that our youngest brother has seen a carabao. He was greatly interested to know what is was. My mother made sure to answer him.

The majestic carabao can be seen grazing the green meadows. Its horns attached to a thin rope pegged to the ground.

It's crazy how much you can do in one afternoon, in an open field. May it be to set up a tent, lie on a hammock, run around the plains, climb a tree, have a picnic or just bathe under the sun, Sirao Peak has much to offer. What could have been a boring day at home without electricity turned out to be a fun-filled family day trip in the mountains.

I was pleased to know that my parents really enjoyed our short getaway. They were even thinking of getting a lot somewhere nearby with the same view. The uphills of Cebu truly have an enchanting effect on you. Maybe, someday in due time, we could go back to this place and enjoy ourselves once more.

IMG_2997.jpg

IMG_3074.jpg

IMG_3076.jpg


Not long, the sunset was among us. As I always reiterate, I love looking at the glory of sunsets. I would have wanted to stay a couple more minutes after the sun disappeared but my father made a very sound decision to head home as soon as possible. This is due to the fact that the motorcycle drivers who drove us to the peak were patiently waiting for us. And while it may not be extremely dangerous for us to head back at nightfall, there is some risk involved as some roads do not really have adequate street lighting. We just had to get to back down before 6:00 pm or we would have a hard time getting back home because of the traffic jam.

IMG_3067 1.jpg

We soon dismantled our tent and removed the hammock from the tree. We also made sure to perform aftercare, not leaving a trace of trash behind. We weren't really tired as we were simply relaxing the entire afternoon but sure enough, it was necessary to head home. We took one last look at the beautiful twilight, the long ranging mountains, the vibrant grassy meadows, and had one last feel of the fresh cool breeze. I took a final notice of how I felt and acknowledged my presence amidst this beauty as we slowly descended back down.

So I guess that's it. That ends my family day trip in the mountains. I hope you enjoyed browsing through the photos and joining me reminisce this short journey. If you have reached this far, thank you so much for reading. See you soon.

Hive intro.jpg

🍺Live like a templar 🍷 | ⚔️Serve like a knight💉


AARON bubble2.png



Every writer needs to have his pen name. In that case, welcome to josejirafa's blog.

Aaron is an aspiring travel blogger whose dream is to visit the world's most famous tourist spots. A thinker and frustrated philosopher, Aaron spends his days off learning about himself, others and the world. He enjoys discourse about philosophy, politics, religion, emotional intelligence and has an aptitude for being vocal about his point of views. Although a registered nurse by profession, Aaron has an inclination for business and finance.

Sort:  

I like the photos but I love the writing 🤩 The similes are well-written. Feels like I really was there. This is my favorite tho 😆

As soon as we arrived, we ran across the wide open field like savage uncultured children

Naabot nalang kog Pulag ug Pinatubo pero wa pako kaari. Someday soon after we could roam around free again.

Thanks @kayceeports2020. I appreciate your take on my writing. I guess this may be because it was a memory I would love to go back to. Hanggang photos lang muna tayo ngayon.

I suggest you pursue the Budlaan-Sirao peak trail. As a seasoned mountaineer, I expect you will enjoy the waterfalls and forests along the way. They say it is a very easy one but still satisfying. You could add it to your list of peaks to conquer when the pandemic is over

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Shared on Twitter :D #posh

First photo is a master piece, i loved it, better than millions of IG, could i know which camere did you use ty

Thanks so much @lancelotsupra. That makes my heart melt 😊. However, whether you believe me or not, I was simply using my iPhone for these photos.

not bad, it has an amazing high quality

These landscapes are really lovely...
I'd love to do a picnic with my friends and family.
The views are pleasing to the eye and definitely mind relaxing.

That is true. The place looks so much better in real life. You and your family would absolutely love it there.

Might I ask what gear you used to take the photos...

Hello @buttonn! Nice of you to take interest in my photography. Unfortunately, I only use an iPhone to take photos. I usually angle it to where there is adequate lighting with sufficient dark tones then I use an editing app to make fine adjustments.

That's pretty okay...
Taking your photos from a vantage point makes it irresistible and appealing.
Like a fictional location in a story book

What editing apps do you use...
I strongly recommend Lightroom and also some presets to tag along to give you a nicely color graded image

Yes exactly, Lightroom is very helpful indeed. Snapseed is also a useful mobile phone editing app if you are not aware of it. I use that as well occasionally.

Thanks @josejirafa for the mention! 😁

I have been to Sirao but only at the flower garden. Daghan pa jud kaayo tao! Mas nindot pa na inyo naadtoan. Fresh kaayo sa mata. 😀

It is amazing what you can find when you are on a budget. We tried to find destination without an entrance fee and we were lucky to have found this view. I bet the peak would have been nice but this was way beyond my expectations as well. Sure ko malingaw mo mgtambay dire. Presko kaayo and hanging jud

Nice photos!

Thanks so much for the appreciation!

You're welcome. :)

Even reading this I can feel what a great day you guys had, especially around the beautiful surroundings. And the silly game!!! I got a little headache now 🤪

Great pick me up post!

Hahaha I highly suggest not to try the game with a full stomach or when you have some important thing to do. I was not kidding how it took some time for me to recover from feeling dizzy and nauseated.

I'm really glad you see value in my post. Thanks for stopping by!

I enjoyed reading this a lot and I was smiling from ear to ear. Hiking with the family is always wonderful and a spontaneous one at that. Great idea with a portable hammock! It definitely was a perfect day out, creating memories like you did with siblings, it made me miss mine. 🙂

Wow thanks for the mention, by the way.

I'm glad to know it made you think of your family as well. I would love to see your family members from one of your posts someday. This was an exceptional trip for me as we don't usually go out a lot. That made it a perfect and highly memorable one.

No worries, I give credit where it is due and your posts have been nothing short of exceptional, deserving of praise.

Thank you so much, your kind words made me happy. I can't wait to see my siblings when we are all free to travel again. Who knows when that might be. I am grateful we have internet communication to keep in touch with loved ones. Happy weekend!

Familiar. Awh.

View of Sirao Peak at dawn:

And this is me trying to look down the ravine below:

HOY LAMI LAGE NA. Great shot 😍
I love the city lights. Nice ka one. I definitely should have stayed longer after the sunset. *sighs HAHA. Kani jud akong papa panira, basin daw di mi mka uli. Traffic sad kaayong JY pwera gaba.

Hahaha! Ana jud na ang parents. Masyadong nag-aalala. Pero traffic jud na ang JY anytime. Samot na hapon. Hay! Makamingaw.

Tagae ko link sa imo laag ana sa Sirao peak bi. Pwede rsad ako lang pero ikaw lang HAHA. Ako basahon mkamingaw ang tops and busay.

Kapoy pangita. Naa pa tos Steem. 😂

Really glad to see this one on the trending page, well deserved recognition ;) Top notch piece with tons of great shots. Oh and thanks for the shout out, much appreciated.

Thanks for stopping by. And no worries, you have been very supportive towards travel posts and create note-worthy posts yourself as well.

Frankly, I had not expected this post to blow up. However, I'm glad people saw value in my post and it makes me strive more to do well as a travel blogger.

Great piece dude, it would take me a week to write something like that with my one finger typing:) Good to see another from Cebu on the hive.

Thanks for dropping by. I guess I owe it to the strict lockdown. All I could do is stare at the photos and recall what happened on that day. Makes me really want to break free.

For sure these last few months have been draining, I had so many plans that have had to go on hold. Life's a long song though and lets hope for a better future with more freedom of movement.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #947.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks so much for the opportunity @choogirl! I love @pinmapple's Daily Travel Digest and it is an honor to be among the choices for curation. I will definitely check it out.

I like the gif/video part and the pictures too. It's full of greens. It's very refreshing and relaxing. The beauty of nature, though. And I would love to go there during the summertime. The summer here in Cebu is unbelievably hot and the water is also hot. This year's summer was my first time. Too bad I can't go to the beach nor in the mountain.

I did not receive a notification regarding the mention but I saw your post on the trending page. Congratulations!! And thank you for the mention! I'm also new to this platform and this mention, together with the big-time travel bloggers here on hive, warms my heart. 😊 It's really nice to know you've read some of my not-so-many travel blogs. 😊😂

A lot of the things we did that day were caught on video so I could not miss out on including them. I am sure you would love it there. It is very relaxing. The view and the fresh air will really make you want to stay.

No worries. I was just surprised at how the travel community is so supportive here. I had to make sure to mention those I really appreciate. Thanks for dropping by

Beautiful nature...
Seems like you had a great time.

I am happy you put together such a nice post and that it was recognized by the community to give you motivation to keep crearing masterpieces like this one is!

Can't wait to see more from you and thank you very much mor the mention. Much appreciated!

I really did had a lot of fun with my family. Much more, I was really glad people found value in my trip through this post.
And no worries - give credit where it is due. You have been very supportive of the travel community and make some very good travel posts as well

Congratulations @josejirafa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update

Looks like a great trip with the family. I love the trees in the field.
Looks like bringing a hammock along was a good decision.