A long awaited vacation in Dubrovnik- the pearl on the Adriatic

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hey guys,

finally I found some time after some months to write something here and looked at some of your posts. The last few months I was pretty busy to keep up with my new part-time job to enable me to spend a semester abroad in Finland, where I've always wanted to go not only to go on vacation, but also to live or study there for a longer time and also to improve my English a bit.
But today my post is not about Finland at all, but about my summer vacation, which I treated myself in the somewhat stressful time in between with some friends in Croatia (in total we were 10 people). Previously, I have never been on the road with so many people at once, at most with one other person (except with family, of course). Therefore, I was very excited how the vacation would be so. Our destination was Dubrovnik, the city that is called "Pearl of the Adriatic" - and not for nothing, because look for yourself:

5005364d-5aa6-43d5-9289-187ee7bfcec5.JPG

IMG_8470.jpg

Previously I had picked out a few beautiful places on Instagram, do you do that sometimes? In the meantime, this app has even replaced the travel guide for me, but I don't know if that's such a good thing. In any case, I was not disappointed! Dubrovnik was at least as beautiful as on the photos, and directly on the first day after our arrival we took a walk on the city wall, from where you have a beautiful view of Dubrovnik with the many orange roofs and the mountains in the background and the blue glittering sea on the other side. On the Internet I had read that you should come early in the morning, otherwise it would be very crowded on the city wall. I can not confirm that - we were at about 12 noon on the city wall and it was normally filled with visitors - in any case not too full!:)

PHOTO-2022-07-24-19-50-43.jpg

Also, it was only a few steps up and it wasn't too strenuous. But what really got to me was the heat, which I had totally underestimated. At the time when we were in Croatia it was probably very hot for the local conditions - about 35 degrees in the shade and in the sun it seemed like 40 degrees (even Australia and the Maldives I had not so hot in memory).

PHOTO-2022-07-24-19-51-15.jpg

PHOTO-2022-07-24-19-50-44.jpg

The white wall and the small tower were the perfect contrast to the deep blue sea.

If you are also planning to fly to Dubrovnik, I can definitely recommend the city walls: Together with the old town, it is on the Unesco World Heritage List and is the landmark of the city. It is very well preserved and dates back to the 8th century. While today it is mainly a magnet for visitors, in the past it served to protect the city and its inhabitants. We started at the Pile Gate, there are two other points from where you can access the wall. With its length of about 2 km, it is perfect for a short walk and not too long.

PHOTO-2022-07-24-19-50-58.jpg

Our late evening arrival with a great view

IMG_8349.jpg

This was one of the first photos we took upon our arrival, when it was already dark. Here you can see the view from our apartment. We had a small house with one apartment upstairs and one apartment downstairs which was totally enough space.

IMG_8350.jpg

IMG_8358.jpg

As you can see, we even had a balcony, which was really nice when waking up in the morning. The only thing that I found a bit unfortunate was the house in front of the balcony, which was not shown in the ad because it somewhat blocked the beautiful view.

IMG_8360.jpg

IMG_8365.jpg

Our first breakfast in Dubrovnik- I have to say it was really interesting to travel with so many friends because everyone has different eating habits- I for example always make something quick but not very elaborate in the morning, but in Dubrovnik we often made scrambled eggs in the morning or bowls or other delicious things that I could really get used to.

IMG_8369.jpg

IMG_8371.jpg

IMG_8381.jpg

The bell tower in the old town.

IMG_8377.jpg

IMG_8387.jpg

The Dubrovnik Pass, which gives you free entry to the Art Gallery, Dubrovnik City Walls, Dulcic Masle Pulitika Gallery, the Maritime Museum or the Museum of Natural History. You can get a certain number of bus rides and get discounts in selected restaurants and cafes.

IMG_8372.jpg

IMG_8373.jpg

IMG_8448.jpg

IMG_8374.jpg

IMG_8458.jpg

IMG_8487.jpg

IMG_8456.jpg

IMG_8462.jpg

IMG_8465.jpg

The old town of Dubrovnik from a different angle

IMG_8474.jpg

I especially liked this photo - dark in the front and the city lit up with the orange roofs and the hills in the background.

PHOTO-2022-07-24-22-07-21.jpg

cdc82440-3b8e-4635-a302-3e4ee4d40105.JPG

However, it is not only the wall itself, on it there are also sometimes cannons or small towers that you are also allowed to go inside (for me they were always quite good to escape a bit of the sun, which was quite strong already at 12 o'clock haha;) ).
Also, there are several viewpoints on the wall, such as the one from where you have a beautiful view of the fortress of Lovrijenac. It is on a high rock and looks just great!

e383079f-46e3-42fb-bf39-1d38ee750863.JPG

We weren't the only ones who needed a break from time to time

PHOTO-2022-07-24-22-15-40(1).jpg

A friend of mine had his can of beer with him non-stop - or shall we say almost always - and took a picture with it and a cat resting a bit from the heat.

PHOTO-2022-07-24-19-51-00.jpg

PHOTO-2022-07-24-22-07-12.jpg

PHOTO-2022-07-24-22-07-21.jpg

PHOTO-2022-07-24-22-04-29.jpg

At the end I wanted to give you a few more tips: At the time we were there, the city wall was open daily from 8:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. - since you take a lot of photos and don't want to rush, it would definitely be good Don't start the walk too late, otherwise you won't be able to really enjoy the beautiful view. We got the Dubrovnik Pass, which I think includes many attractions that you can also see. In the end it wasn't worth it for us because we didn't do that much sightseeing, but if you want to see a lot of the city, this card is definitely worth it.
I hope you liked my contribution to the city wall of Dubrovnik - I also plan to write a second part, because there is still so much to tell, such as the small harbor or the alleys and cafes. I am now trying to be more active on Hive again and taking the time to write and read through your posts.
Have a nice week everyone!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @intoy.bugoy ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Dubrovnik is on my list of places to go one day. It looks awesome. Looks like a nice trip

That's it really, if I were to fly there again I might not do it in summer, but autumn and spring are definitely suitable :)

Good to know

You got a perfect view in your apartment. Perfect greetings in the morning, its beautiful.

I also love the cliff area.

I thought so too, I don't have a balcony at home so it was really nice to have a great view for a week.
Greetings!

Hey there girl!💜 I was checking on you many times since your last post! I'm glad reading you're ok! Were you in Finland already or not just yet? Finland sounds awesome. I've always been attracted to the Scandinavian countries, still didnt visit yet.So I understand why you've always wanted to live there for a while, see the place. Maybe in the upcoming years we'll be visiting for one month or so my husband's friend, in Sweeden. That would be nice and already dreaming on it.

Other than this, the place looks amazing. Adriatic Sea is fantastic! I never went to Croatia (not just yet) but It looks beautiful.

Hugs from Romania 😍

hey there!<3
don't worry I'm doing very well, it's just that there's so much going on at the moment. But I am also very happy to hear from you and that you are doing well! I'm currently in Germany but only for a few days then I'm going back to Rovaniemi (that's in Lapland) which I'm really looking forward to. Sweden is supposed to be really beautiful, that's understandable why you dream about it! Then I hope that this dream will come true :) Yes, Croatia is really worth a trip :)
hugs from germany:))

I'm glad reading you're safe and doing well! and a BIG OMG!!!. You're going to Rovaniemi? THAT IS SOOO COOL! too cool! Enjoy it then! 😍 I really envy your travels in the good way so wish you all the health to enjoy life and travel to maximum! Stay safe ok?

Hugs from Romania and keep in touch from time to time if you'll be around here!

Thank you so much, that makes me so happy! I'm also really excited how it will be in the winter with snow there and I'm looking forward so. Even if I may not always be online, I will still follow your posts !:) I also wish you only the best and lots of health!<3
Many love greetings from Germany!!

Ohhh thanks! You're such a cutie! If you'll be sharing your trip from there, I'll be very happy to see some photos! Sounds exciting! I'm very happy for you, really! Not anyone has this "gift" of travel and experience new places. Enjoy life, my dear!

Maybe this year I'll go to Berlin in winter, early December! 😍

Thank you very much, I'm also really grateful for that, of course also to my parents, but also that I was just lucky enough to have been born in the country. A dream would be a trip around the world, but I'll have to see if it works :) Wow, Berlin is really great, I was there in April, I wish you a lot of fun there! If you have any questions you can of course ask me anything, I don't know that well there but I've been there several times :)<3

Sure! I'll keep that in mind! Thanks so much , you're do sweet! Enjoy your time no matter the place you are, enjoy life and make memories to last forever! Stay safe too! 🤗🤗🤗

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @katrin-lux,the wall has an excellent location to observe the city, the water is so crystal clear that you can see the rocks; at night the landscape changes totally, certainly a great place despite the high temperatures.

Blessings!

Hey, yes you are right! We did it the first few days and have not regretted it. You rarely get such a beautiful view of the city, maybe if you took the cable car up the hill, but we didn't do that.
Thanks a lot for your comment! :)
Greetings:)

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!