Swim with the Non-Stinging Jellyfish in Tojoman Lagoon, Sohoton Cove

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

GOPR207701.jpeg

When we heard jellyfish, the first thing that comes to our mind is its stinging effect after close contact with its tentacles. Only a few are deadly and severe but mostly are not. However, the jellyfish stings are still painful that leaves a sharp, burning pain. Some may last for several hours but some would last for weeks.

My first encounter with the jellyfish was in high school. My classmates were all stung except me. The habit imposed by my mother and grandma saved me. I rested for at least fifteen minutes before running like a horse into the water and then acted like a mermaid. Because of that, I never experience getting stung by a jellyfish or a sea urchin, the most common one. I avoided them all because someone got stung first.

So when I heard about the non-stinging jellyfish in Sohoton, I was ecstatic with the thought of touching another kind jellyfish. I had already touched a non-stinging jellyfish in Zamboanga, but this time, it's different. I can swim with these jelly friends.



En Route to Tojoman Sanctuary


1998CAM_2020_08_19_19_53_22_FN.jpg The bangka or the small paddled boat

After the caving adventures in the secret Sohoton Cove, we headed back to the reception area so we can transfer to a smaller boat not powered by a motor. From a pump boat with a capacity of 8-10 people, it was down to a two-man capacity paddle boat. A life vest and a salakot were given before getting on board. No motorized boats are allowed inside the lagoon to avoid disturbance to the jellyfish. Hence, it was only me and the bangkero (boatman) for a 10-minute boat ride going to the lagoon.

Salakot is a native weaved hat made from various materials like bamboo and rattan.


Sea urchins are abundant in the area around the wooden pathway.


The bangkero, whom I called Gwapo (handsome), was a college student. He said that most of the bangkeros are a college student who works part-time during their vacant days. I called him Gwapo since he first called me Gwapa (beautiful). Hah! But I did ask his name of which I forgot by now. I am really not good with names and faces. Though I remembered his course since it's somewhat related to mine. So I will refer him as Gwapo instead of bangkero.

IMG_20190606_08450901.jpeg

Going to the lagoon was already a prize. The view was enchanting, and I could stare at them for as long as I can. When I look down, the water is crystal clear with the reflections of the maze lush green. I helped in paddling but I really doubt if I was really helping him. We've talked while we paddled. I only stopped when I was taking pictures. He's very generous to slow down whenever I took pictures.



Tojoman Lagoon


Left: The water going to the lagoon.
Right: The water in the lagoon.


The Tojoman Lagoon is the home of a swarm of jellyfish. There are two species of non-stinging jellyfish residing in the area. Contrary to the jellyfish swarming in the lagoon, the Tojoman Lagoon is named after the sea urchin from the local word tojom. The lagoon's namesake is based on the vast number of sea urchins covering the sea bed. However, the lagoon is very deep. Instead of the sea urchins, the main tourist attraction is the jellyfish.

Surigaonon dialect has always letter "j" in every word. In Cebuano, it's toyom.

At the lagoon entrance, a mesh is placed to stop the sea turtles from going in the lagoon to have a feast of the jellyfish. The population was highly affected. The mating season of the jellyfish was from July to August. It was August at that time, so there will be no swarm of jellyfish. As he paddled towards the area where there were no other boats, a plant caught my attention. The lagoon was surprisingly abundant with a pitcher plant.



Swim with the Jellyfish



The GoPro was in my sister's hand. Before jumping into the water, I had to picture this jelly friend in my hand.


I seldom had pictures of myself in all of my travels. I'm contented with being the photographer, not the model. However, Gwapo suggested taking a picture of me with the trees on the islet as my background. I hesitated but eventually said yes. He's a promising photographer but truth be told, I am not a photogenic subject.

The tranquility and beauty of the Tojoman lagoon are a marvel. It's better to capture it without the unphotogenic model. While I wait for the jellyfish to appear, I lent an ear to the free orchestra of nature. In my mind, if the jellyfish won't appear, it's still worth it since the lagoon alone is incredibly stunning. The water already is enticingly calming with its emerald green color.

After a minute or two, Gwapo happily pointed out the jellyfish. I held this friendly jellies with no sign of fear. Then I saw another one and my heart was already full of joy and contentment. One was enough but seeing more of them was a great joy.

There are two species present in the area. They are widely known and classified as stingless, but they are not completely stingless at all. They still have sting such that it is very mild that can't be felt upon direct contact. Their mild sting is neither harmful nor can cause an allergic reaction.

GOPR207701.jpeg

The Lagoon Jellyfish or the brown-spotted jelly

The first jellyfish is the Mastigias papua or the Lagoon Jellyfish. They are commonly known as brown-spotted jelly because of the white spots scattered on their brown-colored bell and tentacles. The bell can grow with up to 12 inches with a lifespan for about three months. The second one is the Aurelia aurita commonly known as Moon Jellyfish. They are translucent can grow up to 10-16 inches with a fringe of short tentacles and a lifespan for about six months. Both are carnivores that feed to zooplankton.

The timing was not inclined with the jellyfish season, instead of two, I had only seen the Lagoon Jellyfish. They can be touched and held but must be unlifted out of the water as they easily wither out.

GOPR209601.jpeg


My sister and my classmates in high school.


We enjoyed swimming and looking for jellies. However, time was very limited. We only stayed around 20 to 30 minutes and then went back to the reception area. The jellyfish is not as plenty as a swarm should be, but seeing more than two was enough. Though, it would be a surreal experience to see and swim with the swarm. To experience it is a must. Hence, I would go back here during the blooming season of the jellyfish so I can experience swimming with the swarm.


Tips


  1. Bring your own underwater camera. If you have goggles, bring one.
  2. Lotion or sunblock can harm jellyfish. If you plan to swim with them, better not to apply any of these two.
  3. Visit Tojoman during summertime. The month of May is the recommended travel time.


Related Blogs



K N E E L Y R A C
InstagramTwitterGoodreads

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 24/32)

Thank you! 😊

You are welcome!

What an awesome adventure! Thanks for sharing. 👍😀

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you pinmapple! :)

Shared on Twitter

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #945.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @pinmapple and @ItchyfeetDonica. I'll check the post and the other great posts from the authors. :)

Swimming with a jellyfish is quite an experience! Being swarmed by them, hmmm, hehe I can only imagine. There would be lots of giggles for sure.

Yes! I saw some pictures where they were surrounded by jellyfish. What an experience! It should've been the highlight of our Sohoton trip but unfortunately, we missed the swarm. Maybe next time. Soonest. 😁 By giggles, do you mean like they're ticklish? Because they are not. They are like gelatin — jiggly and soft. Hehe. Or giggles because of the excitement?

Haha, both 😀 throwing in a nervous chuckle in between at the thought of swimming with jellyfish. It is a relief they are not similar to the tickles one get from fish that eat dry skin cells. 😁

Oh, that! Like in Balete Tree in Siquijor. Have you gone there? I barely lasted for a minute. I couldn't stop laughing. Just by thinking of it makes me ticklish already. But it was fun.

Haha yes, those ones under the balete tree in Siquijor, I didn't last Lol

Congratulations @kneelyrac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update

I didn't know there are stingless jellyfish. Ang ganda ng lugar. 😍