You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contrasts in Brazil: São Paulo downtown and the Japanese neighborhood Liberdade!

in Worldmappinlast year

Haven't been to Brazil yet. Wow, those vertical favelas look terrible. I guess getting rid of them was a relief for the vast majority of the city's inhabitants. Didn't know they have a Japanese district in Sao Paolo.

Sort:  

Yeah not very nice and dangerous for some time, you know, there were holes on the wall (bullets).... I remember the first time crossing that part of the city after reaching other neighborhoods, it was a bit shocking and during nights that area seems The Walking Dead, no good to walk around there. I was one year in that city but I went few times to that area, just for the good things, because there are too. It's a city of contrasts really.

One year ... This means you really got to know the city quite well. Yeah, as you stated everything has its good and bad parts. Indeed, it seems to be a city of contrasts.

Yeah I think all places are like that, with good and bad things, better focus on the good ones! I was an interesting time...