Banff National Park: Chasing the glow at Vermillion Lakes

in Pinmapple3 years ago

What's buzzin Hive!

Trying to write this post is like deja-vu all over again, where the writer's block comes. Why haven't I found inspiration to write about this place yet it's so picturesque. I was here last year and it become another one of my pre-planned posts that never came to be, not sure why, besides I just don't know what to write, other areas it just comes easy to me. I don't want this year's visit to suffer the same fate since I always snap a spectacular shot or two here (look at me tooting my own horn...lol), seriously tho this place does most of the work and is super easy access. Maybe that's the problem, I can't find anything to write because there isn't hours of bushwhacking involved while building the post in my head as I walk since that's when I do my best thinking, maybe nothing memorable has happened there for me. I think by now, @silvergingerman can see my brain formulating my posts as we hike or part take in other fun outings, just not here.

vermillion sunset.jpg

A phenomenon called alpenglow that occurs right after sunset.

mount rundle (3).jpg

Mount Rundle and the Vermillion Lakes is where we generally go to end our day if we have daylight hours to spare before going back to the apartment or kill time in the town of Banff but not enough time to do another activity outside in the wilder areas. If you are looking for a place to get spectacular sunsets and sunrises, that would be my biggest producer right here (not that I have been that lucky with sunsets or sunrises in the mountains) , I call it my Endless Chain of Banff. Funny enough, both are similar in features being a long mountain range and both susceptible to a phenomenon called Alpenglow which is what you see in the first picture of the post.

mount rundle (1).jpg

Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 40 mm, ISO 140

vermillion lakes (8).jpg

Shot 1/200 sec. f/7.1 26 mm, ISO 200

Alpenglow is a celestial phenomenon or optical illusion that the setting sunlight reflects on the clouds along with other reflective particles in atmosphere like moisture or ice crystals and illuminates opposing mountain ranges and the background becomes full of pink and purple hues as the reds mix in with the indigo of night. It's commonly mistaken for a sunset but isn't a true sunset, easy enough to confuse the two, pretty colors are pretty colors right! The distinction between the two is the timing, alpenglow happens before sunrise or after sunset not during. The phenomenon can also be often observed on a clear day from the top of Sulphur Mountain and the gondola. This is the second time I get pictures of alpenglow in this specific area, I just wish the lake wasn't partially frozen, it would have made for a nice reflection.

vermillion lakes (4).jpg

That was the tiny the sunset we were able to catch

vermillion lakes.jpg

Mount Rundle is considered a small mountain range with a ridge 12 kilometers long and seven peaks, the tallest being 2 949 meters or over 9600ft . It's a pretty dominant feature in the area being partly in Banff and partly in the near-by Canmore (the backside of this mountain was our view from our downtown apartment balcony). Connecting the two towns is the legacy trail, a paved 22.3 km walking/ biking path that begins in Canmore and continues into Banff along the Vermillion Lakes recreational area. Vermillion Lakes consists of 3 consecutive lakes that shore the base of Mount Norquay and Rundle in the Bow Valley.

vermillion lakes (5).jpg

Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 55 mm, ISO 200

vermillion lakes (6).jpg

How to get there well...This is where I always confuse @silvergingerman with my directions until he finally understands to take the exit in the exit. When exiting into the town of Banff, there is a side exit in the exit, easy to miss but it takes you into the recreational area where we share the narrow road with pedestrian and cyclist but there is a few parking spots and lookouts to go for a nice walk along the shore or just get the quick up and down drive. The lakes are equipped with picnic areas, benches, floating docks and an outhouse right before the trail heads back into the woods. It's actually quite popular being so close to town but today it was quiet, there was a handful of other vehicles probably doing the same we are, trying to get the few last minute shots and waiting for sunset or alpenglow.

mount rundle (2).jpg

Shot 1/320 sec. f/8 40 mm, ISO 100

vermillion lakes (9).jpg

If you are a photography enthusiast I recommend at least doing the walk around the shore from the pooper parking area until the loop, there are so many features that change along the way to give a completely different look to photos and maybe you can spot the hot-spring source along the way (you will smell it) , the entire surrounding is picturesque pretty much any time of the day. During the fall would be the best time to see it, unfortunately we missed it by a week or two this year because of work but even this late into the season all the different shrubs still create color diversity. The half frozen lake added interesting elements, seems like we got here just in time because the next day as we drove by, it was completely frozen over.

vermillion lakes (2).jpg

Shot 1/200 sec. f/7.1 18 mm, ISO 200

vermillion lakes (7).jpg

Shot 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm, ISO 140

The walk takes you around the edge of a series of marshlands of the three lakes with the perfect view of Mount Rundle & Sulfur Mountain for most of the walk. The return side is a great view too but the sun is close to setting and I prefer avoiding staring at the bright sun and it doesn't do all that well in pictures. Small wildlife like migration birds can still be spotted on the parts of the lake that isn't frozen yet. I can hear ducks and surprisingly grebes. Early in the morning, large game like grizzly and deer can be spotted before it gets busy with people, in other words... bringing bear spray is probably a wise move. To canoe on the lakes, you will have to supply your own, I can't say I have seen any canoe rentals on the lake.

vermillion lakes (3).jpg

vermillion lakes (10).jpg

These were taken on the same day as our hike to Lake Minnewanka, what was already an eventful day, turned out to be a great first day of our trip so far, I hope it continues that way! Vermillion Lakes recreational area was the perfect place to end the outdoors day before heading into town for some food and shopping which I will cover in a different post...maybe, if I don't get too distracted by our next upcoming mountain escape in the next week or so. I better get writing! I have a few more post from the Banff trip to write before they end up in the dust bin.

All images taken with Nikon D7000 and Sigma 18-200mm lens.

Cheers my friends! X🐞X

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Spectacular shots! I love that place with the frozen bridge on the lake. I can see myself meditating there for hours :)

Thank you! Yes it's a great spot for meditation or self contemplation. This year with covid and international travel restrictions, it's been exceptionally quiet.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1018.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you!

Wow! I love it! ... what beautiful photos .. thanks for sharing.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed :)

Despite the lake being partially frozen, I thought it was still a great reflection shot!

I kind of like it too, it gives it extra drama, the full reflection is really nice tho...

I love it, @ladybug146!'
How are you!!!

Awwe I'm glad you enjoyed it! Weird year but I'm well enough and surviving! How about yourself sweetie?

It looks like you are having a grand time 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE

I'm seeing as many mountains as I can before they lock us down for covid again! It's beautiful this time of year.

I envy you in many ways!

Awwe , too sweet. I'm sure I would envy your life in many ways too! It's just a matter of what we have accessible to us and what seems so distant. The fun in the mountains is over for now, just sorting pictures and writing about it left...I finally broke my camera. What's new with you? Are they talking lockdowns where you are? I have so much to catch up on from the last few weeks!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.