You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Rockies: Chasing waterfalls, unicorns and rainbows in Jasper National Park

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

What is it with you guys in the US and your imperial system! Probably the only ones left in the world! lol

well the Columbia icefields is one big block of perma ice so anything near there is cold! Some of the snow caps never fully melt and it's totally badass! I'm sure that week of 40 celcius (there is another one for you to do math on :D)we got after my trip probably melted a lot of that badassery, this trip was taken the last week of June.

That bear, what a catch for sure! I will forever be patting myself on the back for that one! I handled it like a big girl too!

I know 10 miles doesn't sound like much to a regular person. I had covid 2 months ago and I have long covid now and all messed up. walking that much in one day is actually quite an accomplishment, I still have to take breaks from making dinner or taking a shower since I got sick.

Sort:  

I have heard that COVID can have some longer term effects on the lungs, so congrats on going out and hiking. 40C equals 104F, WHAT!!!!!!! What in the hell is going on up there! I imagine few places ever bothered with air conditioning so life is miserable at that temperature.

Wish you good health and speedy recovery.

We don't have air conditioning in the house but we do have it in the truck with cooling seats, that and drinking a palet of slushed up frozen lemonade. It was a little warmish that's for sure. I'm not built for this shit! A town in B-C burned faster than you can roast a marshmallow it was so hot. (took 15 minutes to burn 90% of that town)

The thing is too is the virus is inside you for 6 months but only contagious for 2 weeks. I think because I have autoimmune issues maybe my body will fight it for that long? The doctor did tell me I have long covid and there is nothing they can do anymore. Hopefully I get to work out the issues and it's more medium term rather than long term. If it will be like this forever, I probably will have to change careers. (I hope not) Doing my best to work up the residual. The lung issues is one thing but I experience quite a bit of dizziness when doing physical activity. After standing up for 15 minutes or so I want to pass out and have to take a break. Sometimes it passes after a few minutes, sometimes that feeling last for hours. I think we got a variant but they weren't testing for it because they were swamped at that point it was positive/negative results only.

Thanks for the well wishes, I wish you good health as well. xox