Canadian Rockies: Chasing waterfalls, unicorns and rainbows in Jasper National Park

in Pinmapple3 years ago

What's buzzing Hive!

How is all of yalls voting hangover going? LOL. C'mon, we all know some of you took part in the guilty pleasure! I did minimally, don't hate but I see some definitely cashed in. Hopefully it gets all powered up to continue supporting their network for months or years to come. At least they were nice enough to advertise the glitch for everyone to take part if they wished to do so. To be honest tho, I didn't drain all my VP, only about half of it and since I'm far from a major HP holder, my cut was probably much smaller but hey I still got approximately 20 Hive in 2 days when I should have gotten maybe 5. Every Hive matters! I mostly just went back in time and voted on the post from my friends I had missed while I was disconnected from the internetland exploring my paradise. Fair not fair? I say whatever.

pizap (24).jpg

Speaking of paradise, I feel like I'm slow again rolling stuff out. My new mush-brain is really pissing me off , I often forget what I'm doing while I'm doing it. YUK. Since I'm planning on possibly returning in the next few days before work starts again, I might wanna move my behind, it will be hard to post when I get back to work. I think the real problem is we experienced so much in so few days that I don't even know where to begin. I have like half a dozen half written posts in my head all jumbled into one messy idea. You know me, I probably could easily write a book about my beloved rocks.

icefield parkway (5).jpg

columbia icefield (3).jpg

The day we did the Wilcox Pass hike was actually the day we were supposed to drive to Jasper and return home but we caught wind that the only road access for our return home via Jasper was closed indefinitely due to a out of control wildfire and we woke up to our section of the park being all foggy. We were actually supposed to do Wilcox Pass on this day but we didn't want to wait around half the day to see if the skies would clear up. That is often our strategy, if the sky looks dodgy, just drive down the way a couple of hours and you will most likely get something different entirely.

icefield parkway (7).jpg

icefield parkway (9).jpg

icefield parkway (6).jpg

On that day, we chose to take a gander to the town of Jasper via the beautiful Icefield Parkway...also named the most beautiful highway in the world by National Geographic. We mostly come this way during winter so we miss many lookouts since they don't remove the snow from many hidden lookouts. We had intentions on eventually reaching the town center and eat but then we got over excited about the day we were having and the scenery that we just ignored eating altogether until everything was closed. No fancy mountain foods to show you this post! Maybe next time...

columbia icefields (5).jpg

columbia icefields (6).jpg

This proved to be the right move, we just hit short hike after short hike. We were both pretty sore and exhausted from all of our other previous long hikes and this was supposed to be our relaxa-day of minimal hiking and we still put in over 17km on foot somehow and climbed the equivalent of walking up one of the former twin towers on foot. These long days are killing me and I love every minute of it!

icefield parkway (10).jpg

We tried to leave the hotel as early as we could to maximize our time as per usual but it looked all grey and cloudy, our first short hike was at the Columbia Icefields since we were driving in front of it, might as well. I still plan on giving it a post to itself so I wont post too many photos yet but I'll still indulge since I have quite a bit of photo material for this. This area is always moody doing it's own thing but just as lovely to look at anytime of year! Before we get to the Icefields, there is this spectacular birds eye view of the road cutting thru the valley below. Apparently, we are not the only ones enjoy the sight. Hello there Mr. Raven! How do you do my good sir? They are under-appreciated yet so beautiful.
icefield parkway (8).jpg

raven.jpg

After that short hike, we had to do our usual quick stop at Tangle Creek Falls, it was flowing like we had never seen before, what a time to visit! This not that little gem is right on the side of the highway with a parking lot across the street so it's nearly impossible to miss. If you read my last post about Wilcox Pass, if you keep going for that 11 km one way walk, this would be where you end up. Back to the waterflow, we always hike up, summer or winter and get a closer view of the top tier. This time was no different. A few years back, @silvergingerman was at the bottom taking pictures of my up there wondering what kind of optical illusion made me look like I was standing in the middle of the waterfall, well he discovered my trick and that I was again.

tangle creek falls (6).jpg

tangle creek falls (4).jpg

tangle creek falls (5).jpg

You probably shouldn't do that and you will get VERY VERY wet but there are rocks and a shallow river that comes to about ankle deep in really cold water in front of the fall but not necessarily in it. Be careful as wet rocks are slippery so don't climb or go to the edge to avoid injury. I tend to stay in a location that if I slip, I'll just get more wet than anticipated, if you're gonna do stupid things in the Rockies, at least do them safely. In the end, my whole behind was completely SOAKED from the spray alone. Luckily it was turning out to be a hot day and it felt good along with the fact that we finally stopped cheaping out and got ourselves some lightweight fast dry hiking pants. So comfy too, it's like wearing nothing but realistically we were just tired of ruining a pair of designer jeans with rips and stains from the rugged landscape with every trip. Took me about 20 minutes to go from dripping wet to completely dry, proving to be a worthy investment already!

yuk...wet butt.jpg

YUK... my wet dripping pants, my butt was just as soggy, all of my backside to be honest. I will love my new hiking pants, they have tons of pockets for spare batteries, smokes and whatever else I might want stuff in there. Ill find a way to turn myself into a walking backpack or mountain tool shed (at work I sometimes get labelled a walking tool crib). I Can also roll them up into shorts, they have buttons to hold the legs up...sweet!

wet butt.jpg

DSC_9454.JPG

We didn't have a specific agenda, we just went wherever the wheels of the truck and our feet took us. Next we were looking for a view of the endless chain, stopped for a picture and noticed we were at the trailhead for Stanley Falls and it seemed to be only a few km hike that took a little over an hour to complete. Doesn't seem like a busy hike, bring bear spray in case but I didn't really see any evidence of bears or much food for them so it might be ok without. It's just good practice to have it packed no matter what. It's not a very picturesque hike but remains quite the sight, it's one of those "you have to see it in person" type places.

stanley falls hike.jpg

stanley fall hike (1).jpg

The trail took us along a small canyon along the river and every little while, there was a cascade or small waterfall. Much of the hike is on the edge and there are no barriers so be careful when bringing small kids and watch your footing. There are plenty of exposed tree roots and rocks to have me tripping over myself for an hour :D. We met this lovely young family from Montreal visiting for the first time, they became our hiking buddies for the time being since we arrived at the same time. Hopefully they had a good time visiting our landscape. Overall, it isn't a hard hike and well worth the hour wasted, just about anyone should be able to handle this. There is an incline most of the way but it isn't all that steep.

stanley fall hike.jpg

stanley falls hike (1).jpg

stanley falls hike (3).jpg

I had to wash my hands in the cold river since I somehow got full of tree sap and I was just spreading it everywhere on myself, I swear you can't take me out anywhere...not even the forest...what a mess! One of my nicknames for over a decade is "sticky", I wonder how I could ever earn such a name!haha

Naturally we gave them a few pointers as to what not to miss in their travel direction, I'm sure they would have done quite well on their own anyway. If you remember my blog page details, there you are as promised, I hope you get to return and visit our backcountry in the future with your mini explorers that will soon become seasoned junior adventurers! This is only shoutout #1 wait for it my other mountain peeps looking for yours... lol. When I travel, I try to spread the word on our beautiful home community of Hive thru word of mouth, I should really get some business cards made to make it easier to remember especially for those I inform they will be in my blog. Does it work? Who knows...doesn't hurt to spread the word. Knowing the landscape and standing out like a sore thumb with our funny hats, there is no doubt we must be local enough to know where the good stuff is around here, we get the chance to talk to many visitors. I'm always curious where everyone comes from.

stanley fall hike (2).jpg

Our trail friends got ahead of us for a bit, that backpack isn't a backpack...He carried his kid on his back in some sort of contraption the whole hike to keep her from running amok around the edge of the canyon, what a champ! I bet kiddo was happy to get out of there and stretch her legs after!

stanley falls hike (2).jpg

juniper berries.jpg

unripe Juniper berries are whitish in color and turn purple like a blueberry when ripe. They are called a berry but there are in fact closer to some sort of pine cone and taste like one too. It is commonly used to flavor gin or used crushed as an herbal tea (about 3 crushed berries needed for 1 drink) in addition to being crushed like a spice similar to pepper in many gravies and sauces. They have many health benefits and are pretty common around North-America not just the mountains so don't pick anything from a national park, it's illegal. These guys pack quite a flavor punch, don't try to eat a whole one alone, it taste like a really strong pine tree and make my gut turn(I did try it on a separate occasion as I always carry some in the house picked from crown land, a handfull will probably do a year of supply.

stanley fall hike (3).jpg

Other flowers we found on the trail, don't know their name and didn't try but they are also pretty common in the mountains just about everywhere we stopped.

endless chain.jpg

Endless Chain

Of course there many roadside lookouts to stop here and there, each have a bit of exploration available but didn't seem like too much for trails but you can still get down to the river and walk along the river for quite a ways, we certainly enjoy doing that in the summer. Gives us access to views we can't otherwise get from the road. We wanted to go a bit further but now as we were getting closer to the waterfalls we were really excited to see. We didn't want to procrastinate too much. At this point we still had the silly idea that we wanted food! Who needs that right!

jasper flowers.jpg

This must be the smallest bee in the world! I have no idea what this is but it was the size of small ant considering these are pretty small flowers to begin with.

Our next scheduled stop was the Sunwapta Falls, the sister fall to Athabasca. Both Sunwapta and Athabasca falls are part of the Athabasca river and get their flow from the Columbia Icefields as they melt for summer. Late June and early July is when ALL the waterfalls in the region are in full force and the sheer power of both of them is nothing short of spectacular. It's so loud you can't even hear yourself talk. I have never seen them be this violent. Somehow the energy coming from them was recharging my own personal batteries. I know it sounds strange but I felt super good and ready to take on the world after visiting both.

sunwapta falls (14).jpg

sunwapta falls (8).jpg

sunwapta falls (9).jpg

Sunwapta Falls is pretty close to the road/parking lot, just a matter of crossing the tree line so it is possible to just come by for a quick stop and see the best part. There is a short hike that makes it down closer to the falls themselves but the photogenic view is really at the bridge. There is a couple of trails to hit up in the area. A trip to Big Bend will take a bit longer, more like an afternoon plan but we went down that road last winter, I believe that bridge may still be washed out. Our plan was to make it to the Lower Sunwapta Falls. Not quite as significant as the easier access falls but still worth the extra walk for the view and it's just a nice walk in the woods.

sunwapta falls (10).jpg

sunwapta falls (11).jpg

sunwapta lower falls (1).jpg

Up until you get to the Lower Falls, there isn't much of a view but there is a plethora of wildflowers including some a little more rare to our region. The walk is about 2 km downhill to get there and there isn't much for fall hazards at both falls. It's popular enough that both are pretty well fenced in, great for unruly kids I suppose. It's fairly easy even to come back, the incline isn't as steep as big ben and I would classify that as an easy beginner hike so essentially just about anyone with 2 legs shouldn't have any problems getting there. By this time, the sun was shining in full force and the day was warm. Being sheltered in the woods was a bit of relief from the heat. Now with the sun at it's peak for the day, we got a bunch of rainbows in the waterfall sprays as all the elements were just right for the added surprise.

sunwapta falls (13).jpg

sunwapta lower falls (2).jpg

sunwapta falls (12).jpg

sunwapta lower falls.jpg

I can't believe we are only halfway thru the day, feels like we have been out and about forever and it had been, I run on beef jerkey and coffee when I'm in the mountains, food is for chumps! lol ... I should probably try to do better at some point, I just don't think of it or want to take the time when it's this nice! Our time here came to end, it was time to head to the real prize, the real unicorn I coveted! ATHABASCA FALLS. Now if you think these little rainbow falls were nice, wait for it! Athabasca Falls is the most powerful fall in the Rockies and let me tell you, this one is ANGRY but this is another one I can feed energy from.

goats and glaciers.jpg

Not much to say about this place, It's a quick road turnoff called Goats and Glaciers. There was no goats, I feel a little ripped-off lol ...jk it was a beautiful view and not much work to get at it. The river isn't normally this high as to cover the land below but the tiny mock islands were neat just the same

icefield parkway (13).jpg

Now we were at the heart of the Montane Region, the lower portion of the mountains more concentrated in the valleys. The climate is more temperate with a longer growing season where you will find the bulk of the many wildflowers, this time of year it was still early being there at the end of June and only small flowers are out. By now, mid July is the peak, one more week and there should be some spectacular fields full of everything. Animals also prefer the Montane region, this is where most of the food grows.

icefield parkway wild rose.jpg

icefield parkway wild flowers (1).jpg

icefield parkway wild flowers.jpg

On top of being the most powerful, it is right in front of Mount Kerkeslin, unfortunately this area has been ravaged bad by the infamous pine beatle and it will never be the same again in my life time. The short live pretty mock-fall colors stage is over and now much of the mountain is just dead trees, at least where you see the black-ish discoloration. Sad indeed. I wonder what kind of view we will get in the coming years as the trees slowly crumble and fall. Hopefully we can welcome new growth so maybe not the next but the generation after can enjoy what we used to. This place is killer nonetheless. We got engaged here actually, this place has our memories imprinted in it's own fabric! We have to stop every time we drive by.

athabasca falls (13).jpg

mount kerkeslin (1).jpg

athabasca falls (10).jpg

@silvergingerman made a quick iphone video for me just so you can hear it's tremendous power in the link below. This is some crazy stuff. I have never seen it this mad before. How exciting! well for me anyway...I have done some stupid things in my life and I will just stop here so I don't give anyone any ideas because this place is dangerous. When I say she's angry, I mean it. Every couple of years, somebody dies here and they just get washed away and may or not ever be seen again (I mean your body...nobody would survive getting washed away by this bad girl). Last winter someone almost fell in before the river froze, he got lucky and caught himself but he's a one off...Everyone else...bye bye...sorry about your luck. STAY WITHIN THE BARRIERS!

Now, this is my money shot for this place down below. I have it circulating on facebook and it's almost at 3000 views in like 7 hours already. YEAH! I'm trying to grow a ladybug facebook page. Ladies and gents, you think it's hard to build a following here!?! Haha that's funny. Anyways, I will leave a link to my page in case there is an odd one of you still kicking around that dusty place. I do release some of my pictures a bit earlier there but you certainly get way more here on hive.

https://www.facebook.com/ladybug146photographyAlberta

athabasca falls (8) (1).jpg

We did a bit of walking around down the stairs but it looked pretty much like it usually does except with a wild river. We wanted to go all the way down and walk around but the river was so high so we just headed back up with the intent to go get some grub someplace fancy-ish but that's where we said Screw it, I want Maligne Lake!

athabasca falls (11).jpg

I hope you don't mind my fugly mountain look, no make up, all undone. What a mess! lol Ladybug raw! For someone that's going to be 40 in a few years, I guess it could be worse, at least I held on to whatever little I had for this long...haha

2021-06-24 17.41.56.jpg

I stole @silvergingerman's outback rancher hat and he wore my cowboy hat, with covid, I didn't eat for 2 weeks and dropped a bunch of weight and aparently I had a fathead so my hat doesn't fit me anymore, it just flies away in the wind. It might look a little funny to some but it's like all weather protection from sun to rain and I don't have to do my hair, it's quite helpful.

ahabasca falls.jpg

Where I'm standing is the former path for the river and waterfall, it has carved itself a new path since then with the soft limestone walls.

By the time we hit Jasper townsite, it was probably passed 6pm maybe even closer to 7. If we went to eat we wouldn't of had time to make our way up to Maligne. It wasn't really on the agenda but we made it this far and time allowed it somehow. Gotta love them long Alberta summer solstice days! Up to this point, we were already 10 hours into exploring on the day...No wonder we put in 17km of walking on a no hike day! I was so sore, I think that's the day I fell to the ground when I tried to get out of bed. Waking up my legs were like....Hum...NOOO YOU AIN'T you weirdo. WTF legs...I'll show you who's the boss...Can't tell me what not to do.

medicine lake (3).jpg

medicine lake (4).jpg

We didn't regret skipping out on food, what a drive, what a view. There wasn't much for wildlife yet, still too early but this road is a HIT. A little secret, this is one of the areas that the Animal tour takes their guests, probably all the way to the canyon. We have seen grizzlies eating buffalo berries, Elk, Rams, everything hangs out in the fields leading up. Maybe we'll catch something on the way down...just maybe. In the meantime, here is Medicine Lake aka the bathtub of jasper, in case you are just joining, this is not actually a lake, there is too much water coming down the mountain than the underground rivers can carry so the surplus accumulates over the summer and completely drains in the fall. There is an eagle's nest in the area but it was blocked off for nesting season as they are easily disturbed. Follow the park's guidelines even if it's tempting to try to get a glimpse. Amazing stuff!

maligne lake (13).jpg

maligne lake (14).jpg

maligne lake (15).jpg

This region is the actual birth of Jasper National Park. This is the gem it was meant to protect and probably my favorite overall general area. You could spend days here without getting bored. We have so many hikes to do here still and also where you can find one of the most coveted hike in the world, The Skyline Trail. It's a 4 day hike for a backpacker's paradise. There is a way to skip the long hike and get a short glimpse of it from Maligne Lake, if we go next week, I would like to make it to the lookout over the lake since I have heard hikers drool all over this trail, I better checkout what it's all about.

maligne lake (16).jpg

maligne lake (17).jpg

maligne lake (18).jpg

This another one of those special mountain interactions... We met a group of young adults on our arrival and they were willing to be patient and let me take my photos, I take a while so I told them to walk by. As they walked away talking amongst themselves, the said they wanted to be photobombing me anyway to be funny. So I shouted out, with that kind of language you are now part of my vacation and MY BLOG. They instantly turned around...WHAT? REALLY? So there you are my young friends, if you remembered my blog and didn't give up looking for yourselves yet, here you are...your moment in infamy! You are a good bunch and it was nice to briefly meet you. Keep on exploring and being awesome, I hope you enjoyed your evening!

DSC_0484.JPG

In hindsight, I should have asked you to pose for a better picture but I like the surprised looks finding out you would go in my blog. I think the one guy was more like UH-OH...no cameras...I take it back...hehe

maligne lake (19).jpg

maligne lake (20).jpg

I got to say, this year with no international tourist, visiting the parks are a breeze, we had most of the place to ourselves for much of the day, even the normally busy areas that are impossible to swim thru tourists were fairly quiet. If you are Canadian, this is the time to come visit, there are deals to be had everywhere. This is how nature should be enjoyed. Looks like golden hour, we must be almost done right!?! How much more can I fit in here! Now that I'm almost nearing the end, I realize this probably could have been 2 posts but it's too late to turn back now. We had a long drive back to Saskatchewan crossing so we didn't wait until sunset. I wanted me some moose pictures on the way down, they come out to the side of the road about an hour or 2 before sundown. Be careful when driving down at this hour but you could be in for a treat.

teddy (7).jpg

teddy (6).jpg

teddy (1).jpg

teddy.jpg

Now this moment was the most EPIC of the day, maybe even the trip. What came next blew my effen mind. On the way down, we spotted a grizzly in the ditch eating in the bushes. Now he was across the street and pretty far out, I didn't have a clear view of him but there was an opening in the trees and I was hoping to catch his head as he was walking by. Then this girl stops her car right in my view to tell me there was a moose real close, I was like GET OUT OF MY SHOT...you are blocking my bear and she just kept repeating about the moose over and over. I already had my 300mm lens on the camera in preparation for a possible moose. She eventually got the hint that I didn't give two s**** about her moose and drove away...ER MER GHERD girl...a little slow are ya? I couldn't see him anymore. I was looking and looking. Where did the SOB go? He must have left. Suddenly, in the bush opening looking over the 3 or 4 foot deep ditch/hill/drop-off (whatever you want to call it), I see 2 paws on the road and a big head pop up! WHOA. I figured he would see 2 cars there and go back in the direction he was originally go in.

teddy (5).jpg

When I say he went to say hello to both vehicles, he really did. Luckily I got to watch his behavior with the other vehicle first.

teddy (8).jpg

teddy (2).jpg

teddy (3).jpg

He stayed there for a few minutes looking at each of the vehicle analyzing the situation. Suddenly, I see him grab on with his back paws and jump onto the road. He looked and analyzed another minute or so and started making his way in front of the truck, I was still out the sunroof (in a tall enough truck)!! OMG What do I do!!! Is he coming for me? Should I hide back in the truck like a ground hog? In hindsight, I probably should have but he was very calm and walking slow across the road, I could tell he wanted no beef with me...I just want to cross the road man...chill, so I did, he stopped a few times and even posed for both vehicles in opposing side of traffic...what a bear...what an encounter...

teddy (4).jpg

teddy (9).jpg

I'm glad I was in the truck and I was ready to pull a groundhog move just in case. No growls, no grunts, no huffing and puffing. Cool as a cucumber crossing the darn road. He was sooo close! The thing is with bear encounters, even on the trail, you don't want to move fast, not moving is often the better option unless it's a predatory bear. Leave them room to decide where they want to exit and let them is the best strategy. Normally the safe distance for bear watching is 100 meters and we were respecting that but you can't really control where the bear is going to go! We still got our moose in the end, a young buck, you can see his tiny horns. Probably the first season on his own and he was skittish when we tried to drive around him. He wanted to run in the road and all over the place so we stopped rolling for a bit and let him gather himself until he figured out where he wanted to go. Moose is another one where you have to pay close attention to their body language.

maligne moose.jpg

maligne moose (3).jpg

maligne moose (2).jpg

Take that slow girl, I missed NOTHING at all. They don't move from there until sundown unless they get scared. Get outta here, I know my beasties behaviors! Even if I did miss out, bears always have priority, and she almost had a bear come at her while she wasn't paying attention arguing with me when I was trying to warn her! Some people lol. Alright this is it for now! And there was no unicorn, I did look tho. Cheers! xox

Sort:  

Fair not fair?

I'd say fair Marielle. If everyone took part it would have more evenly distributed the curation rewards rather than just a few coders pulling it all in. I usually get about 150-175HP in curation a week or there abouts and I ended up with 690HP off 238 votes so didn't do too badly I guess. If you're interested in who got what go to Asher's post below:

https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@abh12345/last-weeks-curation-rewards-alright-for-some


I don't even know where to start with your post, it's pretty legit. Such a great location. I wanna hike there! Said in a petulant, demanding voice! Lol. Such great images and that bear? Come on, as if!

Seriously, there's a lot to like here and a lot for an Aussie lad like me to be jealous of. Also, now I want moose burgers. Lol.

Great post.

p.s. There better have been some #watertasting when you washed your hands Rebecca!

wanna hike there! Said in a petulant, demanding voice!

That's why I'm not sure I want to look at Asher's post to know who got what! I'll probably be jelly like that too! Good for them tho and you too. I am a little jelly, now I feel like a chump with my 20 hive LMFAO, not as badass as I once thought I was a couple minutes ago. Ya never know what forked up stuff you come across in the 7 days after.

Anyone should want to hike there, it's just so amazing everywhere. I don't think there is much disappointment in Jasper especially Maligne Lake road...and that bear I know!!!! I still have a hard time to believe it. It was our second bear on this trip, the other one wasn't as chummy and stayed in the ditch...it was on a different day. Strangely, it was more exciting than scary. I have like 3 more days like this to report on. OMG lol, I don't know if my mush-brain will make it there! It's a lot to experience on the long forever days. Sorry to let you down, no watertasting...I had germy hands since all we have to potty is outhouses and my hands were all germy at that point...ewwwy.

I wanted a moose burger too! That's why I wanted food at the townsite. It was cutting into my teddy time tho. Can you imagine going to eat and missing all that Maligne stuff! (it takes over an hour to drive up there from town) I'm glad we gave up the moose burger we were drooling for.

Don't worry about the curation thing, it's of no consequence really. I wasn't going to do it but did so to ensure the few didn't run off with the bulk. Don't be jelly...I'll share some of mine...Will send you a tip after I write this comment. I got ya back.

Hmm, you'll have to #doublewatertaste next time and if your hands are un-sanitised get your whole head in there. (Hat off first though).

Awesome times in Jasper Marielle. I just gotta get there someday.

Awwe that's so sweet of you, thanks for the tip.

I think you would regret that water tasting decision, dunking the entire head! I still remember the time you told me 11 degrees was cold...this water is at 5 degrees on a good day! It's beer chilling water not head dunking water! The water is cooooold in the Rockies!

You will make it to Jasper or the Rockies one day, if not in body then in spirit!

I was going to give you a different tip like, look both ways before you crossed the road but I figured you know that gem of wisdom already.

OK, so no Jasper head-dunking. I get it. I am but a roookie in respect of Jasperising and will defer to your experience in this matter. Of course, I reckon I'll probably push you in if the opportunity arises...For fun you know. I'll be sensible about it and not too it too close upstream from a waterfall. I'm not an idiot after all.

Spirit-Jasperising isn't going to cut it. I need to real liferise it.

You're welcome for the tip. My pleasure.

I will be your Jaspering master teacher if you ever make it. I think your a natural born...just have to resist the urge to EMA all the fluffies. I'll still make you dunk your head tho. My foot turns purple after like 2 minutes in the water you know....for fun! I get Jasper is nicer and more enjoyable in human form that spirit form.

You give better tips than I do... my tips are more like...don't eat yellow snow and stuff.

My foot turns purple after like 2 minutes in the water you know

I can hold my breath for 125 seconds under duress...So...Just saying.

don't eat yellow snow and stuff.

This is valuable shit for people like me who are not snow-initiated.

Cannot decide if I am more impressed by all those epic shots or by the no less epic grizzly encounter :) Just wow. Top notch piece as always.

Thank you! Yeah it was quite a day teddy, the rainbows, all of it. No wonder it's my favorite park out of all of them!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, just wow! Fantastic all around!.What I'd give to have a day like yours, @ladybug146!!!

Thank you! Well I wish everyday was like this but I'm happy with a limited amount per year as well. I'm sure your surroundings are full of equally interesting hidden gems. Have a great week-end Hun xox

Wishing you the best!
Enjoy the weekend as well!!!

Ms. Saver Loves Her Wild Animals and Her Outdoor Beauty @silversaver888

The Moose is Cool but I am Really !LUV IN' The GRIZZLY BEAR !!! @ladybug146

I named him Teddy and he's my new buddy! He was pretty cool, I wasn't expecting an encounter like that so close, I'm glad I was in the truck and not on a trail. The moose was cool to tho, but that bear! OMG

Hey sticky.

I'm still working my way through your post but wanted to drop by and say...

Hey Sticky.

Lol.

...and back to the post.

My friend/coworker/mentor would be so proud of you right now!

Lol. I aim to please.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Sticky.

Congratulations @ladybug146! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 7000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day - ATH Volume record!

Bellisimos paisajes, hermosas fotos y un encuentro algo peligroso jajaja. Te felicito 😀

Gracias! nunca sabes lo que te encuentras en las montañas. Just in case it came out messed up in translation: You never know what you encounter in the mountains.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1254.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you! You guys are the best!

First, I did read the entire post. Second, it is July and some of those places still look cold as hell (funny expression since hell is hot). Third, nice catch with the bear.

And finally for the metrically impaired:

Screenshot 2021-07-08 at 20-14-17 kilometers to miles at DuckDuckGo.png

Ten miles? I do that in my sleep. :)

What is it with you guys in the US and your imperial system! Probably the only ones left in the world! lol

well the Columbia icefields is one big block of perma ice so anything near there is cold! Some of the snow caps never fully melt and it's totally badass! I'm sure that week of 40 celcius (there is another one for you to do math on :D)we got after my trip probably melted a lot of that badassery, this trip was taken the last week of June.

That bear, what a catch for sure! I will forever be patting myself on the back for that one! I handled it like a big girl too!

I know 10 miles doesn't sound like much to a regular person. I had covid 2 months ago and I have long covid now and all messed up. walking that much in one day is actually quite an accomplishment, I still have to take breaks from making dinner or taking a shower since I got sick.

I have heard that COVID can have some longer term effects on the lungs, so congrats on going out and hiking. 40C equals 104F, WHAT!!!!!!! What in the hell is going on up there! I imagine few places ever bothered with air conditioning so life is miserable at that temperature.

Wish you good health and speedy recovery.

We don't have air conditioning in the house but we do have it in the truck with cooling seats, that and drinking a palet of slushed up frozen lemonade. It was a little warmish that's for sure. I'm not built for this shit! A town in B-C burned faster than you can roast a marshmallow it was so hot. (took 15 minutes to burn 90% of that town)

The thing is too is the virus is inside you for 6 months but only contagious for 2 weeks. I think because I have autoimmune issues maybe my body will fight it for that long? The doctor did tell me I have long covid and there is nothing they can do anymore. Hopefully I get to work out the issues and it's more medium term rather than long term. If it will be like this forever, I probably will have to change careers. (I hope not) Doing my best to work up the residual. The lung issues is one thing but I experience quite a bit of dizziness when doing physical activity. After standing up for 15 minutes or so I want to pass out and have to take a break. Sometimes it passes after a few minutes, sometimes that feeling last for hours. I think we got a variant but they weren't testing for it because they were swamped at that point it was positive/negative results only.

Thanks for the well wishes, I wish you good health as well. xox

Wow, epic bear pics! Amazing pics from all around Jasper. I really need to spend more time in this park. You’ve packed so many pics into this post, wow!!

Thank you! He was pretty cool indeed! It's quite a place, I prefer it over Banff any day...don't get me wrong, Banff holds it's own well but Jasper is something pretty special. Can you image all those pics for 1 day!! I left some out too.

If you decide to tour Jasper, you know where to go for destinations!

Amazing view thanks for sharing 😍

Thank you!

Yes, Conteudo Very Good, tanks or temp...

Thank you for visiting!

Hey. That was actually just me wearing a bear suit. I get bored. Tourists are fun to mess with. Sometimes they throw food at me as well. That really helps bring the cost of groceries down.

Two of my buddies are in the moose.

Awesome shots though! Always wanted to be famous.

LOL well now I'm glad it was just you in a bear suit, I hope you enjoyed the cheese burger and poutine I threw at you! I can see how one would want to cut down on the grocery bill, food is expensive!

If I would have known your 2 buddies werein the moose I would have brought them burgers too!

Thanks for stopping by!

Aww what beautiful images!!!! I have to get to know Canada someday, it's a wonderful country! Thanks for this virtual tour!😍

I'm glad you enjoyed the virtual tour, hopefully you get to experience Canada for yourself one day. We have many gems to be explored no matter where you go. Thank you for stopping by!

Beutifool park , Great for a walk and enjoying it ;))

I'm glad you enjoyed, thank you for visiting.

Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 13-32-04 Forest Gump Meme Generator - Imgflip.png

Screenshot 2021-07-09 at 13-29-47  jaynie.png

I know, how exciting! I even dethroned noname for the top spot for a bit last night, went strait to #1! I had to take a picture for my memory in case it never happens again :D

Wow that's paradise, @ladypug. Thank you for sharing another marvelous part of the world.

I'm glad you enjoyed it. There is quite a bit of beauty in this part of Canada, no words can describe it fully. The experiences to be had here are endless. Have a great weekend my friend!

Thank you very much, a great weekend for you, too.

Oh what a terrific place! Ahmazing! I loved the shots with the flowers, so pretty! This was such an amazing hike I can tell. A bear, a mousse.. You have seen wildlife in their natural state... Pretty lovely.
Your cowboy hat is awesome, it is super comfy and it gives you a badass vibe hahahha

It was multiple amazing short hikes, I did see a little bit of everything all in the same day, more than I even expected! I love my wildlife encounters, watch their behavior and learn. They are all amazing beings, big and small alike. It was the beginning of wildflower season, going back to frolic next week, it should be peak season and hopefully I can get more varieties.

Yes my hat! I love it, I'm glad it makes me look badass instead of corny ... I wonder sometimes!

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts in my blog. Keep on sharing great photos!

Here's a slice of !PIZZA for you!

Thank you! That is very sweet of you to stop by with some pizza! xox

Aw man, I've been there. I grew up in Calgary and would find myself in Banff and Jasper National Parks pretty frequently. Those are always some amazing areas, and you've just done a great job of making me incredibly homesick! 😂 Thank you for the pictures!

Well I'm glad I made you homesick! That's what you get for moving away from such a beautiful area! I agree all are amazing areas, I feel so blessed to live near. Since I moved here I do my best to spend as much time as I can in the mountains, aim for a month per year total...I would like to get more time in but work gets in the way :D

The picture caption watching the world and rainbow waterfall is amazing .You must have had many meaningful moments for yourself

Dios mío existe toda esa belleza en el planeta tierra de verdad no escatimaste al crear esa hermosa tierra

Gracias! De hecho, un hermoso planeta lleno de maravillas para explorar!

I can’t believe you got pictures of a grizzly and so close too! I was thrilled to see this post doing so well especially because I was at this spot only last year! (Now I’m going to have to look over my pictures!) It’s certainly a beautiful place! I’m going to bookmark this one! I want to read it when things are quieter over here and really absorb this post!

Followed! 🙌

Thanks, such a sweet comment! I'm glad you got to experience the regions beauty, it's hard to do it justice in a post or photos. It's quite the gem. I was so amazed by the grizzly, I was happy just see it from far away, he certainly was a double cherry on a sunday!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed. I look forward to checking out your blog a little later tonight when I have a few more minutes. Thank you for stopping by!