Market in Beaune France

in Pinmapple11 months ago (edited)

I mentioned this in my previous post but for introduction sake I'll say it again, Beaune was our next destination during my sister's vacation in France. It was a perfect spot for a #marketfriday post hosted by @dswigle.

20220716_134042~2.jpg

We stopped there on our drive home from Chamonix. The city was almost a perfect half way point along our route and it was on my list of places to see in the country, so we took the opportunity to make a small detour along the way.

20220716_131234~2.jpg

We parked in a large parking lot just outside the old town and then headed in to the main city center. The parking lot was free too, which was a welcomed surprise. That sort of luck is hard to come by this day in age.

20220716_121237~2.jpg

Within the old town was a huge market taking place with food in one section and flea market style antiques and wares in another. My sister did a better job taking photos that day, so most of the pictures are courtesy of her.

20220716_120937~2.jpg

My biggest regret about our visit was not purchasing any truffles - the fungi variety not the chocolate ones. One of the stalls was selling fresh summer truffles and for some stupid reason I didn't think to buy any of the little black nuggets of deliciousness.

IMG-20220717-WA0007~2.jpg

I had bought a fresh one the previous year in Sarlat and it had lasted me about a week. I had loved putting it on pasta and bread and eggs in the morning. I basically ate it with every meal each day until it was gone. Just shredded some on onto whatever I was eating. Why I didn't think to buy one this day is beyond me. Summer Truffles are expensive but they aren't unreasonable by any means, especially if you only buy them on occasion. They were selling decent sized ones starting at 11.00 euro, but of course they went up from there depending on the size. None were unreasonably priced though. I didn't take any photos of the stall either, but that's not surprising. I almost never take pictures in markets, hence why all of the photos are from my sister. They actually sell truffles in the nicer grocery store in our city, but unlike the golf ball sized ones at the market, these ones are the size of a large marble (about 1/4 to 1/3rd the size of the market ones) and they aren't fresh but pickled in some sort of brine. I doubt they taste the same and they are two to three times the price as well. Needless to say I've never bought any and really dont see the point in doing so.

IMG-20220717-WA0008~2.jpg

Ooo looks at all the garlic! Imagine all of the delicious meals you could make with all of that (or all of the vampire's that you could kill).

IMG-20220717-WA0000~2.jpg

Hey, what do you know, it looks like I did take a photo in the market that day (below). Too bad is was almost the same as the previous ones.

20220716_121100~2.jpg

There were lots of shallots and onions in there and an assortment of olives as well. That was my kind of stall.

20220716_120923~2.jpg

There was a dried fruit and nuts stand,

IMG-20220717-WA0006~2.jpg

and also a canned jam stall,

IMG-20220717-WA0009~2.jpg

and a flower booth. The market had all of the things you would expect and maybe then some.

IMG-20220717-WA0001~2.jpg

My sister got a kick out of these colorful boxer shorts. Are they still called boxers? Male underwear - whatever the name is nowadays. I like the cats with laser beam eyes myself.

Something that we didn't do was check out the Hospices de Beaune, which is a famous historic landmark of the city with a very colorful tiled roof. I had originally planned to check it out, but when we got there and saw the price and the line up to get in, we decided that we just weren't feeling it that day. I'm sure it is nice but I'm not too upset about not going in. We had a long travel day and at least 4 more hours of driving ahead of us, so after stopping for a coffee and an ice cream and checking out the market we headed back to our car to get back on the road.

20220716_133746~2.jpg

Well thats it for now. If you are interested in seeing more of our trip then stay tuned, there's more to come. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/itsme9001/re-leothreads-2wuo88gzo
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( itsme9001 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thank you for being part of #MarketFriday this week! It is always such a pleasure to have you. As you can see, I am running more than late here this week. For this, I'm so sorry. While I have read your market post (I have read them all!) I had some unexpected surgery that has me unable to finish most of them. While I am fine, the swelling, bruising, and healing have slowed me just a bit. I'll be good soon. Quite miserable until then!

I am happy to have read them all pf the posts and able to send out the upvotes. A partial win for me!
I truly appreciate all of the sharing of experiences and even more, when people visit others, starting a dialogue. This is what the vision of #MarketFriday was. The understanding for all.

#MarketFriday began as a way to reach out across the globe and learn about different cultures through their markets, especially local markets and farmers' markets, and eventually branched out and evolved over time from straight shopping to a cultural affair as it highlights how we differ and then again, how much we are alike. We have become a melting pot of culture, but it is still the Rituals, Festivals, food, architecture, and even your language/languages that separate us... Along with the fact that these things are normal for us. There are unwritten rules that rule our social behaviors. I see this as allowing for increased tolerance between cultures and nations, and opportunities to come together on an even playing ground. A strong culture can benefit a country as it promotes unity, especially during a crisis, peaceful debate, and open dialogue. I have learned so much about all of you; it has been an amazing experience. I can only hope that learning about each other can help us work together for a peaceful world.

Thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday

Sorry to hear that you had an unexpected surgery. I hope you are doing okay and healing well. Take care.

C'mon, fess up! You did purchase that laser eye cat boxer, right? No lies!... along with ice cream?

Haha I wish that I had 😂

Haha! Or maybe these are more your style?

untitled.gif

Haha yeah that's exactly my style 😅
Nailed it!

I love a good market!!! All that fresh produce. I have done the same with truffles before. Not bought and then regretted. Grrr.

Those boxers are very trendy now. I've got some like it! It looks like lots of places are buying them and rebranding so it looks like their own maybe!

Yeah. I should have know to buy them too given how much I enjoyed them the first time around.

That's the first that I've seen such boxers. Cool socks are very trendy but I suppose underwear is as well now adays

Yeah, there is a couple of online places that sell them here. To be honest, right up to I saw your photo I thought that they got them specially done but now I'm thinking that somewhere is just churning them out for everyone

Oh yeah for sure, I'm guessing there are many companies doing that sort of thing at this point. I haven't been to a mall in quite some time but I bet I could find them there if I wanted.

I know what you mean about not buying some truffle and kicking yourself afterwards. I do that sometimes, when it just didn't occur to me to buy something especially when it's good value, and when I get home I keep on asking myself why the hell didn't I buy it when it's like xxxx time more expensive at home

Yes exactly and I imagine that the fresh one are so much better as well. I can't see a pickled truffle being as good as a fresh one.

Got to love a market the sounds the smells the sights, I am thinking the French like garlic! wow never seen such a mountain of the stuff.

Please tell me you didn't buy any of those pants!!!

Who doesn't love garlic?

Haha no I didn't buy a pair. 😂

vampires?

Haha yeah, vampire's hate garlic...right? 😂

the ones I have met do

Those truffels sounds really good! Do they usually sell them on french markets?

At certain times of the year, when they are in season, they sell them. Certain places more than others as well. They are really big further south in the Périgord region of the country.

Oh yeah I see that it is quite far away for me. It sounds really cool to learn to cook with them. I was eating Italian dishes with truffel all the time when I visited Albania. It is the best flavour there is!

Yeah they are super delicious. I put them on everything really lol. I never cooked them though just shaved some on pasta, or bread or eggs

Okay sounds easy! I believe we don't really have truffels in Holland, or at least I have never seen them for sale. Only the funny kinds are easy to get here.

Haha yeah you guys have lots of those types. 😂

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much

Personally, I think I’d leave the boxers behind in favour of the truffles, garlic, shallots and (YUM) olives. 😉
☕️ 🍦

Yeah if I could only choose one thing I'd probably choose the truffles. Delicious 😋

@tipu curate

Thanks. I appreciate the support 🙏

These pictures are so nice
The place is a very beautiful one
I'm glad you enjoyed!

Thanks. I'm glad you liked the photos

Wow so many attractive things at that beautiful market. It's great to have a stop at that interesting place. I think I spend hours to try food and buy things.

Yeah there were a lot of nice treats to buy there and a lot to explore.

Awesome place, the streets are cute and what a lovely market.
I could spend a few hours wandering around there.
Great captures, hahaha funny boxers 😋
Have a great Friday 👋🏻😊

Yeah it was a pretty big market with a lot to see. Have a good Friday as well

Thank you kindly @leaky20 👋🏻😊 enjoy yours!

And for me to experience the local life in a city or country is very important, I want to see the local life one hundred percent not what I see in the tourist areas.
Here I can include visiting fish markets, restaurants, or even markets like the one you presented.
Thank you for sharing moments from your vacation with us.

Yeah I agree. It's nice to experience local life and not just the touristy sorts of things. Outdoor markets are really big in France

Thanks for the reply and have a wonderful weekend.

No problem. You as well.

Wow! Look at how a market is well organized , I love these pictures , thanks for sharing

Yes it was a very well laid out market. Lots of different stuff to look at and buy.

I love the cultural, architectural, and quaint city life of France... somewhere I would one day love to visit!

Yeah they have "The Good Life" in France lol

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honourable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1905.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: