Exploring Plage Petit l'Anse Beach For The First Time Ever in Toco!

in Pinmapple7 months ago

Found While Randomly Exploring!

SAB-3.jpg

We were exploring the eastern coastline of Toco in Trinidad that is considered to be a remote area of the island. We rarely venture in these parts as they are a little over a 2 hour drive away from anywhere well populated. Don't get me wrong a lot of people do live here but is considered remote! While driving around to see what hidden gems we could find, we encountered a opening on the coastline where a mini beach was literally just at the roadside! I found out later that this was called Plage Petit l'Anse!

SAB-2.jpg

SAB.jpg

The long solitary Toco Road takes you through winding densely forested areas along the eastern coastline with nucleated and linear settlements here and there. There were a lot of fruit stalls along the way selling amazing fruits that were in season that would only be available on this side of the island! I always love indulging!

SAB-32.jpg

While driving along, bright orange rock formations peaked through the trees and caught my eyes sharply! Immediately as the car passed along, a small opening in the coastline trees presented itself and I hurriedly pulled over as I knew immediately that this was something I could not pass up at all!

SAB-34.jpg

SAB-31.jpg

The scene we first saw was like something out of a postcard! There were coastal rock formations everywhere that seemed to be a beautiful bright orange with fringes of green on their tops. The waves were rough yet beautifully colored with hues of green, blue and turquoise that landed on a clean sandy shore that seemed to be the same vibrant colors of the rocks! There were some people who stopped off as well with their car that you can see in the above shots. I asked them if they knew what this little beach was called and they knew not!

SAB-27.jpg

SAB-30.jpg

This is what the left side view looked like with more beach space that did not go far. There were more orange rocks this way as well but much smaller in size! I could not wait to send up the drone to see what I could find but first I decided to walk a little bit to see what we missed before we pulled the car over.

SAB-36.jpg

Walking back from the way we came, there were some almond trees, a lot of which you see at the beach in Trinidad but this one had orange bark on the tree trunk much like the rocks as well! How Peculiar!

SAB-39.jpg

SAB-40.jpg

SAB-41.jpg

I got to a bridge where the beach itself ended with and outcrop of rock and there was a river flowing out into the ocean itself. I stopped for a moment to take it all in when I heard people laughing and talking when I looked down, I saw three women bathing in the river and enjoying the vibes as you can see in the photo above! It was such a peaceful scene!

SAB-25.jpg

I was itching to send up the drone as I really wanted to aerially explore this new found location to see what hidden gems I could find! I walked back to the car and finally launched the drone and I was not at all disappointed! The colors were even more vibrant from above, not to mention I could see through the waters to rocks below the waves!

SAB-4.jpg

The ocean on this side of the island is immensely different from the other parts. The water has a whole different quality and look. It seems to be more alluringly beautiful! I don't know how to explain it but if you've been following along with our adventures on here, you would probably be able to see a difference in the waters.

SAB-6.jpg

I flew around SPlage Petit l'Anse itself first, going a bit further out to see how it looked from a wider angled view. There were little islets of rocks all over, some forming an archipelago of sorts with the coastline.

SAB-8.jpg

SAB-11.jpg

SAB-7.jpg

SAB-12.jpg

I could not get enough of the rock formations themselves, that seemed to be left over from years of waves eroding the coastline leaving the rock exposed. I loved that you could see the layers and many different textures that added to the beauty of it all! The undulating hills with Toco Road flowing along it complemented the scenes amazingly and I was not at all disappointed with sending up the drone!

SAB-10.jpg

Before coming back to land, I decided to explore the other side of the coastline and there were some interesting things that peaked my curiosity!

SAB-9.jpg

SAB-13.jpg

There was this large compound that had large retaining walls just at the coastline with huge staircases that allowed them access to the a really small beach area that had beautiful waters and rocks! It seemed to be a beach house of sorts and I could just imagine the views they get especially at sunset!

SAB-14.jpg

SAB-19.jpg

SAB-16.jpg

SAB-18.jpg

SAB-15.jpg

SAB-20.jpg

Just next to that was this large islet or what remained of it that looked so beautiful to me! I just loved how it looked much like a cresting wave itself amidst the actually waves! The rock itself curved as well as a tree on top of it and it really did look like the rip curl of a wave as you can see above! I took some shots of it from the the sides then the breathtaking top down shot you see above!

SAB-21.jpg

It was at this point that my battery started running out and I hurried back. I just love exploring and finding new unseen gems like these places. The spontaneity of it all just makes it all the more rewarding and worth it! I was glad to be able to document the location on ground as well as from the air and I especially loved that rock that looked like the huge wave! Thanks a lot for coming along! Cheers!

Sort:  

Wow - what a place. I just love your pictures - it looks so stunning there. Especially how green and lush the forest is - quite amazing !
!PIZZA
!BBH

@lemniscate! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (1/1)

Thank you so much, glad you liked it!

Wow, top photographs as always. This place is amazing. Thanks for sharing 😊

I just love these random finds, so glad you liked it, thank you!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2009.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Awesome, thank you!

Such a stunning place! You have captured it really well with the drone! And I really love those palm trees 🌴

So glad you liked it, thanks so much, random exploration always yields the best hidden gems!

Exactly! And it is a surprise what you are gonna encounter. When you go to that pretty place like you saw on the internet, it isn't so much of a surprise anymore

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!