Visiting my online friend in Cologne for the first time

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hi folks!

During my last winter break, I spent about 10 days in Germany and about a week in Cologne as I have a friend there. It's funny that I had never met that friend before visiting her in Germany. A mutual friend of the two of us in Vietnam introduced us to each other as we are both overseas students.

At first, I only planned to have a short trip, and I contacted her to ask for some recommendations. However, she was so kind that she invited me to stay at her house in Cologne right away. I was worried that I might disturb her vacation and she was just being polite , but her warm words had convinced me to go there. I'm happy that I went on that trip because we have become best friends after my stay in Germany.
I took a 7-hour train to Cologne and met my friend at the station. She welcomed me with a cup of warm milk tea, which I really love, and showed me around the city.

Cologne is an old city that is located on the Rhine river of western Germany. The city used to be built as a Roman provincial capital, that's why most of the city's attractions are Roman remains (retrieved from https://www.planetware.com/tourist-attractions-/cologne-d-nw-col.htm).
RNI-Films-IMG-B7434C22-29F1-4648-A5E8-099A0B44E8AD.JPG
This is the Hohenzollern Bridge and the Cologne Cathedral on the Rhine river. These are two of the most iconic architecture in Cologne. Besides, the cathedral is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site (retrieved from https://www.aesu.com/aesu-world-travel/the-history-of-cologne-cathedral/). The cathedral is located right next to the train station, which makes it very convenient to visit.
IMG_5149.JPG
IMG_8898.PNG
Hohenzollern is also called "Cologne's Love Locks bridge" as the bridge is full of padlocks from couples. It is estimated that there are more than 340,000 of padlocks are currently on this 409m-long bridge, and these padlocks have added more than 15 tons of weight to the bridge (retrieved from http://www.lovelockbridge.cologne/index.html ).
If you go to Cologne on Christmas, you can also join in a Christmas market near the cathedral. In fact, Cologne's Christmas market is one of the most magical markets in Europe (retrieved from https://www.eurostar.com/rw-en/city-breaks/christmas-markets/cologne).

DFECD459-EECE-440D-BF80-5E71D7FB2E88.jpeg
Food that we had in the Christmas market. I wish I had more photos to share but I was so tired on that day that I didn't take many.

We also had a day trip to Monschau - a small village near Cologne.

RNI-Films-IMG-B0EBB241-714C-4167-90C8-27652B00DC00.JPG
Pretty and tranquill Monschau in the early morning. The town is packed with old vibrant timber houses.
462DD1EB-827B-4221-99DD-383C9EE9469B.jpg
The scenery and morning sunlight was a perfect combination. It looks like a movie's scene.

image.png
A Christmas vibe pic taken in front of the famous Rotes Haus in Monschau. This used to be the house of a wealthy local in Monschau, and it is famous for its history and interior (retrieved from https://rotes-haus-monschau.de/en/frontpage/).
Normally, it is supposed to take 5 hour to fully discover the village. However, as the weather was freezing, we gave up and came home after about 2 hours and a half. We tried to warm up with some hot drinks but it didn't help much. I'll definitely revisit this place in a warmer season to finish the trail.

Although I stayed at my friend's house for almost a week, we didn't go out much. We wanted to spend time relaxing instead of having a jam-packed trip, plus most of the stores closed during Christmas time. We spent time at home cooking and watching TV shows together. Sometimes, we went out for a little walk after having a big meal.

IMG_8896.PNG
A cute photo taken in the neighbourhood while we were walking.

IMG_8897.PNG
A gorgeous sunrise sky was captured while we were waiting for the bus.

I was so sad when I had to come back home. This is one of the greatest trips that I've ever had. The scenery wasn't the most stunning I've seen, but I have a new best friend and we had a great time together. We share many common things in interest as well as personality. It's great to have a friend while being far from home.

That's all for today.
Thank you and see you next time.

Sort:  

Thanks for the little tour to Cologne,em. The bridge is out of the world, and you captured it so well. :)

Thank you, chị. Cầu xịn lắm ạ, có cả đường cho tàu lửa chạy luôn.

Awe nghe thích quá bé ơi ;) Có cơ hội c phải lf 1 chuyến châu âu dài ngày quá. Bên đó cảnh nên tình quá, plus bé chụp hình nhìn như trong film luôn 🤩

Dạ em cám ơn chị hihi. Hi vọng tụi mình có cơ hội gặp nhau ở châu Âu nhe chị ơi!

Dayum, it's quite like a dream of mine to visit my Online homie someday. You're Lucky to have this popular and looks like you had a really Good time.

Happy for you and those are Amazing clicks!

Beautiful Memories is something always stays with us. Wish you a Great day ahead and have fun!

Thank you for your compliments!
My friend's hospitality really encourages me to meet her in person. I believe that you will have a great meeting with your online friends someday.

My pleasure.

More respect to your friend. Thank you really hope so will have a chance!

Wish you a wonderful day ahead!

I thought the love Lock is in Paris

Yes, it is. There is also a love lock bridge in Pont des Arts Paris. I guess that couples want to have locks on solid and beautiful bridges.
Thank you for reading my post💖

I hope I can travel there and have fun and also enjoy myself to the fullest. I know yours was fun

I believe you will someday. Thank you for reading my post!

So pretty place and good shots as well..
😊

I'm glad you like them 💖.

Thanks for touring us at Cologne. This is such a wonderful place to visit. The love padlocks are numerous and they're so nice to see.

Thank you for your compliments!

You are welcome. I love your photos as well.

wonderful indeed

It might be an old place but it's incredibly beautiful

Yes, I always love ancient towns/ cities than modern ones. Their vintage vibes are just amazing.

Travel is truly a way of learning and seeing the world from another view ... The photo from the neighborhood is truly cute

We didn't get a chance to see your best friend, would have been awesome to meet someone with a heart of gold... content's great, say hi to her 💯

Thanks a lot!
I will introduce my friend in future posts.

Really look forward to that post... Give me a tag if possible and I'll do my best to be looking you up too ✌️❤️

Sure, I'll do once I post it.

I quest you must have really enjoy yourself

Yes, I did. That was a great winter break.

Cologne is a beautiful place as I can see in your shots😁😊. You took nice views of it,and you are looking good too.

Aw, I'm glad to hear that. Thank you for your kind words!

You are welcome dear😊

Hope you have passing a great day. All place are so beautiful and you're a good photographer 🥰

Thank you! I'm happy that you like my pics💖

Most welcome. Have a great day ❣️

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @lemonde.demi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!