Walking in the Footsteps of my Ancestors - The Scottish Highlands

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

The story goes that great great grandpa Saunders emigrated from Scotland with the 1820 Settlers as an eligible bachelor.
It wasn’t a wee Scottish lassie that caught his eye though; this dapper Scottish lad married a fraaien Kaaps-Hollandse meisje. Neither could speak the other’s language, so it must have been love at first sight, and here I am living proof that this union indeed lasted.

So it comes as no surprise that I get goose-bumps each time I hear the shrill wailing sound of the Scottish Bagpipes, and that one of my all-time favourite movies is Braveheart, the true story of William Wallace.

I think you know by now where I'll be heading for the Pinmapple "If I had $1000 Contest"?

Road Tripping the Magnificent Scottish Highlands

Duncansby Head.jpg
Duncansby Head
Image by M W from Pixabay

Careful Route Planning was used for my "If I had $1000 Contest" trip, and this is where Granny Google's Maps and TripAdvisor came in real handy.
Final Map route.JPG
Google Map Directions tells me this will take 6hr 33 min non-stop, but I plan on having quite a number of overnight stops along the way; wanting to see, smell and touch the earth where my ancestors once lived.

INVERNESS
inverness2063723_1920.jpg
Image by Bill Kasman from Pixabay

The first leg of my journey will be a sponsored flight from South Africa to the beautiful garden city of Inverness on the North-East coast where the River Ness flows into the Moray Firth; dolphins are often spotted swimming through these waters.

It will take careful planning to stretch the $1000 for my intended travels, but it can be done; I will beg and borrow till I'm blue in the face for that initial flight from my home country ;)

I will spend a day or two exploring the historic city of Inverness, the cultural capital of the Scottish Highlands.

Inverness castle.jpg
Image by Ali Bain from Flicr

There will be plenty of fascinating history to take in; from the 19th-century Inverness Cathedral also known as the Cathedral Church of Saint Andrew; the Inverness Castle overlooking the River Ness which was originally built as a prison; a Museum and Art Gallery that traces local history and an indoor Victorian food and craft Market which sounds like a good place to get a taste of real Scottish fare.

SLOW JACOBITE BOAT RIDE ON THE CALEDONIAN CANAL
inverness640590_1920.jpg
Image by Graham Lowe from Pixabay

Next on the itinerary will be a slow boat ride on the Jacobite, cruising the Caledonian Canal from Dochgarroch Lock to Loch Ness, where I will have the opportunity to hop off and see the striking ruins of the once magnificent Urquhart Castle with gorgeous views of Loch Ness.

This 60km canal connects the Scottish east coast at Inverness with the west coast at Corpach and what makes it really unique, is that only a third of the canal is man-made, the rest is formed by Loch Dochfour, Loch Ness, Loch Oich, and Loch Lochy, all located in the Great Glen which is on a geological fault in the Earth's crust.

Who knows, I may just spot Nessie the Loch Ness monster when we cross the misty waters of Loch Ness?

LOCH NESS
lochness397148_1920.jpg
Image by Graham Lowe from Pixabay

Besides possibly getting a glimpse of the friendly monster Nessie, there is much else to see in Loch Ness; from the castle to stunning countryside and wildlife as well.

URQUHART CASTLE
Urquhart Castle.jpg
Image by Chorengel from Pixabay

One can just imagine how impressive the Urquhart Castle must have been in its heyday, plus it sits on the perfect location!

The castle that is now in ruins, is steeped in history and still looks striking sitting on a rocky promontory overlooking the mysterious and iconic Loch Ness and scenic countryside.

This medieval fortress formed the frontier of many clan wars and changed hands several times during the Wars of Independence until 1308 when Robert the Bruce claimed it back for Scotland; but came to its final demise during the seventeenth century when British forces blew it up so that it could not be used as a stronghold by the Jacobite rebels.

Were any of my ancestors involved in any of these battles, I wonder?

Climbing up the Grant Tower rewards one with a wonderful view of Loch Ness, Scotland’s second largest and deepest loch.

urquhartcastle2 4491287_1920.jpg
Image by milesz from Pixabay

EILEAN DONAN CASTLE
Eilean donan 2.jpg
Image by Steen Jepsen from Pixabay

To see the Scottish Highlands right and proper, I will hire a Camper Van which will help with my budget as it will provide accommodation at the same time.
Wild camping is perfectly legal in Scotland, but there are many parks along the way.

I will see much more of the Scottish Highlands traveling like this, and will take the scenic route to Eilean Donan Castle, one of the most beautiful castles in Scotland.

This castle sits on an island where three great lochs converge; Loch Alsh, Loch Duich and Loch Long; creating a truly magical scene.

Eilean Donan originally was used as a religious retreat before being used by local lairds to protect their lands from the Vikings.
I wonder what it looked like in it glory days and also wonder about the people who lived there; life was lived at a much slower pace, but history tells us there were many battles fought here as well.

In an attempt to quell the Jacobite rising, British troops bombarded the castle. The rebel forces had the support of over 300 Spanish troops but after three days of blasting, the Spaniards surrendered. The Royal Navy destroyed Eilean Donan by lighting the 343 barrels of gunpowder hoarded inside.

The ghost of a Spanish soldier has been seen in the rooms of the castle, believed to be a soldier killed in a battle at the castle!

Restoration of Eilean Donan to her former glory began in 1911 by a new owner, Major John Macrae-Gilstrap. An arched bridge was constructed across the loch, making access easier as it previously was only accessible by boat, and Eilean Donan Castle reopened her doors to visitors in 1932.

eileandonancastle972360_1920.jpg
Image by misterfarmer from Pixabay

TORRIDON HILLS
Torridon Hills lostplaces2323282_1920.jpg
Image by Olle August from Pixabay

Torridon Hills will be my next stopover for the night - definitely was not camping anywhere near Eilean Donan in case I bump into the Spanish soldier;)

The wilderness around Torridon is classified as a Bortle 1 or 2 location meaning this is amongst the darkest locations on earth therefore amazing views of the Milky Way and the stars are possible.

If I manage to stretch my budget by saving on accommodation and meals, I would love to book a stargazing experience at The Torridon with an astronomer as a guide; otherwise I would have to be satisfied with my own stargazing experience, hopefully see a falling star so I could make a wish upon a star!!

Torridon hills 2 fog2319513_1920.jpg
Image by Olle August from Pixabay

DUNCANSBY HEAD
Duncansby Head 2scotland2658365_1920.jpg
Image by Greg Montani from Pixabay

The final leg of my trip will be a very long but stunning drive through the Scottish Highlands, ending on the rugged Scottish east coast all the way up to John O'Groats and Duncansby Head, Caithness in the north.

This area has magnificent scenery so it’s no wonder that it has been the location for movies and television shows, one of them the popular TV series Outlander.

Duncansby Head is the most North-Easterly point of both the mainland of Scotland and the island of Great Britain; it is slightly North-East of John O’ Groats, with many rock formations and small islands dotting the North Sea. This all provides sensational scenery, with the best views seen from the Duncansby Lighthouse.

duncansby lighthouse43404323071_2b318b0f99_c.jpg
Image by 802701 from Flickr

Duncansby 328099439726_e41acc88b8_c.jpg
Image by Dave Durie from Flickr

duncansby head 4 47937424383_b7f74b63b2_c.jpg
Image by James Stringer from Flickr

My amazing journey to the Scottish Highlands will end at this magical place as I will certainly have broken the budget by now, but will be richer having walked this wondrous land of my ancestors.

Piper Dunnotar castle.jpg
Scottish Piper at Dunnottar Castle
Image by Floyd from Flickr

Heart page break.png

A Scottish Hiver who is quite the adventurer, @natubat; kept coming to mind as she would have been the best person to ask about the very best spots in the Scottish Highlands but @natubat mostly pinned blogs of her mountain climbing; I'm certainly no mountaineer being on the wrong side of the big six 0!

I had lost contact with this brave mountaineer and was so happy to see her post A prickly adventure in the Campsies pinned on Pinmapple, a Moorland walk near Glasgow.

I was looking at traveling part of this route starting at Edinburgh up to Inverness, but the call of the western Highlands was stronger, so who knows, maybe that's where my ancestors are from?

Take a peek at @natubat's own Personal Profile Map on Pinmapple and see the stunning walks and mountain climbing this lady has done in her beloved Scotland.
Natubat.JPG
@natubat's Personal Profile Map


History & Travel resources:


Pinmapple 1000.gif

Post your travel blog directly to Hive and Pinmapple on the awesome
HaveYouBeenHere Mobile App

Pin your Hive travel blog on Pinmapple

Pinmapple is currently running a 2000 Hive contest to celebrate reaching 1000 Travel Digests

"This is my entry to the Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest"

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Why not join Hive RIGHT HERE and become part of this amazing community!

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

Wow, @lizelle! What trip. Scotland is on my bucket list. I am a descendant of the Urquharts and long to visit the castle in person. Thanks for sharing the dream!

Wow @cecicastor, that's amazing that you know exactly where your ancestors lived, you'll be able to tell a story or two I'm sure!
No wonder you're so brave still living in Nicaragua under such difficult conditions AND that you're the one keeping things together in the compound!
Thank you so much for your input, I find it really fascinating!

The Duncansby Head is really amazing and Inverness city is pretty charming. Your post is really inspiring me to visit The Scottish Highlands.

!tan - Please help me tip @lizelle.


Congratulations, @andyjim You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @lizelle.
You Utilized 2/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 0.250 HIVE

Awe thank you so much for the tip @andyjim, I'm really keen to get there in person as well, definitely on my bucket list!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for the exciting contest @pinmapple!

Oh wow, what a pick! Good job! My cousins visited Scotland the past year and I recognize some of the pictures attached from their trip. Definitely going on my bucket list!

Thank you for traveling with me @gabrielatravels, Scotland’s on my bucket list for sure, but I'd like to add the route from Edinburgh through Loch Lomond and Glencoe as well;)

Ohhhhh what an amazing entry!
You really brought the destination to us. It didn't cross my mind to choose Scotland for my entry, but hey after reading and looking at your article I am asking can I change my mind :)

Good job, thanks for sharing!

I was quite stumped about whether it should be an island like the Seychelles where you went or the Greek Isles as I love the ocean but then Scotland called, now I have to make a plan and go there for real! Thoroughly enjoyed this challenge, thanks for visiting Scotland with me @crazy-andy;)

The feeling I get when thinking about camping in the Scottish countryside. I have to add this to my bucket list of travel destinations.

It's so interesting to imagine your ancestors in the old country and how they lived and what their life was like. I hope you get there soon.

I was quite surprised to learn one can camp in the wild, I'm really keen to go to Bonnie Scotland now and take in all the historical sites and the natural beauty! Historical TV series is my favourite genre.
Thanks for visiting my friend!

So you got a bit of Scottish blood in you! Welcome on board 1/4 Brit!!!

Scotland is a lovely place, I did a tour a few years ago but not as far up north as your planned trip. I might steal your route since you've done all the planning already 😄

Lucky you, it's more within your reach not so! Definitely one for my bucket list, I have a Scottish SA friend somewhere there as well, but we lost contact, will make sure I find her if I get up there!
Thank you for traveling along;);)

Them Scott's are easy to spot in the UK. Brits are pretty tough to understand until you've been around'em for awhile. Scott's, however, they're just pretty tough to understand.

Good luck with your travel bucket list Lizelle.

Thanks @dandays, I have some real good Scottish friends, my favourite people actually, but then they're South African Scots, full of mischief I tell you;)
I do hope to visit there one of these days.

I have been to a few of these places inc. Eilean Donan (where Highlander was filmed). Urquhart is now a ruin, with one tower that you can climb.

IMG_2499.JPG

Don't forget this one, I think you may go past it on your trip.

Thank you for sharing this one, Castle Stalker? Would have been a tad off my route but I'd definitely go down that way if I ever get the opportunity to visit Scotland.
Ain't you lucky being able to visit all these ancient castles, many sadly in ruins but I really find it fascinating imagining what life must have been like back then! Quite turbulent at times not so.

This would such a spectacular trip it would be worth every dollar to see all them amazing sites what a beautiful lovely green country i have always wanted to visit Scotland myself ☺️Good luck hope you win it 👍

Thank you @bigsambucca, I'm just happy to have had the opportunity of dreaming, hopefully get there one day;)

Wishing you all the luck that you do make it there some day ☺️


Congratulations @lizelle, You Earned 1.676 TAN & Curators Made 1.676 TAN.

tangent.token


Join CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Trade TANGENT Token
TAN Current Market Price : 0.300 HIVE

What a great entry! In 2019 my siblings and I went on a family heritage tour of England and Scotland. I would love to go back to both and spend more time. You outline of Scotland looks great!