Travel Advice : Going Out During Covid-19 & some questions

in Pinmapple3 years ago

image.png

Line_Break2.png

Going out is a real luxury these days. Some countries enforce stricter lockdown where its citizen can't even sit at a coffee shop. However, some countries have more lax restrictions like Indonesia.

It is very fortunate for those who live in the suburb or outside of the city. There are more scenic attractions than in the city. Unfortunately, I always live an urban life. If anything, the attraction for me growing up is shopping malls, cafes, and restaurants. So since going back home, it's what I do. I visit a coffee shop at least once a week or more when someone tagged me along.

While going out, I feel a sense of dread and anxiety. " What if I randomly catch the virus?". I get even more paranoid when I visited the market last week: no social distancing, no mask, nothing. When I sit at the coffee shop, I wonder why people act as if nothing is happening.

How can I go out while ensuring my safety?

I take everything to the extremes, and I want to share my tips and things I do whenever I go out.

Line_Break2.png

First and foremost, Bring hand sanitizer.

Everywhere you go, bring hand sanitizer. Generally, there will be a free hand sanitizer, and you are required to wash your hands before entering an establishment. But, please don't share anything with other people. I always bring a spray hand sanitizer even before this pandemic. So this never an issue for me. However, I still see people who are careless about this.

Never touch a handle with your bare hands.

Even better, use alcohol wipes. I use alcohol wipes for any surface that I will use or touch in the coffee shop. Cleaning a surface is something new in my routine. In the past, I am not as paranoid as this, but due to the virus situation, my paranoid meter is increasing 10x.

Bring your utensils if possible.

Not only that you reduce waste, but you'll also thank yourself for avoiding unclean utensils. I generally don't trust the way restaurants clean their dishes. It's my personal preference and something I often practice.

Even if you have the luxury of going out, be mindful.

Though I can go out every day, it doesn't mean I will do that. I still go out at max twice a week. After going out, I quarantine myself and eating healthier.

Keep up with vitamins, eating a balanced meal, exercise.

Stay home when you feel sick, do not go out. Take your vitamins if needed, eat a healthy and balanced meal, don't forget to exercise. For me, I keep up with my vitamins and my meal. As I was regularly falling sick due to changing places and it concerned me. But now, I seem to be recovering fairly well and can go out more.

Avoid paying with cash.

If you can, always do e-transfers. I know that this perhaps applies in more advanced places, but it's a common practice where I live. Security-wise, cash is better. If you care about your security, always pay with the exact amount. If you receive a change, make sure to stash them away and clean them before touching them.

Finally, follow the guidelines and keep up to date with the covid information in the area.

Before visiting a place, make sure to research the covid situation, what needs to be done, and the curfew rules. Some places are more packed than others. I always research the place beforehand and making sure it is not where a crowd gathers without wearing a mask.

Line_Break2.png

covid.jpgcoviddd.jpg

I thought about writing this as I headed back home from the cafe I wrote about earlier. I love visiting the place because it is calm, and the coffee is decent. It fits my budget too.

On that cold dark evening, I thought about the people in the cafe I met that are not wearing a mask. Most of them are younger than me or in their 20's like me. Covid knows no age, but just because they are younger, they think they have an immunity to this virus. I heard horror stories of those with complications. I know a close relative that got the virus last year. I think at least one of us knows someone who got the virus. My mom keeps reminding me about the severity of this virus to older people and people with pre-existing conditions. In the family, my mom and ray are the ones who go out regularly. My mom goes out for work purposes while ray, he likes to go out. Thankfully, ray lives in the extended house away from our living quarters. He's an example of a prideful young man who doesn't care about the virus and has been fed with the idea that the virus is only a conspiracy theory. It's hard to talk to him about this, but we always remind him to wash his hands each time he goes out.

Finally, I don't know if we can travel like we used to. I am curious, and I have some questions:

  • Will you take the vaccine so you can travel?
  • How do you travel these days?
  • Do you have any safety measures or practices?

Let me know the answer in the comment section!

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, Mac enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
Sort:  

If I can't travel without the vaccine I'll take it. No cases in Australia. How many cases in your country?

Aloe Vera and tea tree a better sanitizer than an alcohol based one.

It's pretty high here. I would say it keeps increasing day by day as there is no strict lockdown imposed and the govt is unable to contain the virus. I also have aloe Vera based sanitizer and loads of alcohol but for drinks 🤣 at some point, I was wondering if hand sanitizer was out of stock, I can always use some vodka to wash my hands.

Ha cunning plan. I accidentally bought a cheap bottle for tinctures that didn't have as high alcohol content as I would have liked, but it's good for the apocalypse. Sorry things are out of control there. No wonder you are extra cautious.. I would be!

Posted using Dapplr

You can make it with rubbing alcohol and aloe gel! That's what my current bottle of hand sanitizer is, homemade.

I don't go out very much but when I do, I walk past cafes and restaurants that are just PACKED full of people and I'm thinking, this is why we're in a second wave, people!!! I mean, I don't begrudge a few people sitting at outside tables on a nice day or whatever, that's probably safer, but right now in my state the cases are high and everyone is acting like it's fine. And a lot of restaurants have made "outside" seating by essentially building an enclosed porch (because it's winter here), but like - that's not "outside" anymore in terms of air flow. It's just exploiting a loophole and not actually being safer at all.
A couple of weeks ago I walked by a popular restaurant that had its usual crowd of people outside waiting for tables - maybe 20-30 people, all together, nobody with masks on. I just cringed.