Kastro, the oldest village on Thasos Island, Greece

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

Hello travelers!

Recently, I was in Greece but I didnt have the chance to share with you some of the beautiful places I've seen.

So today I thought to write about Kastro, this place where we all (me, hubby and our friends) felt like home. There is a tavern we felt in love with but more important, we felt in love with these people. They are so heart warming and very very friendly! Actually, we exchanged numbers and who knows, maybe someday we'll meet again. 💚


ABOUT KASTRO


20220522_173221_05.jpg


I'll start with this paragraph written on a flyer, to describe this place in a few words.

Kastro is the oldest settlement on the island and is located 10 km north of Limenaria. (Limenaria is the second biggest town here, located S-W of Thasos)

It is located at an altitude of 500m and is not distinguished from the lowlands. It was named after the ruins of the castle thats exists there, whose wall was build in 1403.

In the village, you can find the church of Saint Athanassios which was built in the 15th century, in 40 days, with the permission of the Sultan. It's worth mentioning Kastro was designed as a historic monument in 1880. The road of Kastro is good asphalt and it is only 10 minutes driving from Limenaria.

Here's the flayer we received at the taverna.


We came here by car, from Limenaria.


cats.jpg


It is a beautiful road, mostly goes through forests and high hills. We have rented a buggy car for all the roads we did on the island. Not that the roads are bad, but because we wanted to. Here are some photos takes on the road, from the car. Cause we didnt stop.


20220522_145910.jpg


First time you arrive Kastro, you'll see the tavern. Plus, here you'll get all the informations you need. And from this point, the main objectives are just a few minutes away.

I loved especially the vibe of this old village, the old buildings and the remainings of them... Also I enjoyed the view ! 💙

KASTRO means THE CASTLE!

20220522_175455.jpg

20220522_174421.jpg

20220522_164256.jpg


The old village is mostly paved with stone, also the buildings (the houses) are also from stone and rocks.. It has that specific structure that many mountain villages have.

Being built up on a stony flat at Thassos' mountainous heart and surrounded by deep ravines and gorges, the Castle (KASTRO) preserves many signs of the past, medieval erections and vestiges of Gattilusie of the Genoa dynasty. Throughout the centuries, the settlement moved through periods of glamour and decline but remained however an everlasting place of secrets and miracles, a cradle of culture and harmonic coexistence of man and nature. [source]

We took a walk, but we couldn't see it all because the little one got tired and for first time in my life, I forgot my SSC at home (baby carrier). And the stroller didnt have enough space in the car so...we did what we could in this situation.



20220522_173128.jpg

20220522_174334.jpg

20220522_173052.jpg


A little bit of History


The village is pretty much in the middle of the island.

The village is built at an altitude of 450 m. above sea level, and because it is nestled in the mountains, it cannot be seen from the coast. This was a deliberate policy in the past and throughout the ages, to help protect villages and their residents from being despoiled and pillaged by pirates in the Mediterranean.

It’s name derived from the ruins of a castle that once stood there. Jacob Gatelluzzi, a Genoan to whom Byzantine Emperor Emanuel II Palaiologus gave both of the North Aegean islands of Thassos and Lesvos to in 1414, built the castle on the mountaintop at which the village is found today. The Gattilussi family ruled Thassos for 40 years. Evidence of this can be found on three plaques on a wall of the Church of St. Athanasios.

The village was deserted for very many years. The original residents had abandoned the village in order to work at the island’s coast. Many of them went to the flatter areas where they were able to cultivate their land, and take care of and benefit from their olive trees. Others went to work in the mines near Limenaria, to excavate the minerals on behalf of the Speidel Company. This work of course generated better income for them, and that led to a better standard of living for them than what they had previously been able to have in the village.

All of the above you can find it here, on the official website go-thassos.gr. [source]

20220522_180924.jpg

20220522_172920.jpg


20220522_173221_01.jpg

20220522_173221_02.jpg


20220522_180938.jpg

20220522_181100.jpg


20220522_155153.jpg

20220522_155231.jpg


So after you pass after the tavern, there comes an unpaved road, from which you can continue straight to the old village of Kastro or go visit the Greek Orthodox Saint Athanasios Church.

In the photo below, on the tree trunk, you can see a sign. The place is kind of small, don't worry, you won't get lost.


20220522_174346.jpg


This is where the road goes after you pass by the tavern.



Here are some photos of the Saint Athanasios Church taken from far away. I didnt go visiting inside cause like I said we were all a bit tired but our friends went and it was close that time anyways. Though I would have loved to take a few photos and see more closely its architecture:D Still the place itself it is. We loved it.

According to the source,

The Church of St. Athanasios is dated, according to its proprietary inscription, back to January 1804. Based on tradition, the church was constructed within forty days after the license was obtained by the Sultan. Since time was short and none could be lost, the whole village participated in its construction.

20220522_175332.jpg


20220522_175432_06.jpg


From this place right here, I got to see the best view. We spend a couple of good minutes here, enjoying this view, the place.

And my little one had a good time writting in the sand with a stick. So we stayed here until our friends went to see the Church.


20220522_174547.jpg

20220522_174753.jpg

20220522_175422.jpg

20220522_175356.jpg


20220522_175432_02.jpg

20220522_174647.jpg

20220522_175432_04.jpg


20220522_155541.jpg

20220522_174644.jpg

20220522_174357.jpg

20220522_174701.jpg



THE TAVERN in Kastro


Best food on the island! The owners of this tavern are very friendly and they run this business with such dedication that you can actually see this. You can tell from their tone, their look, their food and everything. It makes you feel it's all about people, which is the right thing to feel and actually be!

All the food was delicious!

Other than the food, there's no much to say about the place. They have a toilet, an inside area and of course a terrace outside. They are more than happy to answer your questions and maybe even recommends you some other nice places on the island.

They also offer some local products for sale. Ofc we bought everything we could.



20220528_154947.jpg

20220528_154938.jpg

20220522_164306.jpg

20220522_164238.jpg

The view is amazing from here. We really enjoyed our time to this tavern. ❤️


20220522_164144.jpg

20220528_154856.jpg

20220522_164148.jpg

Honey and Yoghurt!

The best on the island! They said this yoghurt is made of 50% cow's milk and 50% goat milk. The texture was extremely dense and creamy! Also they said they produce the honey, which honestly, it was very very tasty. We bought some to have at home as well and every time I have yoghurt and (this) honey, I remember the taste of this. hehe

20220522_170428.jpg

I don't remember the name of these, but they were vegetarian, rice based and dry herbs, wrapped in wine leaves.

20220528_150154.jpg

Zuckini Fritters with yoghurt

20220528_150225.jpg

Honey Lemonade

The best! 💛

20220522_162038.jpg

Pork Souvlaki

This was very very good. The meat was juicy and not elastic.
They said they marinate it for more than 18 hrs ahead, which is amazing, considering that most of the locals don't give a sh*t about anything.

20220522_164036.jpg

Mastika + some other Drink I don't remember what it was

These were offered from the house, with no charge. That was sweet of them!

20220522_164940.jpg

Tzatziki on Pita Bread

My favorite 💛


20220522_163053.jpg

Local Products

Honey, Olive Oil, Mastika, Lemon Drink, Dry Herbs.


20220522_171721.jpg

20220522_172016.jpg


Ok guys. This was it. I hope you have made yourself an idea about this place and what does it have to offer.

Personally, we liked it. There were a lot of tourists come and go and I had the chance to speak with a German couple. They said as well that the host is very friendly and that if they ever would go again to the island this would be the first place to re-visit. And this is the same for us.

Not to mention, we came here two times. 😁😍

Thank you for reading, everyone

I hope you enjoy seeing this place with me, through my post ❤️


20220522_173628.jpg

ALL PHOTOS ARE MINE AND ORIGINAL!

Sort:  

You've stirred my memories, @Missdeli! Wonderful place, I was there four years ago and probably had some sins because my camera broke then and I lost a lot of photos. I'm glad you put up so many pictures, it seems to be some kind of reward for me. Thanks!

We went to the same tavern too. Coffee, lemonade, and yogurt with honey and nuts. A pleasure!
I only stayed in Limenaria whenever I was in Thassos. There we ate at the most nonconformist and with the most usual food (but so tasty and fresh) of the locals, because the taverna was on the sidewalk in front of the house, in front of the kitchen where the whole family was cooking. I think it was called Sotiros. If you don't know it, I have an older post, I need to look up and send you. In case you still go to Limenaria.

I haven't been to Thassos since 2019, I hope to be able to get there in September but I'm afraid there might be restrictions because of Covid. The predictions are not good but I hope it doesn't come true.
Thanks again for the beautiful post, so well filled with such successful and evocative images. Our holiday in Thassos is threatened by several problems, not only Covid, but if we get there it will be because of you too!

Hello! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I was more than happy to read your nice comment, written by heart!

First of all, I'm sorry about the lost photos..ohh I can imagine how unpleaseant and frustrating can be.
I also lost all photos I've took in a year or so, somewhere in 2012. I cried every time I remembered.

I'm happy you enjoyed reading my post and taking a look to my photos.

I visited Limenaria a few times and eat there, at two different taverns. Its beautiful there. Sounds delicious the food at the tavern you ate. Unfortunately, this year I wont go back (though I would love to) but maybe in the next years sometime. There is a lot of Greek land to explore. We've been to Thassos twice, I think we're ok moving on and see other island. BuT, a BIG BUT Thassos is a diamond and we will be back one day, eventually.

And hopefully you'll be able to travel to Greece as you want too! I totally understand the situation, we have to go in Bulgaria (for the first time) in early September. I hope this will be possible at that time, cause yeah...dont know what to expect anymore with this virus.

And one last question, how is that
, why is because of me? Do you mean you wished to travel to Thassos and my post enpowered that wish of going?

The explanation is that I am in a dilemma. Whether to go to Thassos or to Balchik in Bulgaria. The desire is to go to Thassos but it would be wiser to go to Bulgaria.
After seeing your post from Kastro, the desire has grown to go there again. That's why I said it was because of you and you guessed correctly.

You will go to Bulgaria for the first time! I've been many times and loved it. Others are not so pleased. It matters where you go and especially what you want. I am curious to know your opinion. Until then, I wish you a nice holiday, @missdeli!

Ok:D:D

well, that's the place in Bulgaria we will go! How funny! I didnt even know the location exactly because our friends booked the whole trip and for the first time in my life I only said whatever you guys want. They are our friends and we go often in vacation together so it didn't really matter where are we going as we are together. So now when I searched the place that you mentioned I realized is the same place. So yeah, looking forwards to go, see how it is.

I'll definitely be back with a feedback. Hopefully we'll be able to go with the restrictions on the door...😒

Loading...

I liked your post, you took amazing photos 💙 greek islands are so beautiful 😍

Yes, they are heavenly beautiful!

Thank you for stopping by, appreciate the comment! 🤗

Wow, I really Enjoyed reading this, such a ❤️❤️beautiful and wonderful place

I'm glad you enjoyed it! ❤️

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you! AGAIN! 🙈💙

Looks incredible up on the hill with those views. I really like old stone homes like that. The yogurt and honey looks really creamy and delicious 😋

Hey hey! Thank you 😊😊 it was a good and pleasant walk, discovering this place (and food) 🤤 ! It was a bit hot for how I was dreseed and that was a bit feustrating 😁😅 but other than that It was nice!

Did you know that I have planned to write at least 2 posts in the last 3 days, since the last one? LOL ! Remember we have that recent 'exchanged comments" about time?...

Well...as days pass by, I wish it more to be real!....

Time, where are you? Please slow down 😥😭

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @qurator team and @ewkaw ! I'm happy you enjoyed my post! 🤗

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you @ecency! Appreciate all the support so far! 😊

Beautiful pictures. Loved the blog. I really like houses & walls made of stone in the mountains. :))

Thank you, I tried my best taking pictures haha. 😁😅

Yes, stone houses in the mountains are specific and very interesting and also like you,I always enjoy spending time in such places!

Thank you also for commneting! Appreciate it! 😊

So lovely photos!
I have never been there, even though I lived close for a couple of years. But it definitely on my list.
!LUV

Thanks! 😁🤗

Really? Where did you live, can I ask? You mean on the island or near Thassos? But yes, the place must be seen at least once if you're around. 🥰

Beautiful photos

Absolutely stunning... I would love to go to Greece. The buildings, the sea, the landscape . Just so beautiful.

I hear you huh! If I could, I would go back myself lol! 😅😅 I love Greece so much! I honestly see myself living there one day (or at least having a house to go for the summer)...😁

your post makes me wana go there too because I like historical places .it was a whole treat.ooohhh yeah I loved food pictures too because I am a foodie person.

Thank you very much for commenting and sharing your thoughts! I'm happy that you enjoyed seeing this place throung my photos!

If you're a foodie, than surely you would have loved the food there! 😁 saying no more but everything was delicious! 🤤🤤

Un lugar increíble... gracias por compartir.

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

Thank you for commenting!❤
Its been my pleasure to share, also I'll be sharing some more in the future! 😁

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1622.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hey there @livinguktaiwan ! I'm a bit late replying you all, its been a couple of crazy busy days.

But I do appreciate the mention and I'm glad you guys enjoyed my post. Thank you kindly for all the support you have given me (and others) so far.

wow, nice pictures,,

Thank you!

Chiar mă gândeam cât mai durează până ne încânți cu mai multe poze și povești din aventura voastră în Grecia 😁 Super locație!

Multumesc! Incet incet ma pun pe treaba 😁
Sper sa nu dureaze mult pana la urmatoarea:d
🤗