Travel Story: Reflections in Oświęcim

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

Heeeyho Readers! A post to reflect.


Long sigh. I close my eyes and try to remember that day... the computer is on, but I'm unable to unroll the words.

I hold these series of pictures as an emotional recollection from my 2018 winter bicycle tour across Europe. They are raw, unedited, unplanned. And they'll remain like so. It also never crossed my mind the world would go into flames, and that such images would need to see daylight to reinforce that we shall not let evil prevail — the main reason for posting them. Don't take this as a political-oriented post, but rather as a chance to reflect.

DSC_5608.JPG

Stop!


My body was unprepared after spending the previous day shivering with a 39°C fever. A severe sore throat made eating difficult, whereas a minor surgery in my index finger required care ― terrible conditions to wander around.

But… as the other adventures I had faced, there was nothing else to do other than start cycling and adapt along the way. No plans, no schedules, no accommodations arranged. Only a bicycle, a tent, cooking gear, and a map with Oświęcim pinned.

The EuroVelo 4 guided me westward alongside the Vistula river for the most part. The azure sky inspired me to continue. Progress was slow, painful, and soon I ran out of water. I finally reached Oświęcim the next day, after camping amid the bushes.

Oświęcim is a town in the Lesser Poland province of southern Poland, situated 50 kilometers west of Krakow, near the confluence of the Vistula and Soła rivers. The town is known internationally for being the site of the Auschwitz concentration camp during World War II.Wikipedia

I found shelter at this lovely hostel where I was the only guest. The owner, whose grandparents had lived in a Jewish ghetto back in the days, briefly explained their history and inspired me to visit the concentration camps. "A place to reflect," she said. "We preserve Auschwitz as testament of the past and to avoid committing the same mistakes in the future." I'd already planned to go the other day. So, I did.

Ghettos were often enclosed districts that isolated Jews by separating Jewish communities from the non-Jewish population and from other Jewish communities.Holocaust Encyclopedia

With camera in hands, I hoped once again on the bicycle and found my way through the city towards Auschwitz I.

DSC_5590.JPG

Crossing the Soła river on the way to Auschwitz I

I knew visiting Auschwitz would be reflective; a one-of-a-kind opportunity to see for my own eyes the results of vile acts of mankind. I didn't know, however, how powerful the energy would be.

DSC_5594.JPG

Arriving to Auschwitz I

A former World War I camp for transient workers and later a Polish army barracks, Auschwitz I was the main camp (Stammlager) and administrative headquarters of the camp complex. Around 1,000 m long and 400 m wide, Auschwitz consisted of 22 brick buildings, eight of them two-story.Wikipedia

DSC_5596.JPG

Entering Auschwitz I

I joined a guided group to better understand what happened there. The guide, a middle-aged woman of soft voice, walked us through the complex, explaining each building. At this point I was only taking external photos since what I saw inside was to powerful or mostly forbidden to photograph. Bear with me here, but I'll let the photographs speak for themselves.

Click the small images to enlarge.

DSC_5597.JPG

Auschwitz I

DSC_5601.JPG

DSC_5604.JPG

DSC_5602.JPG

Guards post

The first mass transport — of 728 Polish male political prisoners, including Catholic priests and Jews—arrived on 14 June 1940 from Tarnów, Poland. They were given serial numbers 31 to 758.Wikipedia

DSC_5609.JPG

DSC_5612.JPG

After visiting Auschwitz I the group hopped on a bus towards Auschwitz II-Birkenau. I was still trying to digest what I'd just seen while staring outside the window. When we got to our destination I immediately recognized the image I'd seen on history books and movies. I shivered.

DSC_5616.JPG

Auschwitz II-Birkenau

From this point onward I was unable to photograph. My throat dried and I contained myself as we entered the barracks. Our guide advised the group: "The buildings we are going to visit are not advisable for sensitive people." I won't go into details, but I hope you understand why I don't have pictures.

Back to the hostel, my host asked what were my takes from the visit. To this day, whenever I go through my photos to compose posts for this blog, I skip the Auschwitz folder. People ask me how that place feels like. Words don't come. It's a mix of anger with empathy. It's a repulse to the totalitarianism the central control of the economic power tends to produce. It's an anxiety to study as much as I can to be as self-critical as I can. That's the only way we can stop evil.

I hope this post doesn't disturb you. Let's reflect.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

Totally hear you on this man. I have the same issues with the Plaszow Concentration Camp (this one was right here in Krakow). Was there, took some photos but been still avoiding to post about it. I was in Oswiecim too, many years ago. These places are just so unbearably sad and depressive :(

Plaszow Concentration Camp

I didn't know about this one. Yeah man, what I found saddening was some people taking selfies and sporting a smiling face on the rails of Birkenau... they totally miss an opportunity to reflect.

Yeah, there was one (concentration camp) right in the city of Krakow too. Just a short walk from the Kazimierz (Jewish) District where we lived for most of the last year actually. Next to the site of the (former) Plaszow Concentration Camp, there is also this huge stone quarry where the prisoners used to work (in absolutely horrible conditions) and where the Spielberg´s epic war drama The Schindler´s List was filmed... I need to make myself to write this post too I guess. Thanks for the inspiration.

Sure do write. I chatted to a guy on the first day of my bicycle trip, a farmer, and noticed how Polish people are profoundly embittered. I don't blame them, because it might've been hell to escape the Nazis just to get in the hands of the Communists. It's a long story, a lovely one too; one day I tell you in person.

Well, after living in Poland for a year and half now, I definitely wouldn´t say that the Polish people are embittered. Maybe some, maybe the older generations. But definitely not the young Poles. These guys are positive, open minded, proud and confident. To be honest, I like the nature of the Polish people more than the nature of my own Czech nation... But yeah, I would like to hear that story, hopefully one day :)

maybe the older generations

This ^
the guy I chatted to said the same thing, that older generations are not yet used to modern free life, when most of their life was under fear.

Wow! Powerful! I hope one day I can see it for myself, although partly I feel like I do not want to do that.
Hopefully, going into your new book?

It's worth the visit, shocking, but worth it.

Hopefully, going into your new book?

Whaaaaaat? Not going for a second, no no no not even my mom read the first one.

Impressed by how you managed to go in there after the hard days you had behind you. What a sinister looking place, movies don't exaggerate... It's not hard to imagine what a shitty vibe was experienced by all those who were there.

Yah! When we see the movies it's horrifying, but it still feels "distant" somehow. It gets real when we step in those barracks and realize it's not fiction. Hard to describe.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1495.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yo, thanks @ybanezkim26. I'm gonna check the selection and give'em all some love.

Yo! Welcome bro!

Hi mrprofessor,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you @curie for the long-lasting support (4 years now, wow!)
A great day for the team too.

I remember something when I see or read about this place.

Hey, thanks for the comment.

What do you remember?

This place is among the most important places I've had the chance to visit.

What do you remember?

About the Jews.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @mrprofessor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!