Fethiye is a city founded by God Apollo himself... The fresh wind of my #TheLongestTrip

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

IMG_20230413_134730.jpg

There used to be a mighty ancient city of Telmessos here. I climbed the hill above the city of Fethiye, where the ancient tombs of the Lycian civilization could be seen in the rock... and looked with admiration into the valley, where ancient ruins rose against the sea...

IMG_20230413_130216.jpg

IMG_20230413_130000.jpg

In my last post, I wrote about the fact that we went on a cruise along the west coast of Turkey to visit several, in my opinion, very interesting cities that contain beautiful beaches and ancient sites. I called this cruise a breath of fresh air in my #TheLongestTrip. That is why my activity has decreased now. For the first time in my life, I decided to take such a step in the development of my driving, to go on a long trip between cities in a rented car. I covered 816 km and stopped in four cities for one night to explore some of the most interesting places. I am currently staying in the city of Cesme, and in two weeks I will make a return trip to Kemer. So, today my story is about the small seaside town of Fethiye, which has an interesting old town and a colorful market in it.

IMG_20230411_234155.jpg

IMG_20230413_130102.jpg

It is from this mountain, where there are famous Lycian tombs, about which I will write later, that there are beautiful views of the city of Fethiye, which is located in the southwestern part of the country, at the intersection of the Mediterranean and Aegean seas. We took a walk on the mountain, enjoying beautiful views of the city, and here you can experience this beauty on video. A cute green-eyed cat put me in a positive mood on this rainy day. And we went in search of the old part of the city to explore its exclusivity.

IMG_20230412_232615.jpg

IMG_20230411_233850_420.jpg

Fethiye is a city with a rich history. We drove into this city for a few hours and the first thing we encountered was the parking problem, of course! Therefore, we left our car on a cozy street far from the center and walked to the embankment.

IMG_20230413_130314.jpg

IMG_20230413_022435.jpg

IMG_20230413_022122.jpg

Walking through the old narrow streets, you can see the remnants of a bygone era. The houses in Fethiye are a fine example of traditional Turkish architecture. Two-story houses with wooden loggias on the second floor are characteristic of the ancient cities of Turkey. A friend shared the following information with me: land was very expensive, so loggias were built on the second floor to increase the area of ​​\u200b\u200bhousing, which does not need to be taxed. Loggias are a shaded space, but at the same time you can sit there as if outside. And they also give houses an elegant and characteristic look.

IMG_20230412_232635.jpg

IMG_20230412_232704.jpg

Colorful Turkish dresses and carpets against the background of an old yellow house - this is how I remembered Fethiye.

IMG_20230413_130328.jpg

The first view of the old town is whitewashed houses with blue shutters and a cute girl with two buckets walking up the stairs. To the right was a small artificial pond where ducks were sitting on a boat. There is a cafe near the reservoir and it is very pleasant to sit here, enjoying the coolness of the water.

IMG_20230412_232738.jpg

IMG_20230413_023349.jpg

I always enjoy the flavor of Turkish old cities, where among the houses there are exclusive cafes on the street, where you can comfortably sit on cushions at a round table and drink tea :)

IMG_20230413_131024.jpg

IMG_20230413_130422.jpg

IMG_20230413_022253.jpg

But Fethiye is not just a city of old buildings and narrow streets. Here, among the two-story buildings, there is a bustling bazaar, where you can find a large number of spices, nuts and Turkish sweets. The bazaar is a bright and colorful place, full of smells.

IMG_20230413_130919.jpg

IMG_20230413_022217.jpg

IMG_20230413_130828.jpg

Here, in the narrow streets of the old city of Fethiye, I met a piece of my hometown, Lviv. Here are these colorful umbrellas, which are a bright decoration and can be found in many cities!

IMG_20230413_130701.jpg

IMG_20230413_022341.jpg

IMG_20230413_022322.jpg

IMG_20230413_130626.jpg

It was here that we walked along the palm tree alley, where cars are parked very tightly. And on the right we saw and took a photo of ancient ruins. You can see the uniqueness of the city by looking at the photos of the houses that are located in the rock.

IMG_20230413_130600.jpg

IMG_20230413_130535.jpg

IMG_20230413_130450.jpg

After leaving the old city, we got to the embankment and enjoyed the beautiful pictures of yachts against the background of the beautiful sea and mountains.

IMG_20230413_022453.jpg

IMG_20230413_022355.jpg

IMG_20230412_000608.jpg

And explaining the title of my post, read the beautiful legend.
The Lycian legend says: the god Apollo fell in love with a beautiful girl named Agenor, the youngest daughter of King Phoenix. He turned into a small dog to open the way to the heart of a shy and timid princess and as a result won his love. After that, Apollo turned back. As the fruit of this love, his son Telmessos was born, whose name translates as "land of fires".
The port of Telmessos was located on the border between Lycia and Caria. The city was widely known as a center of prophecy and its soothsayers had a strong influence on the course of history. Telmessos had a rich cultural heritage in the Hellenistic and Roman periods confirmed by surviving monuments such as stone tombs, sarcophagi, Lycian fortresses and the Roman theater...

IMG_20230411_234135.jpg

IMG_20230411_234104.jpg

At the end of our walk, we found a good restaurant with traditional Turkish cuisine and reasonable prices. It is located near the city center opposite the Carrefour store. If you find yourself in this city, I recommend eating here.

IMG_20230413_022201.jpg

IMG_20230413_022137.jpg

IMG_20230412_232756.jpg

As we wandered the streets of Fethiye, we felt transported to another time. The rich history of the city, the ruins of the ancient city, the mystical Lycian tombs in the rock make Fethiye a true pearl of Turkey, which should be visited by anyone interested in history, culture and architecture.

IMG_20230412_221514.jpg

I only had a few hours of walking to get an idea of ​​this legendary historical city of Fethiye, which lies on the ruins of the ancient port of Telmessos, which existed from the 5th-4th centuries BC. (Despite the lack of information about its foundation, historians agree that the image of the city dates back to the 5th century BC.) The city was destroyed by an earthquake in 1857. Alexander the Great and Nearchus were once here, but the city got its modern name in honor of a pilot named Fethi Bey.
I read that in Fethiye you should definitely visit the Turtle Peninsula. Here you can swim in the bay with year-round warm water.
I also plan to visit one of the most romantic places in the world on the way back, the Valley of the Butterflies, located here on the west coast in Beljeez Bay.
I hope you enjoyed learning about these beautiful places :)
Thanks to everyone who watches our adventures 🙂

Sort:  

I was remembering this morning that it has been many days, this time your post did not come and as soon as I checked my mobile after a while, your post was there, then I could not comment because I was a little busy. Turkey is a very beautiful country and there are many places where one can visit every day but their beauty does not diminish. The way you've taken such a long journey from one place will greatly benefit your driving skills. The cat looked so cute I love this colour of cat. When a person goes to the mountains and sees all the sides, it is a very beautiful sight. Reading your post makes me feel like I'm wandering there myself because you detail everything so well. The best thing is that the hotel food is good and the price is also low. I really enjoy your trip. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you dear friend, @djbravo. Your comment is the best as always. Yes, this trip took me to the next level of driving. I'm growing with these steps, I'm starting to believe that I can! I am very happy traveling. And I can't stay in one place for a long time. I'm always happy to see your feedback!

Made by a God indeed! I love how you gave us an overview of the city and then went into the nitty gritty - showing us vantage points from every angle and social sphere. I honestly don't think I've ever read an article with such detail. Kudos! 👏 Very well done, I'm kinda envious I'll be honest. 😅

I hope to one day visit this ancient town of prophecy for myself. It's obvious why it has remained a cultural touchstone throughout the millennia.

Thanks for sharing! 🍻

Thank you for the nice review. I love my journey and sharing the details!
White envy is a good feeling. It inspires us to pursue our dreams.

I didn't visit Fethiye detailly and I don't know the ancient city, but I would love to visit it. To my observation, I can say that Fethiye is less developed than the other major cities in Aegean. It is somewhat big village.

Probably. But I read that rich Turks like to rest there :) All rich people are looking for silence and exoticism.
The mountain with the Lycian tombs and the ruins of Telmessos is truly unique!

I am not rich, but I am looking for too :)

I also love silence and exoticism :)
Found one beach in Cesme that satisfies my need. I will write on Wednesday!

An extraordinary trip, you always share beautiful places that make anyone will be fascinated by their beauty

I am glad that you are enjoying it with me. And I am lucky to share my pleasure from what I saw with you!

Well, it's always nice to see the posts you share, in fact I've also said that always looking forward to your travel posts, it's always amazing

Looks like you had an amazing trip here, that market caught my attention where there were a lot of spices, I think there was an amazing smell there, I am attracted to spice markets in the Arab world but also Turkish markets.

Yes, I really enjoyed this trip. The markets of Turkey are so beautiful and colorful that it's tempting to spend a lot of money on things you don't really need ))) I'm glad you liked my post.

You are absolutely right, these people (Turks, Arabs) know how to trade, so when you are in a local market you are very tempted to buy everything.
Have a wonderful weekend.

Wow - that seems to be a pretty cool city - it seems to have everything ! And the tombs in the hills are pretty cool !
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

Such tombs in the rocks are truly ancient exoticism. I was there as if I had been transported to a distant past era.

 last year  Reveal Comment

Once again, you and your daughters are looking very beautiful and and I love how you visit different places and share their culture with us. I personally love traveling to different places and seeing the natural scenery and beauty and art and sharing it with people.

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you will get to know Turkey with me!

Як же я пропустила таку красу?!))) Христос Воскрес, Оленько!
"Шербурзькі" парасольки - просто фантастика!)))

Вітаю з Великоднем вас, Валентинко.
Я сумую за цією атмосферою, яка для мене зникла, відколи мої мама і тато пішли в вічність...

wow it was a very amazing trip and the natural beauty that looks so perfect

Thank you. I'm glad you liked 💕

Your welcome 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for supporting.

Great shots, so many contrasts, love the wild mountains and all the colours especially the umbrellas

Wild mountains and tombs in the rocks - these things awakened a real excitement in my soul. I'm glad you like this kind of vintage research too, my friend, @grindle.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rmach.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Turkey no doubt has such a beautiful places and we can them through your blogs, You are really doing an amazing job, keep it up, keep exploring and help us explore also.

Thank you for your kind words about my blog. I really like to write about my travels and I'm glad that people enjoy watching my adventures :)

You are always welcome.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honourable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1849.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for your choice.

 last year  Reveal Comment

IMG_20230418_004540.jpg

 last year  Reveal Comment

😂😂😂