Unplug and Disconnect! Camping in Abah Legacy Sendat Camp, Selangor, Malaysia

When was the last time you spent a day without checking your mobile phone or gadgets? I can’t even remember when. During this day and age, everyone is prisoner of technology. Somehow, it is good to unplug and disconnect for a while to the internet world and live simply and enjoy each other’s company.

I was searching what to do on a weekend on Meetup group. Checked some outdoor activities being offered. But my attention was caught on Sendat Waterfall Camping Adventure. I was really interested as I haven't experienced any campings here in Malaysia plus the fact that I haven’t camped for more than a decade. But my friend was inviting me to go to Sky Mirror. I was really torn. I dont want to let this opportunity pass. After 3 days, I haven’t heard from my friend if we are pushing through to Sky Mirror. So I then contacted the organizer of the camping. Unfortunately, it was already closed. Aravind, the organizer, told me if someone backed-out they would put me in the list. The next day, he messaged me. I can join. Yehey!

The good thing about meetup is that they have a carpool. For those who do not have any transportation, you can just fill up a form and they will offer a ride for you. Depending on the agreed meet up place.

I saw Hanson on the list. I contacted him via Whatsapp if he can accommodate me. He decided to fetch me in my house though he lives 12km away from my place. Whew! It was a sigh of relief for me. I already have a ride.

Saturday came. I was anxious if the event would be cancelled or not as the rain didn't stop from Friday afternoon until 3AM (the last time I checked). I received a call from him that he’s about to leave his place. I was still preparing my food. My housemate, MM, helped to prepare my ham sandwich and boiled eggs. Thank you MM hehehe.

22.png

4.png

He arrived around 9AM. He’s riding his white 4x4. It was my first time meeting him. He is Chinese Malaysian and is 19 years old. We’re supposed to have another companion, but he didn't join.

6.png

We headed to the campsite. Since we don't know anything about each other, we had a good conversation especially since we came from 2 different countries. Non-stop conversation as we both are talkative hahaha.

5.png

It was a 1.5 hrs trip. I enjoyed the scenery as it was my first time to go to that part of Malaysia. Several minutes away from the campsite, we lost our internet connection. We just followed the road until we reached the campsite. We saw lots of cars parked and far north some were pitching their tents.

23.png

We looked for Aravind for my tent. The camping area was surrounded by bamboo trees. It will be a great cover from sun and rain.

8.png

I strategically placed my tent opening facing the fish pond so I can have a good view of the fishes. Hanson pitched his tent next to mine.

15.png

Few moments later, an Indian came in and decided to pitch his tent next to Hanson’s. We helped him with his tent. He’s Arun. A solo joiner too.

24.png

Aravind called all of us for a briefing and of course - to get to know each other. We were asked to form a circle and we needed to introduce ourselves with 1 adjective. Hashed (a Yemen national) started the introduction. I was the seventh, I just said..Im Jhune, just like the month, from the Philippines. For the adjective, I just simply said.. Jolly Jhune hihihi.

We were 16. I would say we were diverse. 5 ladies and 11 guys. We came from different parts of the globe. Yemen, Libya, Zimbabwe, Malaysia, India, Philippines and Italy. See? Hehehe

9.png

We headed to the waterfalls. We brought our packed lunch. It was merely 600 meters from the campsite on a paved road. While walking, we’ve been chatting with each other.

18.png
I have been hearing Hanson practicing his Spanish language with Tamara and Daniela, both Italian and speak Spanish too.

19.png
I met Adi, a devops Engineer from Zimbabwe. I enjoyed talking to him. We both took Computer Engineering in college. And I found out that 8 of us had that degree.

We reached the waterfalls and everyone was so excited to take a dip in the water. The waterfall is not that tall, approximately 20 feet high. The water is not clear perhaps because of the continuous rain but it is clean. Hashed jumped in immediately. We then followed. The water is very cold. The good thing is, the basin was shallow (most parts) so we enjoyed playing in the water.

10.png

We were in that scenario for 20 minutes and we decided to take our lunch. I ate my ham sandwich and Shekhar prepared us coffee and tea. I chose the latter. He gave me an Indian delicacy and grabbed a bite. It’s not bad I would say. After a few chitchats, we decided to swim again. We were like kids enjoying the cold water. Mervin and Rais (both locals) kept on jumping from the (sort of) cliff.

11.png

17.png

Around 1PM we decided to go back to the campsite. But before that, we had our first mandatory group photo. It started to rain again.

14.png

13.png

We played tug of war while it was raining. 6 per team. We used the squid game tactics but we didn't win hahaha. It didn't work for us. We started to prepare our afternoon snack.

21.png

Since we were wet and somehow dirty as we slid, slipped and stumbled on mud, we decided to go to the river. But we enjoyed it a lot.
25.png
After a while, they decided to go back to the campsite. But, Hanson, Arun and I decided to stay and talked about anything under the sun. Arun brought an Indian whisky. My first time to drink that whisky. It was smooth. Adi arrived and we finished the small bottle. We talked about AIs, cryptos, history, sports and our cultures. Imagine, we were 4 and from different countries. We stayed there until sunset and it was still raining hard.

It was dinner time when we got back. They prepared grilled chicken paired with pilau. Pilau is a rice dish soaked in stock or broth, adding meat, spices, and vegetables. It was my first time trying that food. It was good actually. Being the picky eater, I actually liked it. There’s one like salad, but it’s made with yogurt. I didn't try it as I don't eat yogurt. After our dinner, it’s social night. By the way, Mervin, Raiz and Muhammad took the initiative to have a bonfire.

27.png

28.png

But the rain doesn't show any signs of stopping. Everyone gathered there except for Tamara and Daniela as they opted to take a rest early. Shared some ghost stories, travel stories and showed our dancing skills. We checked our tents and all were soaking wet. Though it was waterproof, with the amount of rain poured on for several hours, water began to penetrate. We don’t know how we can go to sleep. But Arun asked me to accompany him to the caretaker and asked about the big tent. The big tent can house 4 people. We started haggling from 150RM and settled with 70RM. It was a sigh of relief for us. We then invited Adi and Hanson to sleep there.

30.png

The tent was nice and huge. I think 6-8 people can fit in. I believe we stopped talking at 3:30AM But I hardly slept. Actually, I had no sleep at all. I’m not used to sleeping on an air bed. When someone moves, everyone moves too hahaha.

Before 7AM, I left the tent, and the rain had stopped already. Aravind and Shekhar were busy preparing for our breakfast. It was an egg omelet with bread, fruits and tea.

29.png

After our breakfast, we started to dismantle our tents (that we never had the chance to use hehehe).
We decided to go back to the river and have some photos. Water was still high.

32.png

31.png

As they say, good things must come to an end. We gathered again, Aravind let us vote 1 person each whom we should be thankful for from the group. I chose Hanson, it was simply because, I can’t be there if I didn't have a ride. The campsite was remote. But it was Mervin won via landslide. He deserved it. He was the comedian and very approachable too.

33.png

We had our last group photo and everyone was preparing to leave. It started to rain again. Hanson and I left around 11:15AM together with Adi and Shiva from the other car. After 1.5hrs, I was in my place. Tired but happy and definitely one for the books.

34.png

For 2 days, we were disconnected to the world. Social media detox. Undivided attention. Only us. I joined this event without knowing anybody (most of us were solo joiners too) but ended up being friends to everyone. Knowing everyone from different parts of the world is a rewarding feeling and a remarkable one. We may have differences in color, race or religion but what matters most is..you opt to be a good person.
I wouldn't trade this experience for spending my weekend at home tied to my gadgets.

I know this will not be the last but the start of our friendship. Till I see you again guys 🇾🇪🇱🇾🇿🇼🇲🇾🇮🇳🇵🇭🇮🇹

2.png

Sort:  

Outdoor activities are the ones I miss doing the most. Since the pandemic began, the number of outdoor stuff that I do have become limited. Kudos to you for opting to go out and making new friends. How were you able to find the Meetup group? And, did you have to pay the organizer to be able to join?

!PIZZA

Hi juanvegetarian,

thank u for taking time to read my post. it was my boss who told me about the group. They know that i am really outgoing and whatever events they saw/knew..they will inform me heheh..They're very supportive of me. And yes, there's a fee. 80rm or 960php. That includes the guide fees and food. Additional 20rm or 240php for the tent rental.

By the way, it seems that you're a vegetarian, they vegetarians who joined in the camp. But Adi, is a vegan. With them, i finally knew the difference between vegetarian and vegan. I thought vegan is just the short term of vegetarian 🤦‍♂

Have a great day!

Joining the group is affordable naman pala. My friends and I organized similar activities here in the Philippines a few years ago. We just posted on social media and gathered around 15 to 20 pax for a day trip or overnight camp/hike. It was fun and enjoyable for us, plus we get to go on the adventures for free. :)

Yes, I'm vegetarian, but I do love vegan food. BTW, I !LUV the vegetarian/vegan food there in Malaysia. There's always a vegetarian stall in the food courts with cheap but quality food (around RM10 at the lowest per meal/circa 2015). :)

Yemen, Libya, Zimbabwe, Malaysia, India, Philippines and Italy. See? Hehehe

Ms. Universe yarn?

For 2 days, we were disconnected to the world. Social media detox. Undivided attention. Only us. I joined this event without knowing anybody (most of us were solo joiners too) but ended up being friends to everyone.

This is the beauty of having our phones away for a while, as we disconnect with our devices, we can connect easily with other people and we can give them the attention needed. For a while it is a nice way to cleanse ourselves. We did such back then with @romeskie in Palaya Ecp Farm in Rizal, there's no signal in the place and we are just there to enjoy the view of dragonfruits and the hillside.

bwahahaha..pwede rin olympics 😂🤣

This is the beauty of having our phones away for a while, as we disconnect with our devices, we can connect easily with other people and we can give them the attention needed.- Yeah..you are correct..for me it is priceless.

We did such back then with @romeskie in Palaya Ecp Farm in Rizal, there's no signal in the place and we are just there to enjoy the view of dragonfruits and the hillside.- Naku for sure maraming tinagong dragonfruit c tyra

Haha. Nilimliman ko. Baka may lumabas na dragon. Hahaha

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Ang daming ganap. Kaya pala di ka mahagilap, kung san san ka na naman nagliwaliw. Mainam din yang paminsan minsan mag unplug. Nakakamiss na rin mag nature trip. Glad to see you are having fun there. Parang ayaw mo na talaga umuwi ng Pinas ah. 😅

ay ako po ba?baka ikaw po ang hindi mahagilap..di ba angel locsin?

Congratulations @palosonthelo0se! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!