It's been a long time coming | Davao Region, Philippines

in Pinmapplelast month

Hive_Panimahawa_Cover Photos (31).png


“Grab a pad and pen!”

All my solo backpackings usually start with this phrase. There are a few things I have to finalize before booking my flight such as which Provinces my backpacking will cover, and how many days I plan on staying in each Province; this way I’m able to see the bigger picture, how much money I need to save for the trip, where I'd stay and when should I book my return flight. It's one ritual I do and I'd never get tired of this.

Remember I’m planning to explore all the Provinces in the Philippines. Now that I’ve been to more than half of the Philippines, I've been paying more attention to how I plan things for my trips. Ensuring I go to even the most underrated parts of the country. Some spots might not make it to the spotlight but I strongly believe there's always something these places could offer, one just has to uncover it.

The most awaited day came and I was ecstatic to jump right in my first solo backpacking after the pandemic, well technically speaking it was in the tail-end of the pandemic. I was thrilled that getting the cheapest flight in the wee hours didn't bother me. I'm more than ready to take you to one of the most underrated Regions in the Philippines, the Davao Region.

I'll start with my first installment for this solo backpacking! Come and join me! 🥰

IMG20230221040305.jpg

IMG20230221042818.jpg

IMG20230221043328.jpg

IMG20230221051048.jpg

IMG20230221054636.jpg

.

The first of many things that I appreciated about this trip was witnessing the majestic sunrise in Davao City where, of course, the king Mt. Apo rested unbothered in the background. I also had an amazing view of Samal Island, which was also on my itinerary for this backpacking.

IMG20230221055243.jpg

IMG20230221054011.jpg

IMG20230221054037.jpg

IMG20230221055614.jpg

I was already filled with an unexplainable joy so I couldn't possibly put into words the feeling I instantaneously had when my flight landed in Davao. I could only think of all the things ahead of me, the new things I'd discover about this part of my country and the people I'd meet along the way.

As I found my way out of Davao International Airport, the rising warm temperature of the cold morning made me happier in ways I haven't felt for a long time. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with my life but carrying a backpack and exploring cities all by myself spoil me with bliss that no other thing or person could fill.

IMG20230221062641.jpg

IMG20230221062636.jpg

IMG20230221062917.jpg

IMG20230221062617.jpg


The Journey to Maragusan

It wasn't my first time in Davao City; being one of the major cities where my company operates, I've traveled here countless times for work; to execute projects, to conduct market studies, and the like. Indeed, I'm no stranger to Davao City. Besides the long tips to Panacan, Mintal, and Toril, I haven't been to other neighboring Provinces in this Region.

During my initial planning for this trip, I asked my workmates in Davao the best route they'd suggest I take. They're mostly from Sales and fieldwork is their forte. They guided me and gave me all the details I couldn't find only; their confidence in the safety of this trip gave me the boost that might've died down during the pandemic.

My first stop is Maragusan, Davao de Oro which is 136km away from the airport or about a 3 to 3.5-hour bus ride. For those traveling North, the airport's location is an advantage; no need to go to the bus terminal. When you exit the airport, buses plying North such as Tagum and Nabunturan have regular trips all day long.

IMG20230221073739.jpg

IMG20230221084643.jpg

IMG20230221085424.jpg

IMG20230221090317.jpg

As Maragausan is too far away from the huge cities in Davao, there's no direct bus that would take me there. I had to take a bus to Nabunturan, the capital of Davao de Oro, and take another bus to reach Maragusan. I arrived in Nabunturan on time for lunch so I ate my lunch first before the final ride.

IMG20230221093830.jpg

I make it a habit to take the regular or non-air-conditioned bus when traveling in the countryside. I know it could be frivolously hot in the Philippines but I'm unbothered by it. I love getting my head out of the bus window and immersing myself in the unparalleled view that surprises me everywhere I glance. You can picture me with eyes glimmering in excitement, a smile so big my face could've been to small to accommodate the happiness. Oh, what a joy it is to travel!

I was told that "There's too much water!" in Maragusan, and really, anywhere in Davao de Oro. I witnessed it myself on the bus ride, I couldn't help but be shocked by the amount of water their land holds. There are streams everywhere; water is running like there's no tomorrow everywhere you look. Even their mountains by the roadside are tearing up!

IMG20230221095433.jpg

IMG20230221095422.jpg

IMG20230221095701.jpg

IMG20230221101444.jpg


Maragusan: Summer Capital of Davao

I didn't notice the time until we slowed down; my countless days and even weeks of wondering what this little town looked like had finally come to an end. Despite being one of the centers of trade in Davao de Oro, Maragusan appeared to be a sleepy town to me. There were establishments from restaurants, cafes, markets, and terminals but you won't see a hint of busyness here. Its tranquility was overflowing; a thing I, without a doubt, longed for during my trips.

IMG20230221101918.jpg

IMG20230221101914.jpg

IMG20230221102134.jpg


Stranger danger!

I'm in no position to waste time so upon arrival at the bus terminal in Maragusan, I immediately met my driver and at the same time tour guide for the next 2 days I'd be staying in Maragusan. On my solo backpacking, I usually hire a tricycle for an entire day or two that would take me to the tourist attractions within the area. On this particular trip to Maragusan, the driver isn't familiar with the first spot on my list, Marangig Falls. He once heard of this destination but hadn't visited it.

I could've revolted right there and then and opted to find someone else who could help me navigate this foreign land better, but he jolted "We'll ask around!" He sounded kind and trustworthy and besides he was referred by the owner of place I'm staying. All good!

So we asked around and we ended up in a dead end for vehicles. There was no sign of a waterfall nearby except the clear river below the cliff where we parked his bao-bao (Davao's version of tricycle).

At this point, I could imagine my friends questioning my choices in life such as being with a complete stranger in the middle of nowhere. "How could you trust strangers like that?" the usual question my friends throw at me and each time, I give them the glaring and almost impossible-to-comprehend smile each time I'm asked this question. I'm more afraid strolling in Downtown Cebu City than here with a complete stranger really.

IMG20230221114306.jpg

IMG20230221114442.jpg

IMG20230221114439.jpg

IMG20230221114424.jpg

We embarked on the journey to the waterfall not knowing what to expect; you could say that the two of us are foreigners here. We followed the path leading to the inner chambers of the forest; based on previous treks to waterfalls, as long as you follow the water, you're on the right path.

I stayed positive the entire trek; not a hint of anxiety came to mind. I was sure that we'd get there.

IMG20230221110029.jpg

IMG20230221110033.jpg

IMG20230221110153.jpg

IMG20230221110134.jpg

No more than 15 minutes of walking, I could already hear the resounding water. We continued the leisurely walk and a few more minutes, a view so wonderful welcomed me and my guide.

IMG20230221110257.jpg

Gladly, we weren't alone in the waterfalls; a family celebrating their son's birthday was already there when we arrived. We exchanged a few awkward-to-begin conversations and when they learned that I came from Cebu just to witness Marangig, their smiles were over the top. They were proud of this little gem they have in their hometown.

I joined the kids playing in the mini pool right below the waterfall; the water was ice-cold, one that truly refreshed my soul after all that I had to go through just to be here. Although Marangig Falls is nowhere near Cebu's massive Kawasan Falls, I'd daresay it has its unique charm. This waterfall is not maintained by any government authority so don't expect any facilities here; there are no comfort rooms, no table and chairs or cottages for rent, no drinking water or small stores to buy food from. The good side is that there's no entrance fee and you can spend all the time you want here no noisy tourists will bother you.

IMG20230221110747.jpg

IMG20230221111429.jpg

IMG20230221112736.jpg

IMG20230221112727.jpg

IMG20230221113054.jpg

IMG20230221113155.jpg

IMG20230221110947 (1).jpg

After staying a bit longer in the water, I finally raised the white flag! The coldness was getting out of hand and I have one other waterfall in my list to visit. We trekked back where the tricycle was parked and along the way, my guide said: If dili pa tungog nimo Ma'am di ko maka ari In English, my guide expressed his gratitude for without me bringing him in Marangig Falls, he might not have the chance to explore it himself. I'm glad I explored and inspired locals to do the same. Don't be a foreigner in your town, your own province. ♥️


image.png

Patsitivity

Living life intentionally every single day, she believes that there’s no limit to one’s potential. Right now, she’s on the loose for the pursuit of endless holistic self-growth and development. She wants to light the way for others. She believes there’s no better way to leave a legacy than to pay it forward.

Her ultimate goal in life is to reach the state of enlightenment where there’s nothing but peace, love, happiness, and contentment - nothing more, nothing less.

If you are captivated by what this girl just wrote here, an upvote is pretty appreciated. Follow her as she tells her stories full of positivities. The next story might be for you! ❤️

Sort:  

A place of tranquility🥹♥️
Just want to share also that everytime I had a chance to spend a vacation I always wanted to ride in a non air-conditioned bus. I just wanted to feel the place specially when I'm going to province🥹
Hoping one day I could visit Davao, soon♥️

I always wanted to ride in a non air-conditioned bus.

Oh man! This made me so happy and validated in a way hahaha You definitely should visit Davao @missellimac! :)

Superb as always. Beautifully documented with some stunning photos and for me, some timely memory jolts. I've flown in and out of Davao a number of times, albeit years ago and smiled at the name, Davao International Airport as there weren't actually any international flights back then!
Hope you're well, superstar and I await the next installment :-)

I've flown in and out of Davao a number of times

Was this for work @nathen007? which part of Davao did you go to? I hope this post (and the rest to come) gives you an idea how Davao has beautifully evolved over the year.

Hope you're well, superstar and I await the next installment

I'm doing really well @nathen007, I hope you are too! There will be a lot of waterfalls and beaches in this series. Stay tuned!

What do you say? Is this region underrated? No way!

It is really a beautiful place and worth visiting if I ever get a chance.

@tipu curate 2

What do you say? Is this region underrated? No way!

Sadly, it is @ahmedhayat. Compared to the more accessible parts of the Philippines, it's rare to see a handful of tourists flocking into this area. I bet you'd want to pack your bags right away once you see the rest of the destinations I went to. Of course, I'll share them all here.

thank you for the heartfelt support! 🥰

What a beautiful place you have visited and what beautiful memories these beautiful shots are.
Without a doubt, dear friend @patsitivity, this trip will be an unforgettable experience. Thank you very much for sharing all these details of this visit

@jlufer I'm just getting started; you'd be amazed what most of my countrymen wouldn't dare to explore. Thanks for dropping by. I hope all is well with you!

Davao is one in my bucket list. I've heard and watched things about the beauty of Davao, and it's excite me to visit the place soon 🥰 Thank you for sharing.

I've heard and watched things about the beauty of Davao

You'd be captivated once you see these in person @teacherlynlyn. Save money for your Davao trip. It's going to be worth it!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2154.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @ybanezkim26 and Pinmapple! What a privilege! :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a beautiful country full of nature!! I love your pictures, they are stunning! Thanks a lot for sharing with us!

The view from the plane over Mount App looks so amazing!
Seems like you had a nice day in nature visiting the waterfall. It's so green there!