October by the Sea .:. Torrevieja, Spain

in Pinmapple โ€ข 4 months ago

A few days ago, I was talking with a friend (not from HIVE, or crypto ๐Ÿ˜ƒ) and I sent him a link to an apartment for sale, just for a joke... The first thing that he said was: "So, it looks like crypto is going up?" ๐Ÿ˜‚ He knows me well... Whenever there is a trigger that looks promising for a bull run, I'm back to the real estate markets, checking prices and dreaming... ๐Ÿคฃ

01.jpg

Well, something similar happened when I took this short "excursion" to Torrevieja, a small city in Spain... It was October 2022, Bitcoin was almost at the exact bottom, and it was really, really hard to imagine it going under 17K (it went to 16K a month later)... In those moments, in my head, it was all about accumulation and preparing for the next bull run, which I did with the resources I had in those moments...

Also, it was time to start dreaming about taking future profits and "spending (imaginary) big money"... ๐Ÿ˜‚ I remember my passed-away grandfather filling out a lottery ticket and while he was doing it, he was already spending prize money... ๐Ÿ˜‚ The same way, I have decided to visit Torrevieja as I have noticed that there are some good real estate offers in the city and I wanted to check out the "terrain"...

02.jpg

Along with my wife, I hit the road to visit this charming small city in Southeastern Spain... It is situated in the same province where I live and the climate is very similar, but it is still over 100km drive to get there... We went early in the morning to have enough time to check as much as possible things in (and around) the town...

03.jpg

As you have already noticed, it is a city on the Mediterranean Sea and it has many small beaches... What is interesting is that the city has over 80.000 residents, but when you are walking around Torrevieja, you would never guess that it is so big... That's why I made a mistake several times while I was writing this post writing "town" instead of "city", as it does look like a small time...

04.jpg

The thing is that it does have almost 90K residents, but many people have their "second home" there and they are not around the whole year... As I was there in October, there weren't as many tourists as usual in the summertime... 60% of the population are Spaniards, and the rest are Russian, British, Ukrainian, Moroccan, etc. In 2004, Torrevieja had the biggest British ex-pats community and most Brits were coming from Yorkshire!

05.jpg

The "secret" of so many residents lies in the fact that the municipality has much urbanization around the old town and a plain territory for growth! Because of that, the city center is relatively preserved its history... Speaking of history, it's not as rich as some other towns that I previously visited... The city isn't older than 200 years as before that, it was just a couple of houses and nothing more... After that, it became a salt-mining and fishing village, and recently, it was completely changed with immigration and a lot of real estate buildings...

06.jpg

07.jpg

When we were walking on the seaside, it was still relatively early and that's why most of the market stands were closed... I suppose that in the middle of the tourist season, these stands are overcrowded!

08.jpg

09.jpg

10.jpg

For someone "outside" this small "roof" looks ridiculous as it doesn't complete its function when it rains, but as Torrevieja has a lot of sunny days, it does work as creates shade for people who take a moment to take a rest... or, enjoy rollerskating in shade as a girl on the photo above...

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

There is an old(er) church in the city, but this is the new one, that was celebrating 50 years of construction last year... It is situated in a beautiful small square...

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg

Yes, these are photos from October, and yes, those people are bathing in the sea... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ What is interesting about Torrevieja is that it doesn't have one big, long beach, but it has many small beaches... The two most popular are Playa del Cura, which is the one that you can see in the photos above and under these lines, and Playa de los Locos which is behind those buildings that you can see in the distance, but I didn't take photos from it...

18.jpg

The city center is right behind the beach, on the left and that's why this beach is the most popular... I can just imagine how it would look in the middle of the summer if it was this crowded in October! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

20.jpg

This is the view from the other side at the same beach... As it is situated in a small bay, the water isn't deep, and I suppose it is very pleasant and warm in summer...

21.jpg

19.jpg

This part of the city was probably the weirdest, as I had no idea what it was about with these totems! The first thought that came to my mind was the Splinterlands totems... hahaha... It is called Monumento a las Culturas del Mediterrรกneo, and different cultures are represented on these pillars... They were created in 1990, representing all cultures that left "traces" in the Mediterranean, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, and Phoenicians...

22.jpg

23.jpg

After that, we went to the car and continued exploration of Torrevieja's environment outside the city center... As I had a lot more photos about that, I will try to publish another post soon (I hope not in a year or so ๐Ÿ˜ƒ)...

Thank you for your time,

~ph~


Liotes Divider Blue.png

๐Ÿ‘‰ Vote for Liotes HIVE Witness HERE ๐Ÿ‘ˆ

Don't forget to follow, reblog, and browse my Hivepage to stay connected with all the great stuff!

You can also find me on Ecency .:. Twitter .:. LBRY

Sort: ย 

Checking prices and dreaming

It's like a big trap for procrastination besides if it makes you move further straight ahead))
Writing so coz saw several examples when people just check price for something they want have but instead to do things that can make them closer to their dream they are just dreaming. But on the other side of hand sometimes it's really needed to dream, set up goals and move on. In this case it can be considered as useful dreams.

It can be a trap, as you said... Trying to catch the reward, forgetting to do the work... In my case, it's is more like a goal and motivation to push!

It looks amazing out there but it sounds like a pretty long drive. I am guessing you have to get up quite early to get there early enough to do everything.

Luckily, the main roads (highways) in Spain are good, so it wasn't that long trip... And also, it wasn't that big city center (to my surprise), so we managed to see the most important sights... :)

My thoughts were halfway to Spain from our below-freezing days... until I saw the pictures were from October. ๐Ÿคฃ

Hehehehe... It's not that hot here, either... At night and early mornings, my weather app said 7-8 Degrees the last few days, and with humidity by the sea, the "real feel" is around 3-4... As I can see, it looks like we will have "normal" temperatures the next days, over 10-12 Degrees... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Temperatures so low should be illegal in Spain (except in the mountains). ๐Ÿ˜€

ahahahahaha... Indeed! Will write a petition for that! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Looking at real estate from crypto is like the ultimate top signal for me to know that I take too big of chances. Every time I do this, boooom market down hahaha

Damn I would love some of that spanish sun there, it looks like a cool place to visit actually! (...starts thinking about spending a year in spain...heck, maybe this is a new top signal :D)

Hahahah... I hope you are wrong about the top signal this time! ๐Ÿ˜‚

Btw, to me happens something similar (darn Murphy's law!)... I don't detect the market top, but I do not take profits on time! We will see what happens this year, after the BTC halvening! Maybe I got two apartments so you can come for vacation!! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

That sounds like a deal to me!

No this run aint over yet, might do some pauze (loads of weekly green candles now in a row) but this will stick around for the upcoming year for sure!

There was not a place in the Mediterranean that I did not visit and told myself. Ha would be nice to have some apartment here. ๐Ÿ˜…

End of next month we will be in Malaga..looking forward seeing more of Spain.

End of next month we will be in Malaga..looking forward seeing more of Spain.

Woohoooo! That's great! A bit far for a meetup, but I bet you will enjoy your time there...
When we went to Portugal last year, we stopped in Malaga, but literally just to eat and take a couple of photos... I think I did a post about it, but not sure...

Yes, I did... :)

https://peakd.com/hive-155530/@ph1102/walking-in-the-park-of-malaga--wednesday-walk-vacation-tour

Dream!!! If you can dream it...it is possible. It's beautiful that city, I have a friend in Madrid who loves Torrevieja, it's her favorite vacation spot.

Thanks for sharing those pictures. Greetings.

It's beautiful that city, I have a friend in Madrid who loves Torrevieja, it's her favorite vacation spot.

A lot of people from Madrid have their "second home" in Alicante province...

I like towns over cities, and I like went it has history, but I wouldn't mind living in Torrevieja... :)

Thanks for checking out the post!

It looks a lovely town,.I thought I read Torremolenos at first. It is very cold here, it would be lovely to be swimming in October!

Well, it is probably cold there too at these moments... lol... We had 7-8 Degrees these days, and the weather app says the "real feel" is like 3! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

Maybe it's a shame that it's the first time I hear about Torrevieja but unfortunately, just like most of the countries, Spain is also famous for a couple of cities only despite that it has a unique beauty in most of its parts. Thank you for making it a bit more famous, at least on the chain though :)

Hehehe... Compared to some other cities that I visited in Spain, Torrevieja isn't the "most beautiful" or such... It is relatively cheap, on the seaside, it has nice weather... But it didn't leave me with that "special" feeling after the visit...
Many other cities aren't that well known but still, they are beautiful... I wrote about some of them, like Jijona, Finestrat, Altea... and of course some of those "mid-famous" like Cadiz, Malaga, Alicante...

Malaga! That's the single one that sounds familiar to me sadly, lol!
But yeah, I bet no blog post or words can actually describe what it is like to see those places and make people understand the conclusion you had after exploring a place. To me it looks beautiful maybe because I didn't really explored other countries than mine with a few exceptions, but I feel you with that one!

Vella city of the Valencian Community

An engine of the tourism economy of Spain.

Let's see if this summer I can get closer to the area.

Best regards

!PIZZA

That was my first time in Torrevieja and my last time... In general, I liked the city, it's not too big, but maybe I got a false impression about it as it was October... :)

Have to go again in the summer to check its vibes... ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

In summer it is crazy like the whole coast of Alicante.

The truth is that in May or September are better dates to visit the area and enjoy a warm bath compared to the cold Cantabrian that I have in Asturias.

Indeed! Late September and early October are the best here... There are more rain chances, but usually it's sunny...

ย 4 months agoย (edited)ย 

Interesting sights! Love the blue skies and the waters! Can never find such clear skies over here.
!LUV

Thanks! But, I can't believe that you NEVER have a clear sky! It has to be sometimes... Btw., I prefer more a couple of clouds as then photos are better :)

Hmm somehow our skies are never so blue.. I never know why.. Hahaha! That's something I realise when I travel to other parts of the world.

This place must be very big for it to have over 80,000 residence
I love the pictures though. Such a cute blue sea!
I thought I was the only one who loves to price various things when the price of crypto is going up, lol

This place must be very big for it to have over 80,000 residence

The city center is rather small, but like I said in the post, it has a lot or "suburbs" where most people live, and they are outside the "old town"

Spain is so cool, even a small city like Torrevieja seems to be a great vacation spot. Thanks for sharing.

As most residents have their "second home" there, I suppose it's very busy in the summer... Will have to try to go there in the summer this year!

For sure a great trip. It looks amazing. Thanks for the suggestion and for sharing it with us

Happy to hear that you liked it! I had to pull out something with a nice weather to keep me warm... ๐Ÿ˜‚

I love buildings close to the beach, I am pretty sure I will get one there one day. I am very optimistic

Hehehehe... I'm renting an apartment 2 streets from the sea and when it's windy, with big waves, I can hear waves in the apartment... I suppose that those by the sea hear them all the time... While it sounds "romantic", I suppose it gets boring after some time... ๐Ÿ˜‚

Housing prices have been stable or even going down in my country for a while as interest rates have been hiking. It seems, for short-term, buying a house is not reasonable here.

That happened in a lot of places around the world, but unfortunately, not in the area where I live... Just read today an article that says prices went up 11% in 2023...

the view by the sea there is really amazing, I like to see the view of the peaceful blue sea

I'm glad to hear that you liked it!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2118.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much for your curation, @livinguktaiwan!!! I'm glad you liked the post!

Post manually reviewed. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Wooohooo! I didn't even know that someone boosted my post!
Thanks, Paloma, and thanks @alt3r!

It was a pleasure for me to approve this boost. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜
Oh, I've never been to Torrevieja. It is famous because in a television contest that we watched at home when I was a child they gave away an apartment there as a prize. I was surprised to know that it has a well-preserved and interesting historic centre. โ˜บ๏ธ

Great photos, real feel reflection!

Thank you! I'm glad that you liked them!!

!DHEDGE
!ALIVE
!discovery 35

Thanks for your curation!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello ph1102!

It's nice to let you know that your article won ๐Ÿฅˆ place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by hallmann

You and your curator receive 0.1418 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 9.13% share of the reward from Daily Report 177. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUSILVER token for taking 2nd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START

Yay! ๐Ÿค—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @alt3r.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Beautiful Spain ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ธ

Indeed, it is!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @libertycrypto27! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.alive

@libertycrypto27 has 8 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

Congratulations @ph1102! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 270000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 280000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Nice

Thanks

The wonderful country of Spain. I am hoping that someday I can have some vacation to that country

$WINE

!BEER


Hey @ph1102, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience and photos. What a lovely place to visit. At least I now feel like I've been there too. Wishing you and family many more adventures! Happy Sunday!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_

A similar scene is playing out today as 202 has risen and we will see that within some time we will see prices of all things going up and happy for those who have been holding for the last three years.