You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A year of transition - small trips and moving to Iceland.

in Pinmapple2 months ago

Oh really? I know @wadera and I even have this account on my autovote list but I didn´t know it´s actually yours :) Just gave you a follow on that account too not to miss out on the updates. How is your life on Iceland? Did you also have to find a job over there?

Sort:  

Yes, I found a job in Iceland before moving because one of my goals was to break away from the job I had been doing for almost 20 years. Although I still have my own business and sometimes do some small jobs remotely as a computer graphic designer, I want to give it up completely in the near future.

Initially, it was supposed to be a 3-month job here in Iceland, and then I planned to search for something new. However, my employer is really great, and he needed a permanent employee, so I decided to stay. I love where I live (A town of 700 people); I have freed myself from pressure and most of the stress. It's a totally different vibe here, especially coming from working in a big city with "extremely important" projects with so-called VIPs (in their opinion) — never again. Now I do simple things and live a simple life, and I need nothing more 🙂

Wow, so many changes. But I can totally relate, I also love calm and peaceful places close to nature ;) Even when I lived in your city, Krakow, I often escaped the hustle and bustle by roaming around the local parks (Jordana and Bednarskiego were my favorites), Blonia, Las Wolski etc. But I know that Iceland has completely different vibes. A good friend of mine lived there too, he loved it there :) So how much longer are you staying?

Well, I don't know exactly. I would like to stay in Iceland longer, maybe even for years. My sons are adults and doing well in Krakow, so I no longer have any obligations. I gave myself the right to not make plans. Here I have time and space to discover what I really want.

Sounds amazing :) Enjoy!