A year of transition - small trips and moving to Iceland.

in Pinmapplelast month

After nearly a year-long hiatus, I am attempting to re-enter the world of blogging in English, as I have done many times before. The past year of my life has been a whirlwind of preparations for moving to another country and embarking on small travel adventures. Amidst the chaos of packing, planning, and bidding farewell to familiar surroundings, I managed to take short trips to Corfu, Malmö & Copenhagen, and the Polish mountains before finally making the leap to my new home in Iceland. Since then, I have been learning to live here.

First day of new life - Reykjavik

P1250853.jpg

1690496501756.jpg

1690496502994.jpg

P1250937.jpg

--

I didn't stay in Iceland's capital for long; I headed north to the Snæfellsnes peninsula. However, I describe this part of my adventure on my second account on Hive, where I write exclusively in Polish. It's my native language and allows me to express my emotions and experiences in the best possible way. I am considering creating bilingual posts, although it requires more work, so only time will tell if I can manage it successfully. Or maybe I will post some Icelandic stories here too.

I have already shared almost the entire trip to Corfu on my Polish account too, so in the next posts here I would like to recount the wonderful moments spent in Malmö and Copenhagen, as well as my trips to the Polish mountains, from which I still have many photos and memories. Let's not forget about Krakow! Although lately, I have been appreciative of living in a small town at the end of the world, away from the hustle and bustle and close to nature, my hometown will always remain alive in my heart.

It feels like many years have passed since I took all these photos... This is a kaleidoscope of just the last year and a half.

In the meantime...
Malmö
1686659248184.jpg

1686659247841.jpg

xxx-1686738731688.jpg

xxx-1686738727768.jpg

--
Copenhagen

xxx-1686734703947.jpg

xxx-1686736807512.jpg

xxx-1686724010043.jpg

xxx-1686725066893.jpg

--
Farewell to my hometown of Krakow

xxx-1678470547905.jpg

xxx-P1230879.jpg

xxx-P1230981.jpg

--
All seasons in the Polish mountains

xxx-P1230361.jpg

xxx-P1240048.jpg

xxx-P1240050.jpg

xxx-P1250694.jpg

xxx_1689523721700.jpg

xxx-P1250645.jpg

xxx-P1200928.jpg

xxx-P1200931.jpg

xxx-P1200957.jpg

--

I have been living in Iceland for 8 months now, and I am unsure how long I will stay here. I deliberately chose a simple life in a small town where my mind can rest. I observe all seasons without rushing. Every day, I see a different face of this place, and I don't think I will ever get bored of it.

Now - somewhere on Snæfellsnes

DSC07504.jpg

DSC07517.jpg

DSC07521.jpg

DSC07526.jpg

IMG_1850.jpg

IMG_1855.jpg

--

I am no longer a stranger, but I am not a local either; I am still in a transitional phase. I don't mind :)

Hope see you soon 💚

ornament.png

--- Thanks for stopping by! --- @astinmin
I'm the only author of the text and photos

ornament.png

Sort:  

welcome back and looking forward to your regular updates!

PS. Skąd zrobiłaś cudowne zdjęcie Babiej Góry (pierwsze pod nagłówkiem "All seasons in the Polish mountains")

!ALIVE

Mosorny Groń, ławka pod wieżą. Byliśmy tam zresztą razem (styczeń 23, rankiem oglądaliśmy wschód słońca na Babiej), tylko Ty siedziałeś z towarzystwem na wieży i rozkminialiście panoramy 😉

no tak, z wieży nie było widać rzeźby na ławeczce ;-)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Such a beautiful place @astinmin! Dreaming of going to Iceland. Even though I haven't been there yet, I'll add it to my list of dream destinations.

I hope you visit this beautiful land someday :)

!HUESO

Greetings from the Virtual World Community. We send you Hueso token to support your work.
Click on this banner, to be directed to the Virtual World Discord and learn more about the curation project.


Uses: 31/42
!PIZZA

I had a dream, visiting copenhagen! wao beautiful pictures!! 💚

Thank you :)

I had a dream, visiting copenhagen!

I belive you can make it!

Wao Iceland is a beautiful country to visit.
Outclass sceneries dear.
Nice post.
More like it.

I just go through every photo and I must say you have covered every photo brilliantly. Beautiful landscape

Thank you!

!ALIVE
!LOL

The first time I saw my future Wife was at the local Zoo.
I just knew she was a keeper.

Credit: reddit
@astinmin, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(8/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Wow - cracking post - covering a ton of great places all in one. Copenhagen looks fantastic !

Thank you.
I have lots of impressions and much more pictures from Copenhagen:)

@astinmin!

@bpcvoter3 passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

@astinmin Stunning photos, lovely scenery

Thank you :)

From bustling Krakow to serene Icelandic countryside, wow! What a change! What is your second account btw? I would like to check out those updates, I didn´t know you have two accounts here... Awesome shots btw! :)

@tipu curate 2

Thanks! Perhaps you noticed my second account @wadera already, because I wrote a lot of Kraków :) I started @astinmin later (just after my first trip to Iceland in 2019 btw 😉) to practice the language, and it unexpectedly developed quite nicely :)

Oh really? I know @wadera and I even have this account on my autovote list but I didn´t know it´s actually yours :) Just gave you a follow on that account too not to miss out on the updates. How is your life on Iceland? Did you also have to find a job over there?

Yes, I found a job in Iceland before moving because one of my goals was to break away from the job I had been doing for almost 20 years. Although I still have my own business and sometimes do some small jobs remotely as a computer graphic designer, I want to give it up completely in the near future.

Initially, it was supposed to be a 3-month job here in Iceland, and then I planned to search for something new. However, my employer is really great, and he needed a permanent employee, so I decided to stay. I love where I live (A town of 700 people); I have freed myself from pressure and most of the stress. It's a totally different vibe here, especially coming from working in a big city with "extremely important" projects with so-called VIPs (in their opinion) — never again. Now I do simple things and live a simple life, and I need nothing more 🙂

Wow, so many changes. But I can totally relate, I also love calm and peaceful places close to nature ;) Even when I lived in your city, Krakow, I often escaped the hustle and bustle by roaming around the local parks (Jordana and Bednarskiego were my favorites), Blonia, Las Wolski etc. But I know that Iceland has completely different vibes. A good friend of mine lived there too, he loved it there :) So how much longer are you staying?

Well, I don't know exactly. I would like to stay in Iceland longer, maybe even for years. My sons are adults and doing well in Krakow, so I no longer have any obligations. I gave myself the right to not make plans. Here I have time and space to discover what I really want.

Sounds amazing :) Enjoy!

Your pictures are so beautiful! Keep exploring

Such vivid colors! What did you use for a camera?

I don't have great equipment, I take photos with my phone or a 10-year-old camera, but if necessary, I correct them in Camera Raw and that's probably why they look good.

Waooo, it's amazing landscapes. This country is beautiful. Excellent post. Thanks for sharing. Best regards from Cuba.

Thank you a lot!

Starting a new life in Iceland sounds so amazing! I often wondered how is it like to make such a big step in life. I did change my place of diving for a few times but it always happened in the same country and pretty close to the previous spot :)

My luck is that I needed and wanted that change, so it was scary yet exciting. I think even moving to another city can be a challenge. It seems that the human brain generally doesn't like change ;)

Haha, seems so! Or rather the comfort zone!