You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tour of Historic Chester's Roman Walls

in Worldmappin2 years ago

Hi @kaixin

I'm glad I could help guide you through the historic city of Chester.

It is just what I do when visiting the historical sight. I am amazed at how luxurious the ancient Roman bathing hall could be.

I know what you mean, it is important to feel a place properly... my uncle who I was visiting kept getting embarrassed and calling me a Hippie... but no one was bothered other than him 😂 Yes, it is amazing how advanced the Romans were in many regards... but they were also the most ruthless and brutal force in the world at the time. The dichotomy of humankind.

I have also learned 3 new words: frigidarium (cold room), tepidarium (warm room), and caldarium (hot room).

They are interesting ancient Latin words (frigidarium/tepidarium/caldarium), but definitely not common English words in usage today, just so you know 😉

Thanks for visiting my travel blog, I have not been writing much poetry recently and what I have been writing is being saved for submission to mainstream journals. I did put up a performance piece the other day in case you're interested, it is me performing two poems at a local poetry night. But they are very political poems, and that might not be your cuppa tea as we say here 😂

Here is a YouTube version in case you want to hear the voice behind the words, I thought they might censor it but it seems they don't care about people with 13 followers on YouTube 😂: