My Daily Life#03(01-23-2021)- A Glimpse of Baguio City during the Pandemic

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Good day guys!

my_life_01_1_17_2021.jpg
Last January 23, 2021. I slept at around 3 am because I didn't notice the time while I was using my computer to write. I then woke up around 6:30 to get ready for work. I had a difficult time getting up from the bed. It was a really slow morning because I was sleep-deprived, it was raining and it was colder than usual. When I got to work the rain kept on pouring.
image.png
We started treating our patients at around 9 am after asking our Doctor what we should do. The first patient we went to was eating through an NGT so we couldn't treat him, so we decided to go to another patient. We went to our patient who was still a child, we started his modalities but our other colleague came in and wanted to test if he could eat a full diet already, so we gave her way and went to the patient who was feeding awhile ago, we were able to treat him. After that, we went back to the child. We treated the child, it was really nice to see his progress day by day. We went to our next patient but deferred her treatment due to fever. We then went to our last patient to give our contact number if ever she still wanted to continue her treatment because she was for discharge already. We then went down at around 11 and disinfected, while waiting for lunch I was staying in one of the rooms and I almost fell asleep. I stood up and looked at the window and saw that it was starting to get foggy.
image.png
We then ate our lunch. After lunch, we were surprised that our young patient was going to get discharged so we went up and got their details because the father wanted to continue his treatment. We also got 2 new referrals so we had to wait for the Doctor to do the rounds. After rounds, we treated both of them. It was my very first time to treat two patients at once staying in one room. We then went down, disinfected, updated the doctors, and did our notes.
image.png
One thing that I love about Saturdays is that our duty is only until 4 pm, unlike the other days which are 5. Instead of asking my mom to pick me up, I decided to walk to church.
image.png
This is part of Assumption road. This structure is called Ili-Likha Artist Village, it is actually a food court. There are different restaurants inside. They also have a flower shop, this is where I usually buy my flowers. The design is really intricate. Can you spot the turtles?
image.png
This is the stretch of Assumption Road, The building on the right has some restaurants and bars. If you look further you can see AMDC which is a Diagnostic Center. If you reach the bottom, you'll be in Session Road.
image.png

Sky world Commercial Center is an Ukay- Ukay. An Ukay Ukay is a place where they sell cheap secondhand items such as clothes, bags, shoes, and other accessories. You just have to be careful because they also sell items that are imitated.
image.png
I was going down session road, there are a lot of people walking around. I still try my best to distance myself. If you're wondering what CID Express is, it's a store that sells school supplies.
image.png
This one is one of the busiest walkways here at Session Road. That building where Jollibee is located now was McDonald's Before. Until now my landmark for it is Old McDonalds.
image.png
This walkway is part of Mabini Street. We usually buy Pandesal in some of the shops located here. I'm really glad that they increased the walkway of the pedestrians in this street.
image.png
This place is Harrison Road. During the night on the street at the right. They put up a Night Market which is an Ukay Ukay where you can get great bargains, but you should also look thoroughly at the products that you plan to buy for any defects. They also sell a lot of street food. They recently opened it despite the pandemic.
image.png
That minibus is our modernized jeepneys. Though there are only a few routes that use this minibus. The only routes that I know are Trancoville and Aurora Hill. Beyond that fence is the field called Melvin Jones Grandstand.
image.png
The photo below is Melvin Jones. It's an open field where they usually host parades and concerts. I remember before the pandemic, this field would be packed with people doing different kinds of activities such as playing football, playing catch with their frisbee, and practicing dances. When I went there, it was really empty. But I also think that the rain played a factor that there were only a few people.
image.png
As I was walking I saw these two cats just staring at me, I wanted to go closer but they seemed afraid.
image.png
This is one of the restaurants in Burnham called Ganza, They serve Binalot meals and snacks such as Palabok, Lumpia, Pork BBQ, Puto Bumbong, and Empanada.
image.png
1.jpg

Beside Ganza Restaurant is the Flower Shop. There are a lot of stalls selling flowers. They used to stay by the sidewalk of Harrison Road.
image.png
I wanted to cross the road going to the main Park but they were fixing the drainage. So there were deep holes and there was a lot of mud. I even got tempted to pass by that tube but it might collapse and I'll get fined. My shoes also won't forgive me if I passed by the mud.
2.jpg

I just decided to walk till I find a path. Unfortunately, I had to walk the whole stretch of Melvin Jones.
image.png
At the end of Melvin Jones is another restaurant called Solibao. They serve Rice Toppings, Merienda, and Pulutan. Based on what I know, Solibao and Ganza have the same owners.
image.png
I was finally able to cross here on that street.
image.png
A few weeks ago when I passed by here there were a lot of children biking. But because of the rain, it was very empty.
image.png
It really felt so good to walk around Burnham Park when there were only a few people. It just felt so peaceful.
image.png
You would really appreciate the beauty of nature. There was a part that is full of flowers. I think these flowers are called Dahlia, correct me if I'm wrong. There were a lot of variants. It was also great to see bees doing their work.
3.jpg

There are also bushes of sunflowers on some islands.
image.png
This is Burnham Lake, this is where you can rent a boat and go boating. When I saw the Mickey Mouse boat, I was thinking if it's a gothic version haha. If you see that building in the middle, that's Baguio City Hall.
image.png
Whenever I come across this pathway I find it trippy to look at.
image.png
While walking I spotted a person doing push-ups on that bench. If you look closely at that table, it can be used as a chessboard.
image.png
Walking here felt great and rejuvenating after working. You get to enjoy looking at the trees and all the flowers starting to bloom.
image.png
If I recall there are 2 biking areas, one is for children and the other one is for the older people. The photo below is the one for the older people. There were a few people biking here.
image.png
This is the one for the children and if you look back into this post I posted some photos of this place. They use 4 wheeled pedal karts here which is child friendly.
image.png
Continuing my walk, this is the children's playground. I'm not yet sure if it's functional already but I remember that they were doing renovations last year.
image.png
Across is it is the Baguio City Library and their Barangay Hall. I only went to this library once in my whole life and it was when I was in elementary. I already forgot why I was there and how it looked.
image.png
This is Kisad Road. There are a lot of hotels by this road. There are also restaurants such as Canto which has the best ribs in town, in my opinion, Shakey's, Cholo's Gastro Park, Jamie's and others. The fences were also donated by people their names were there when I was reading it. I also learned that you shouldn't walk in that yellow strip when it rains because it is slippery
4.jpg

I finally reached the Church called Our Lady of Lourdes Parish.
image.png
I met my mom and my siblings. This is how it looks like inside.
image.png
The sky just looked really nice after attending mass. We then went to buy our food for our dinner.
image.png
My sister treated us our dinner from a restaurant called Camping Date. The last time I went there was pre covid, it's a Korean restaurant where you can order food and stay inside a tent which is inside the restaurant. She ordered us Flavored wings which were Honey Butter Chicken, Snowing Cheese chicken, and Soysossy Chicken. I really had fun during this day.

Untitled design.jpg

Thanks for reading and Stay safe always!

The photos used in this post are owned by me .

text16.png

EARN BITCOIN CASH BY CREATING AN ACCOUNT HERE AND POSTING

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1097.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: