My First Solo Visit Outside The Border

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

When I started writing about this post, I was at a loss of what to write. Not because I don't have anything to write about, but because I have too much to write about that I'm overwhelmed. I haven't had traveled in a while and I wanted to change that this year. But the Covid19 has changed all my plans. Nevertheless, I'll start traveling as soon as the ban is uplifted.

But do you know what I was planning on? I'll tell you. It just so happens that my plans fit perfectly with the 2000 Hive contest to celebrate reaching 1000 Travel Digests of Haveyoubeenhere and I knew just the thing to write.

Like I said before, I was planning to travel this year. I go around a different part of my country every now and then but I have never gone outside country borders; well not in the last 2 decades (only went once when I was a kid). So, this year May I had a plan to visit Darjeeling (West Bengal, India). Darjeeling... Have you seen Darjeeling or its photos on the internet?


Image

Since I was a teenager, I always had dreamt of traveling around the world. But, I fell in love with Darjeeling even before that. When I was a kid, I read in my school book about the train of Darjeeling that can drive around the hills and looks kind of like a toy train. I know it's a bit childish, but look at from my point of view, I was a child myself. There I was daydreaming about the toylike train in Darjeeling and wondering how it would move around the hills.

<
Image

Later on, I became enchanted with the landscape, absolutely breathtaking. I don't think any other place has drawn me as much as Darjeeling did. And so I had decided to start my travels here, my first solo travel outside the country, Darjeeling. Yes I know I have been repeating the name over and over again but I can't help it. Even when I'm writing about it I'm visualizing. But I was planning on not only to travel to Darjeeling but also to Sikkim as well. They are very close and I was planning to make a 7-day trip to just see everything. And along with the plane fair and living expenses, $1000 is more than enough to cover it all.


Image: Sikkim

There are so many places to see and things to do in Darjeeling and Sikkim. Toy car ride, cable car ride, mountain biking, paragliding. You can do all these by yourself or get a travel package. Well, I did want to choose a travel pack as it would be my first trip and want to make the best of it.

These are just a few notable places that I was planning on seeing:

Darjeeling: Batasia Loop, Darjeeling Toy Train, Kanchenjunga Mountain, Tiger Hill, Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park, Tinchuley Village


Image

Sikkim: Gurudongmar Lake, Nathula Pass, Yumthang Valley, Tashi view point.


Image

This is what I had planned on doing before the lockdown. Well, I'm hoping to do it once this lockdown is revoked and hopefully I'll do more than just visiting Darjeeling and Sikkim.

Thanks a lot to @brittandjosie for inviting me here. I was planning on posting it sooner but work and other stuff got a little messed up.

Thank you so much, everyone.

surrealfia.gif

Sort:  

Well done on the non travelling by that darn Covid monster, cause we have to stay dreaming about it. Darjeeling indeed I only know that from the tea. I think you are still in time for the contest so great job, good luck in the contest winning

thank you so much @brittandjosie, it has been so crazy at work... I write a little bit then I get busy then write a bit more... finally finished it in a week hahaha... I hope it was on time

The first picture is breathtaking! Gave me a Switzerland-ish vibe with those mountains in the back.
Great post!

Thank you so much 😊 it is breathtakingly beautiful.... that's the Kanchenjunga mountain