You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ascent to the Valley of Silence, (ENG/SPA)

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Great capture my friend. The river was crystal clear.

Reveal spoiler

image.png

This photo reminds me of one of the river near a waterfall here named Kionsom Waterfall. But this Kionsom waterfall is not that far from the main road. Still can hear some of the cars passing by.

I envy you guys can have this awesome adventure into the mountains and rivers. Great sharing. !PIZZA

Oh by the way how many camera gear did you bring in this trip?

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for your comment. I have seen photos of nature in Malaysia and it amazes me how similar our forests look, different species but similar in appearance. This is because both countries are practically at the same latitude.

For this tour I thought a lot about what equipment to bring, at first I was going to take two cameras, but I remembered that my physical condition was not at its best. so I only packed a body and two lenses, the Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 and the Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 which is quite heavy. Plus a lightweight tripod, flash, extra batteries, and filters. It was the best decision, in the end, the equipment, clothes and food weighed 18 kilos. I barely made it. 😅

the equipment, clothes and food weighed 18 kilos.

THAT IS VERY HEAVY!! 😂😱 I remember last time I went to climb the Mount Kinabalu with around 6-7Kg of things. it feels heavier overtime 😅, but yours, 18Kg THATS A LOT!

Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 and the Sigma 70-200mm f2.8

This focal length already got you covered. Only that the Sigma 70-200mm is like lifting a brick 🤣 but its worth it right? You have great shoot on the journey.

Yes, it was incredibly heavy, I ended up with bruises on my shoulders, but being such an isolated place, we had to carry everything. I lay on a bed in the cabin for almost two hours to recover a bit 🥵. And yes, the sigma lenses weigh like stone, in the end the best decision was not to bring the other camera and the macro lens. I will remember to exercise more before another hike of this style. 😂🏃