The Road to Armageddon, With a New Friend

in Pinmapple2 years ago

This weekend I decided to give myself a little test. Get to the northernmost point on the continental part of the country. It may sound like something that is very far away. Well, for me it's only 140 kilometers away. However, if we were talking about ordinary roads, then we could count on 3 hours of a quiet journey. But here, where the roads abruptly end, and those that are still may be covered with snow and ice, and others disappear with the tide, these three hours turn into 6-8 hours, if you're lucky.

70.jpg

72.jpg

The day started wonderfully, with a bright blue sky, light clouds and a playful sun that is about to go into round-the-clock operation in the next couple of months. I couldn't even believe that everything was going so well. But I've lived here long enough to know that the weather can change in just a few minutes and you will be covered by a blizzard. Therefore, I raced as fast as possible in order to have time to skip one of the sections with a low tide.

81.jpg

82.jpg

I've always liked the combination of local colors in the cold season. White, blue and, blue and gray. That's all we have here most of the year. Beauty in minimalism, clearly separated elements, each element in its place. Somewhere passing smoothly into each other, somewhere existing in contrast.

87.jpg

88.jpg

I got to the coast quite quickly and successfully, a little ahead of schedule, so I had the opportunity to stop for a snack and admire the North Sea. While the earth around is just waking up from hibernation, life is already boiling in the sea. The low tide leaves behind a rich world of marine flora and fauna on the coast.

90.jpg

96.jpg

97.jpg

98.jpg

There are a lot of shells from sea creatures who were not lucky enough to become someone's prey. Either underwater predators or insatiable birds. I’ve always been struck by how full of life these waters are. Looking at the deserted scenery, you forget that there, under the water, life is constantly boiling, even in the coldest time of the year. No wonder, because no matter how icy these steel waves seem, the water temperature is much higher than the air.

01.jpg

84.jpg

After a short rest, the most difficult and unpredictable section of the road in the low mountains was waiting for me. I took the risk to go alone, although it's better not to do it at this time of year. Not all roads are reliable yet, and if you are traveling alone, you may well get stuck somewhere in the middle of the tundra or rocks and hope only for the help of the same travel lovers.

83.jpg

Usually people gather in groups of 3-4 cars to insure each other. Therefore, being alone, I had to drive very slowly and often stop to check the potency of some sections on the way. A very tiring task, moving at the speed of a turtle.

85.jpg

Anyway, after overcoming the hard part, a very pleasant surprise was waiting for me. A young, fiery and brave local resident, a road robber- a fox cub! This is the second time in my life when I managed to see a fox so close.

123.jpg

118.jpg

Despite the fact that they are very common here, they are also very careful, still their valuable fur attracts hunters.

121.jpg

122.jpg

I’ll assume that this young man was already familiar with people, and decided that they didn’t pose a serious danger. Lucky. We looked at each other with mutual curiosity, but he was clearly waiting for something from me.

113.jpg

999.jpg

112.jpg

111.jpg

I decided to share my food supplies with him. I think grilled meat is not the most harmful food for this bandit.

888.jpg

He swallowed these huge chunks without even chewing and then disappeared under the protection of a rare forest.

117.jpg

Well, I wasn't offended, he will remain in my memory forever, and I managed to take these good pictures to refresh my memories at any moment. Thank you, my new red-haired friend. I think it was a good sign.

119.jpg

This unexpected meeting made me hurry up in order to reach my destination in time and return home on the same day, rather than spending the night in a car in the middle of deserted northern rocks.

And so, where are we in such a hurry? – Cape Kekursky, another name for the German cape. But the people call this place Armageddon.

101.jpg

104.jpg

Believe me, this name is not accidental. Now, in spring the sea is very calm and peaceful, but when autumn storms come, everything changes. The height of the waves can reach the height of coastal rocks. And thousands of tons of water, along with stone chips, bite into the coastline. The Arctic wind gives the power of the water element.

106.jpg

108.jpg

105.jpg

That is why the shore here is so strangely shaped, as if a huge giant cut off a piece of rock on the shore with a knife. And the rocks framing it are all in sharp edges and curved ledges. Unfortunately, the photos don’t convey the size and scale of the coast, it stretches for several kilometers, and the rocks are not inferior in height to multi-storey buildings.

107.jpg


A few years ago I was "lucky" to visit here in November, together with the meteorological expedition. In winter, this coast looks very epic.

107_1.jpg

I don't know how these people dared to come so close to the water, but I was forbidden to cross the line of coastal rocks because I had no special training.


110.jpg

If you look closely, you will notice that what appears to be wooden planks covering the shore will turn out to be stone crumbs.

106_1.jpg106_2.jpg106_3.jpg

Every year, for millions of years, the sea continues to advance on the shore, lifting already broken pieces from the bottom and hurling them in rage at the surviving guards still holding the defense. It is likely that in a hundred thousand years nothing will remain of these rocks.

102.jpg

103.jpg

We will definitely come back here in the summer. Old-timers say that the surroundings covered with green moss under the polar sun create a picture of unimaginable beauty, with a humble summer sea that rolls onto the shore lazily and even apologizing a little for the past storms. And they also say that there are a lot of lemmings here. Well, we'll find out in a couple of months.

109.jpg

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That was quite a trip by yourself. Do you have an emergency kit with you in case ..of an emergency?

Looking at the awesome photos, I can see why water is the most powerful element and can eventually even wear rocks down.

Seeing the handsome red fox is a lucky omen, especially that you shared your food with him/her. They are special, at least in my books. 💕

As always, you are very caring and attentive, dear Northern Lady 😊
Yes, I have quite a lot of tourist equipment, several first aid kits, in reserve, gas burners, and most importantly a walkie-talkie in the car. We have a local community of travelers, so a walkie-talkie will always help you call for help wherever you are. I myself go every week to pull someone out of the ditch.

I think you're absolutely right about the foxes. They're magical 😉

Perhaps the lemmings will bring another fox? What a lucky meeting

I think it will be so 😁 in fact, I didn't mention it in the post, so as not to make this place even more gloomy, but in summer it turns into a Fleming cemetery. They crash on the rocks, and a lot of birds are circling in the sky. I think foxes come here too, for a light meal.

Lemmings do have strange habits

Maybe it's too much Game of Thrones, but I kept waiting for a White Walker to appear.

Ahaha, exactly! 🤣 I had the same feeling there in winter especially!

Thank you for taking me on this beautiful trip around such wonderful places. I just love the colors of the landscapes and everything on your photos💗

what appears to be wooden planks covering the shore will turn out to be stone crumbs.

For a moment I thought they were until I enlarged the photos and oh my, they are astounding!

Meeting and feeding the cub fox culminated your trip so wonderfully :)

Thank you my friend! I'm very glad that you took the time to make this journey with me! 😊
I think you can build a strong house out of these stone- planks 😉

You are welcome, I enjoyed every bit of it :) The stone planks really fascinated me. Just how wonderful mother nature is!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What an epic journey you had @thenortherner 😎 very brave of you.
Love the photographs of the fox. He is cute and sure liked the treat 😉
The name Armageddon is well said for such a place. Stunning but also humbling.
Thanks so much for sharing 😊

@tipu curate 5

Wow, thank you so much! 🙏
I hope to see new posts from you soon! your nature is close to me 😉

This post on the North Sea is beautiful. Your post conveys the sense of adventure and mystery.

Thank you, my friend! 🙏

You had a beautiful experience!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1564.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thabk you. my friend! 🙏

What a beautiful journey! I always get in that type of roads during my journey and they come with both excitement but also with the fear not to get stuck somewhere since you never know how long it will take to make it to the other side.

I think I've seen at least one fox every year so far, but somehow I'm still excited when I get to see these beautiful creatures. Nice shots too!

Thanks! Usually I only see fox butts, more than once a year, much more often 😅 So to look into the eyes of this animal is a rarity and a miracle for me 😊

Wow !!! Amazing nature

Yes, very authentic, and therefore amazing. Thnak you for reading! ☺️

Very nice place

A little gloomy, but overall yes 😅

Cool sceneries @thenortherner. i love to see the fox too there

It makes perfect sense to travel at the speed of a turtle. 🐢 and always certain to arrive, eventually. Wonderful trip!!! 😍

Whoa that's so stunning! the fox picture is so cool.

Thank you! 😊