You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: India, Kerala - Coconut plantation - so many new things in only one day! - part 2

in Pinmapple3 months ago

Ha, you made it home OK since then, I assume! Didn't get 'beaned' by a coconut, lol - something I watched tourists being cautioned in Hawaii - and there were cases, so the police in Waikiki put barrier tape around the trees.
Must have been quite a trip.
On Lanai (Oahu) at the Polynesian Culture Center, I watched the same kind of demo. Samoan guy climbing the tree bringing down the coconuts, then shredding the outer hull, opening the coconut and offering drinks of the milk to the tourists. There were some Korean ladies, and the one who tasted it, he told her 'come on, drink it all up' - after she did, he said to her: 'Oh I forgot to tell you, we use the coconut milk as a laxative' (Abführmittel).
I laughed about that for hours afterwards. Should have seen her face, lol.