Destination: The Alpaca Loom Coffee Shop and Weaving Studio

in Pinmapplelast year

There is a farm filled with shaggy mammals strolling about. Some of their teeth are crooked and they have massive eyeballs. The best of it all, they have knock knees. In my opinion, alpacas and llamas are one of those immaculate creatures. Flawed and beyond repair, but being dishevelled is the reason for melting my heart when I saw them in the flesh.

Knock knees

The farm

When we drove on the Suid-Agter-Paarl Road, I could already see black letters spelling out: ALPACA LOOM

On the dirt road going up to the farm, there were signs warning us of alpacas. I found it rather amusing, but later I found out that it was made for a reason…

They are hungry!

Thus the reason for the farm selling bags of seeds at the entrance. It is only $1.18 for a bag and you can buy as many as you would like. There is also a petting fee of $1.18.

With that you are ready to go, but before you proceed, embrace your surroundings as it is a farm after all. Smell the hay, take in the view of the mountains and enjoy the animals resonating all around.
Appreciate the farm.

Meet and Feed

On my way I came across some geese waddling on the grass toward me. For a moment I got flashbacks to the time a bird pecked at my calf, but these geese were only after the seeds. They were quite friendly and walked alongside me.

Finally we meet them, alpacas and llamas. The alpacas’ mouth tickled my hand when I fed them as their mouth are also fluffy. Their teeth may look menacing, but they only use their lips when they are eating out of your hand.

I tried to pet their heads, but they shook my hand away. I figured that I should pet them when they are occupied with eating. One of the alpacas did not care when I brushed my hand through its fringe.

Along the path there are some other animals as well. The Angora goat looks as if he is a metal fan. Maybe he and one of the emo alpacas listen to Slipknot. There were two mini versions of the metal goat and a lot of Anglo-Nubian goats. They are just as friendly and do not duck away when you want to pet them.

The metal goat

The emo alpaca

The little ones

Lastly we have a pony, some horses and Dromedary camels. It was magnificent to see the camels up close. They are majestic.

Fleece galore

Scarves

There is a giftshop selling llama and alpaca inspired products. There is also working looms inside of the shop that is used to make some of the products like blankets, ponchos, beanies, scarves and even art!

It is mesmerising to see how they use the fleece of the animals on the farm to create such beautiful pieces. There is a row of samples of the different fleece you can touch. It is interesting to feel the different textures and to see the variety of colours that are available.

Lastly there is the coffee shop that sells delicious treats and drinks. It has a nice ambiance and view. Beneath you the llamas and alpacas are roaming around and before you there is the beauty of the mountains protruding on the horison.

Thank you for reading! I hope you can also visit the Alpaca Loom someday, it is definitely worth it.

(All the photographs were captured by either my iPhone or my partner @fermentedphil's Nikon D300. The content is also my own creation.)

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @urban.scout! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to your friends
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Sponsor Feedback and Feedback Request
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1742.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for choosing my post to feature! I appreciate it dearly.