The Chiang Mai Marathon 2021

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Chang Mai (2).png

For the past few weeks I've been training for the Chiang Mai Mini Marathon (aka 10K) and I'm proud to say that I finally completed my first official 10k! Until now, I've only run a 10k on my own, but never officially with recorded time. Running this race gave me the opportunity to meet new people and travel to another amazing city in Thailand, Chiang Mai.

3.png

The race started at 5:00 in the morning, so my coworker and were out of Hotel by 4:30 am. Registration had taken place the previous day and included a ATK- Covid Test, so we already had everything we needed. There were people of all ages participating in the event.

The participants were scheduled in waves by our age grouping, eldest first. My coworker was in Phase 1 and I was in phase 4. I'm relatively young, but I'm not the fastest runner so many of the people in my group looked more fit and much younger. I waited in line with my group for my portion of the race to start.

2.png

Once the race started, I kept a relatively slow pace until mile three. At that point, I felt a sudden burst of energy and was able to increase my pace. I cranked my music up and ran the 10k in 1 hour and 4 minutes.

I was greeted by traditional Thai drums at the finish line.

5z6r9e.gif

I also was able to make a few new friends who wanted to take pictures with me of course.

4.png

For some reasons the race organizers added this random old school car outside the race event. I had to snap a few pictures

3.png


This post is authored by @w-t-fi who writes content about travel, financial independence, and life as a international expat. Check out more post similar to this at @w-t-fi 's blog.

Sort:  

Oh cool! The Chang Mai Marathon is (loosely) on our to do list! Congrats on running your first official 10K race @W-T-Fi 🙌👏😎

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @w-t-fi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear @w-t-fi,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!

Congratulations on your 10km personal best. Nice write up and photos too. We have heard about the Chiang Mia Marathon and hope to do it in the future. Were here many hills to contend with?