Travel Memories: Thailand Part 3 - Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

in Pinmapple4 years ago
Hello Hiveans! It's now the third part of my Travel Memories in Thailand. For this post, I will be sharing our experience at Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, which is the most famous among floating markets in Thailand.

Floating Market 38.jpgBoats started to get overcrowded

As a recap, here are short clips from my previous posts:

Travel Memories: Thailand Part 1 - Ancient Siam

Ancient Siam, one of the biggest outdoor museum, showcases the history and beauty of ancient Thailand through its replica of the famous temples and ruins. A day's visit will surely satisfy your eyes and mind with the richness of Thailand's culture.


Ayutthaya 7.jpg

Travel Memories: Thailand Part 2 - Ayutthaya

The historic city of Ayutthaya is a former capital of the Siamese kingdom. It is no wonder that it was protected by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site for its preserved architecture that proudly brings us back to ancient Thailand.



LUXURY RIDE
High-end boat ride


For our Thailand tour for the day, we were planning to go to Damnoen Saduak Floating Market. It was quite far from where we were staying. Though it was quite expensive, we hired a Grab in going there. When we already rode the car, the driver negotiated with us to pay him 1,000 Baht for the trip in going there since it was quite far and there were toll fees to pay along the way. It was more than the booking fee when we logged to the app. Since we were three, we were thinking it would still be practical and convenient than to find other ways to commute. So, we agreed with him.

Floating Market0.gif
It's a trap!

We already reached the Damnoen Saduak District and we kept looking at Google Maps. We started to get nervous because we turned somewhere not directly pinned at the Damnoen Saduak Floating Market. Eventually, we stopped and arrived in a docking area for boats going to the floating market. We were kind of hesitant since it didn't look similar to the entrance that we searched for and the boat ride was also more expensive than we found in blogs. We wanted to walk to the main entrance of the floating market but it was quite far. So, we just gave in after a few minutes of thinking and convincing (a bit of intimidation) by the receptionist.

Floating Market 6.jpgWelcome to Damnoen Saduak Floating Market!

After a few minutes of boat ride, we started to see stalls on the side and was relieved as the sign for Damnoen Saduak Floating Market appeared in front of us. As we went deeper into the market, we saw more boats. Some were loaded with tourists like us while there were also boats carrying Thai delicacies to entice curious and hungry nearby passengers.

Floating Market 2.jpg

Floating Market 5.jpg

Floating Market 30.jpgStill not so crowded part of the floating market

We found ourselves lucky that we were able to rent a boat with shade. Though it was a bit gloomy, we can still feel the heat of the sun. By the end of the ride, we could have been so sweaty.

BARGAINING SKILL
Practicing the Art of Negotiation


Stalls along the canal were mostly selling souvenirs. There were restaurants too but some foodies were sold in boats, making it easier to reach and buy when you started to get hungry during the ride. I really did not search beforehand what I would expect to see in the floating market. When I travel somewhere, I don't want to search much about the place to have a bit of surprise upon going there. I really thought the floating market would look like a wet market in water, yet it was more like a tourist haven.

Floating Market 9.jpgOrnaments of different sizes

Buddha and elephant images like sculptures and carvings were popular souvenirs here. These came in different sizes and materials. Buddha images also have different representations like the happy Buddha.

Floating Market 28.jpgHappy Buddha image

Floating Market 31.jpgCute wood carvings

Floating Market 17.jpgTeapots and elephant decors

When we were buying souvenir ref magnets, to one of the stalls not really near the canal, an old couple was very accommodating to us. Their ref magnets were cheaper than others. Upon paying, we were given a very cute elephant wood carving. They said to bring it always for good luck.

Floating marketelephant.jpgLucky elephant charm

Floating Market 23.jpg

Floating Market 15.jpg

Bags and clothes were also present in the floating market. Thailand is known for selling affordable clothes. On one of the stalls, I was interested to buy those colorful elephant pants. I think they were comfortable to wear and I was planning to give to my friends. When the woman selling computed the total price, I was a bit hesitant to pay. I was thinking maybe there were other stores in Bangkok that would sell those cheaper than here. So I started to haggle for the price, the lady gave me only a few discount. I was still not convinced of the price so I asked for the price to be lower. The lady no longer gave in and politely asked from what country I came from. So I proudly said, "Philippines!". She chuckled and heard her say, "That's why!". Maybe she experienced bargaining too from fellow Kababayans before. I think it's just our culture to negotiate for a lower price especially buying in bulk.

Floating Market 21.jpgElephant bags and pouches

Floating Market 8.jpgThai clothes and other girly stuffs

What I didn't expect to see were some vintage (or vintage-looking) collector's items like those miniature old Coca-Cola bottles that we collected before. It's nice to put up these and their vintage-looking signages in your room if your up for that retro style.

Floating Market 7.jpgVintage collectibles

Floating Market 22.jpg

Floating Market 11.jpg

Floating Market 20.jpg

Floating Market 19.jpg


ARTS AND WILDLIFE
A Picture Paints A Thousand Words


Paintings of different subjects were also sold here. What really caught my attention was this mother and baby elephant painting. I remembered the one I saw in Ayutthaya where a young elephant was chained together with its mother. I think the baby elephant got tired that it rested its leg to the fence. Looking at the both of them saddened me that they were there for entertainment. I didn't want to try an elephant ride. Other than being afraid of heights, I didn't want to be a burden to the elephant's back (though I'm not that heavy, right? 😁). Having to see an actual elephant face-to-face was once of the things that I really wanted to do in Thailand. I'm curious how this gentle giant looked like. Hopefully next time, I could visit other places, like in Chiang Mai where elephants are free to roam around and enjoy nature.

Floating Market 26.jpgPaintings of varied subjects

Floating Market 34.jpgMother and child elephant painting

Ayutthaya 57.jpgMother and child elephants in Ayutthaya

Floating Market 25.jpgMore of the paintings

Towards the end of our boat ride, we saw animals displayed at the side of the canal. There was a snake and lorises. It was my first time to see a loris. Its big eyes looked similar to tarsiers in Bohol but had bigger body size. I think you will pay if you want to hold and have selfies with them. We just quickly snapped photos so that we didn't have to pay. 😆 It's still best to see those wildlife animals stay in their natural habitat.

Floating Market 1.jpgSleeping loris

Floating Market 33.jpgTamed snake resting on its owner

Floating Market 32.jpgHungry loris munching


DRIVE THRU
Fastfood floating version


We didn't miss the day without grabbing something for our hungry tummies. Along the crowded part of the canal, there were boats selling fruits, snacks and desserts. There were noodles, coconut ice cream. Maybe I was just too hungry that I forgot to take a picture of what I ate. So when we were dropped off to the bank, we settled at the nearest restaurant.

Floating Market 14.jpg

Floating Market 13.jpg

Floating Market 16.jpg

Floating Market 18.jpg

Floating Market 4.jpgFaces of the hungry travellers

When we walked towards the exit/entrance of the floating market (the one we expected to enter instead of the private pier) we saw an old lady selling coconut pancakes. Her sweet smile urged us to try those pancakes. The pancakes were soft, sweet and chewy.

Floating Market 37.jpgMain entrance of the floating market

Floating Market 35.jpgCharming pancake lady


THE END
But still not the last


Every trip has its surprises. We ran into some troubles along the way and spent more than what was planned. But what's important is how we dealt with it and made the best out of it.

Floating Market 39.jpg

This ends our trip to Damnoen Saduak Floating Market. I would like to thank everyone for following since part 1 of this trip. Next up is the final chapter of my Thailand Travel Memories - Bangkok City tour. See you then! 😉

Floating Market 29.jpg

Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Location: [//]:# (!pinmapple 13.524227 lat 99.961870 long d3scr)

Sort:  

Amazing travel report and I am really glad that you didn´t support the elephant rides attraction. I have talked about it many times here on Hive under many other travelers´ posts. In my book, it´s nothing but animal abuse for human profit. Similarly to those animal selfies attractions, unfortunately... Animals belong in the wild and for those who love them, there is always a way to watch them or even interact with them sometimes in their natural environment without hurting them.

@tipu curate 2

Thanks @phortun that you like it. It's best just to see them afar. I even remember that pregnant elephant in India that was fed with firecracker. It really breaks my heart hearing news like that.

May I know what's the name of your book?

I heard about that too, a heartbreaking story indeed :(

"In my book" is actually just a phrase, meaning "in my opinion". I haven´t written any books (yet :D)

Oops. I just took it literally. 😂 Lol

Hi there, I'm just dropping by and was instantly captivated by the lovely experience you had at the floating market. I think I would be stuffing one big bag with great finds here and risk being called out for over baggage at the check-in counter 😁 Thank you for sharing

Thanks @discoveringarni! We did upgrade our baggage upon going home. Luckily our bags were big enough to bring those souvenirs. 😁

I can imagine it is definitely worth the upgrade 🙂

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @wandergirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #956.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

All the more reason to visit Thailand! It certainly does look like a place in the Philippines, just by the looks of it. You know, mga kanal kanal rahud sa kilid kilid haha. But I am sure it is way beyond that as this country has a really unique culture. I will make sure to visit this when I do get there. And with that, I hope it's not too nosy of me to ask you some tips about how to get around there. :D

Looking forward to Part 4!

It does look like a flooded street in Colon except that it doesn't smell awful.😂

Sure! I'll share to you our itinerary as your reference. 😁

It amazes me how the stores are really on the river and you have to ride boats to buy the items. It looks both exciting and a bit scary. What if the items fall into the water? Hahaha.
I think the elephants also look sad that they were there. 😔

I enjoyed this post and it's good to see Jay! Hahaha.

I also wonder about that and what if it will rain so hard, wouldn't the water rise and drown the items? 🤔

Yes, I couldn't look at them for too long. Especially when they had to carry and move passengers. Their trainers use hooks at them. I don't know if it's sharp or not.

Thanks! He is sending his regards to you. 😁

Wow amazing place! It is not cool! it is amazing!!!!!!!

Indeed! You might want to explore this place.

Soon after the pandemic with my family!!! In God's will... I will contacted all HIVERS there! (^_^)

I wanted to shop there! It is quite normal that you spend more than planned.

Hope you can go there soon!

I hope! 🙏

Never even knew that such a thing as a floating market existed! It looks like loads of fun! In that one pic, I am amazed that the boats can even get anywhere because there are so many lol. !tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that not only welcomes ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Indeed it's the first time for me to see it too in Thailand. The boats get crowded at the end of the trip. It's amazing that they don't hit each other.

Thanks @jaynie for the tip!

We were actually hoping to go to Thailand this year, but Covid and lockdown ruined those plans lol! If we ever DO get there, then I am DEFINITELY going to explore that place!

My pleasure :)


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that not only welcomes ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

🎁 Hi @wandergirl! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.