A little getaway to Tailem Bend

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

Tailem Bend is a tiny little town on the Murray river, mainly known for their Motorsport Park called "The Bend" (go figure).

I went there a few times so far, once was to work at The Bend for three days while they were hosting Supercars event.

This time I was invited by my friends Rob and Helen (different Helen than you've seen in my previous posts:D ). The plan was to stay there for a couple of days, catch up and head to the river. On the first day we ended up visiting a couple of their friends, where we were greeted by two dogs and four birds and had a nice chat (with the animals too). After that we went for a bit of a hike to Mannum Waterfalls. Beautiful spot but no waterfalls this time, it has become too dry over here. But still a beautiful spot to visit, there is a creek at the bottom but hard to walk by the creek, too steep and rocky. Me and Helen did try walking there but we turned around somewhere in the middle and took a safer option.

DSC_0102.JPG

DSC_0099.JPG

DSC_0098.JPG

DSC_0100.JPG

DSC_0103.JPG

DSC_0095.JPG

DSC_0107.JPG

DSC_0092.JPG

DSC_0109.JPG

Nice hike it was for sure! It got hot very quickly though so we headed back to their place and chilled.

How do I know Helen and Rob?
Well, they have a very special place in my heart. When I moved to Australia in 2016, Helen and Rob were renting out one of their rooms in their house (when they still lived in Adelaide). I found them on Homestay site and decided to rent their place for my first month. They were my first step to get to know Australia and the way of life a little bit. When the month passed and I had to find a new place, we decided to stay in touch and we did. We caught up a few times for lunch and coffee and become better friends each time.

A few months ago they moved to Tailem Bend for a few different reasons. They are both sort of semi-retired and work casual jobs, they wanted to go away from traffic and noise and live a more simple way of life. Rob being a bike enthusiast, of course having a race track near by was kinda important. He does work and volunteer at The Bend as well.

Not long ago they also bought a speed boat and we thought we might enjoy a bit of water skiing. Unfortunately it was quite windy so as a bunch of newbies, we couldn't enjoy much of that, but we did go for a bit of a ride in the boat which was fun too.

DSC_0124.JPG

So next day, we enjoyed half a day of river fun. We packed some lunch and coffee and off we went. Spoke to a few fishermen, made a few jokes, tried out the boat, watched seagulls fight with each other for little bread crumbs found on the floor and for the first time I tried paddle boarding with Helen. Wasn't able to stand due to the wind but it's definitely something I'd like to try more often.

received_283155483872564.jpeg

DSC_0125.JPG

DSC_0119.JPG

DSC_0122.JPG

DSC_0118.JPG

As the sun went down, we did a bit of a stroll to the river again and watched the sunset.

DSC_0113.JPG

DSC_0116.JPG

Beautiful trip it was and great to catch up with my friends. As we said goodbye, they let me borrow a book that I can't seem to put down, called "Way of the peaceful warrior" by Dan Millman.

*"This classic tale, told with heart and humor, speaks to the peaceful warrior in each of us. Countless readers have been moved to laughter and tears - even moments of illumination - as they rediscover life's larger meaning and purpose. " *

There is a movie based on the book as well and really makes me want to break my rule of not watching tv (I haven't turned on TV in nearly a year now) and watch this one.

Have you heard of the book? If you've read it what are you thoughts? I'm not finished with it yet but I believe it will only take me a day or two to read it all. I definitely can already recommend it.

Thanks for watching Hive tribe and I hope you enjoyed your Christmas holidays. See you next time!

Kat

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

exelent photo

Thank you :)

Congratulations @wanderingkat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Amazing nature and photos. I haven’t heard of Tailem Bend, but it definitely goes to my travel list! And the weather is so nice. In my country it’s snow up to my knees. :)

It's a very small town so its not very popular, but its nice to see it and some places around it too, like Murray Bridge and Mount Barker.
Ohhh I miss snow!! I mean I don't like cold but snow has a magical feeling and love to watch snow falling and making footprints..oh well, I do that now on sandy beaches which is nice too :)
Keep warm over there!:)

The paddle board looks very much like our Adventure Kings inflatable ones. Can be a bit of a workout to inflate even with a battery blower but great fun especially if you get a nice calm day.

Yes, it was the inflatable one :D Not mine, Helen got it as a present and we did have a battery blower which made it easier and more convenient :) It is a great thing to have, today would be perfect to use it at the beach, the water is so calm and ideal for paddle boarding :)

You have been doing so well with all your travel and adventure posts, always a great read. How are you going with all the tokens and other hive stuff. I seem to be finding and learn new things all the time !LOL

A father was washing his car with his son
And the son says, “dad, can’t you use a sponge?”

@wanderingkat, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (2/6)

Ohhhh thank you, same goes to you I enjoy seeing animals you meet as you explore nature, lizards have become such legends already :)))
I am honestly still struggling with understanding a lot of things and trying to figure it all out. I think I just try to focus on writing nice readable content - and being completely myself while doing so - and exploring as much as I can and focus on photography which has been really good for me, gets me to be artistic and see beautiful spots some people easily miss. But understanding hive stuff is definitely most challenging of all haha :D:D