Kings Canyon, Watarrka National Park and Alice Springs

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


20210222_100958.jpg

In my previous post, I shared my first part of the Nothern Territory trip as I headed to see the great Uluru and The Olgas. You can check it out here https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@wanderingkat/the-sacred-uluru-ayers-rock-and-kata-tjuta-the-olgas

The main reason for the long journey to get there, was really to undergo the truest transformative experience of the spiritual heart of Australia and enjoy the spirits of peace, tranquillity and absorb the powerful energies while over there. Uluru was truly an experience of a lifetime and I hope my parents (who would love nothing more but to go there) get a chance to see it and experience it soon too. My dad did say he was there with me in spirit and he appreciated all the pictures I sent him while over there, so they were there in some way.

Wattarka National Park and Kings Canyon

As I said my goodbyes to The Olgas and Uluru, I packed my things and headed to my next adventure. I heard that I need to go see the amazing Kings Canyon which is another (I mean "only" ) 3,5 hours drive , 325 km from the national park.

Well, ok then...let's find me a coffee and head off!

I decided to book accommodation in one of the places near by. There's not many to choose from and at that time (and the fact that I didn't book in advance), I was only left with 2 options : Sleeping in my car or booking a bush tent for $140 with breakfast included. I decided to take the expensive, fancy option. I needed a good nights rest as I had a lot more driving to do.

I spent the night at a place called Kings Canyon Station and I have to say, it was quite comfortable, had amazing views with nature surrounding me, tasty breakfast made by a young Italian cook who came there for a bit of true outback experience, friendly owners and well what do you know, a few camels keeping me company.

20210221_212059.jpg

20210221_212140.jpg

20210221_203100.jpg

After I settled in over there, it was too late to go to Kings Canyon, so I instead first went to explore the area. Honestly, there is not much to see over there! I found a small national park which was gorgeous. Net hat was a must throughout the entire trip though!

20210221_212113.jpg

20210221_212126.jpg

Next day, I headed off to see the Kings Canyon which is considered to be one of the Territory's most remarkable natural features and I could very soon see why!

20210222_101028.jpg

20210222_101018.jpg

20210222_101009.jpg

20210222_100958.jpg

Apparently the scientific expeditions into the National Park, have revealed over 600 different species of native plant.

There are a variety of different walks (longer and shorter) you can do and they are all marked with arrows. The walks have to be done early in the morning though during the summer months.

The views are simply breathtaking!

20210222_100905.jpg

20210222_100846.jpg

20210222_100834.jpg

20210222_100817.jpg

And you will definitely spot a few kangaroos jumping around! They do blend in pretty well will the colours of the rocks so keep your eyes open :D

20210224_210117.jpg

Alice Springs

As it started to get too hot to be out hiking, I decided to take off to my final stop, which was another 3.5 hours away! But I made it!

And although I didn't stay there for long, as I was too tired and it wasn't mentally the right time for me to enjoy some more of the beautiful surroundings, I saw that Alice Springs is a cute little town and has a lot of things to see.

20210224_210012.jpg

Some things were closed at that time unfortunately, so I only went around the city, spend a few hours catching up with my friends' aunt and uncle and well, booked car service to be done before I go back. I didn't wanna risk it and the nice mechanic fit me in early morning the next day without ripping me off. If you are in Alice Springs and need a quick service, I definitely recommend NT Autocare and while they service your car, you can do a nice walk by the river.

I stayed 2 nights in the cutest hostel called Alice's Secret Travellers Inn, that got my attention as it was cheap ($28 dollars a night) and looks super comfortable, has quirky decor all around and has a super chill vibe, a pool and such cute dorms ( I was staying in a purple tiny van , sharing with one more girl one night, second night on my own. Great showers, there's a pool to use and a big kitchen area, laundry, a few cats and chickens and a secure parking spot.

20210224_205904.jpg

20210223_212829.jpg

20210224_205456.jpg

A must place to stay when over there for sure! I could easily live there :D

Anzac Hill offers amazing views of the city and make sure to visit at the right time to catch the sunrise or sunset.

20210223_191103.jpg

20210223_212854.jpg

20210223_190951.jpg

20210224_205540.jpg

20210224_205625.jpg

As soon as my car was ready to hit the road, I headed back home. I should have taken more time to explore the area but it just wasn't the right time for me. I had to go back...

I drove straight to Coober Pedy and spend the night again at that dungeon hostel and next day headed back to Adelaide. The drive was so draining and I was glad to be back at that time.

Do I wanna go back there at some point? Absolutely! And I will for sure. Which was my favourite part of the trip? Honestly, hard to say. Kings Canyon offers such amazing views but the spiritual side of Kata Tjuta and Uluru was an experience of a life time.

I hope you enjoyed my journey and found some useful information. Let me know what was your favourite part and have you been there before?

Take care, see you next time Hive tribe!

Kat


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @wanderingkat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks so much @hivebuzz :)

You're welcome @wanderingkat.

BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/147
Thank you!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you, just delegated to show my support to you guys !

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1368.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks so much, really appreciate the support @ybanezkim26 :)

You're welcome! 🙌

Congratulations @wanderingkat! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play

Thanks @for91days , much appreciated :D