Lake Bohinj - the largest natural lake in Slovenia

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Another magical place in Slovenia?

But of course, there's simply no end to the beauty of this country. Many places to see, explore and be amazed by.

Slovenia is full of nature, beautiful landscapes, lakes, rivers, forests, mountains, hiking spots and so much more.

20190720_204051.jpg

Lake Bohinj is another popular attraction, it is the largest natural lake in Slovenia and comprises almost 100 million cubic meters of water!

There is a lot to do there, from swimming, windsurfing, boat riding, kayaking, canoeing, fishing and diving and if lucky, even ice skating during winter times (taking extra caution of course).

It is a part of Triglav National Park, about 80 km from the capital city Ljubljana.

20211120_181741.jpg

Bohinj (1).jpg

Bohinj in a few numbers:

  • The longest diagonal 4100 m

  • Maximum width 1200 m

  • Maximum depth 45 m

  • Shore length approx. 11.35 km

  • Surface elevation 526 m

  • Area 318 ha

And it might not look like, especially when you go swimming, but Bohinj is home to 53 planktonic algae species, around 60 species of the freshwater zoobenthos and at least 16 fish species.

20190720_133305.jpg

20190720_132435.jpg

20190720_123820.jpg

When I was back home in 2019, we decided to spend one whole day at this amazing spot, really just to relax by the lake and swim in the water that was pleasant but a bit chilly. Keep swimming and you'll be alright, if you stop, you will feel the cold quickly.

We really had an amazing time then, lucky that my brother could also come back home for a bit. He was living in China at the time and I hadn't seen him in over 4 years. So this time we could spend the whole month together with the family and pretend we were kids again (minus punching each other, throw rocks at each other's heads and try to get the other one in trouble).

20190720_180232.jpg

Love the glasses bro! :D :D :D

20190720_132044.jpg

You can easily stare at this amazing view for ages.

And don't forget to take pictures! :D

20190720_131904.jpg

20190720_133232.jpg

There is a lot of space around the lake but during summer months and on hot days, it gets crowded quickly. Everyone is looking for a quick refreshment so it's a good idea to come early to secure your spot. Note that most areas around there, all have paid parking and even parking spots gets full quickly.

We managed to find a nice spot either way and spend hours swimming, relaxing and eating ice cream of course.

This was our view, how amazing!

20190720_204151.jpg

20190720_151446.jpg

And our funky looking tree.

Bohinj (3).jpg

20190720_204135.jpg

It really is a magical place and each time you go, you can't help but wonder how nature can create something so spectacular.

Finishing off with my favourite picture I own, a picture of me and my dad on the funky tree, captured by my mom. Miss you both !

IMG_20190720_173814.jpg

Thanks for watching, see you next time hive tribe!

Kat


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Slovenia is such a bikers heaven. I've been to super nice places riding around 3 continents but the density of Slovenia's beauty is impressive if nothing else. Almost every road in rural areas is a gem and the capital is adorable.

That would be the best way to explore places for sure, you must have seen a lot!
Yea, the size of Slovenia is so small and easy to get around and with so much nature surrounding it, you can't go wrong wherever you go. I see the beauty of it now more than I did when I lived there. Thanks for the comment, it's always nice to hear good feedback from the visitors :)

Absolutely. I've been there 3 times so far. Here's one of them:
https://orestistrips.blogspot.com/2013/06/slovenia.html
Cheers :)

Amazing!! Makes me wanna do a bike tour :)

Do a virtual one by browsing my blog or join me in my next one :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

!BEER

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

What a beautiful area 😍
Slovenia is still on my wishlist of places to visit once restrictions are gone.

It is gorgeous yes, no matter where you go, Slovenia has so much to offer. Thank you for the comment :)

Spectacular photos!

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed them :)

Lovely place 😍❤

Really is, highly recommended :)

Congratulations @wanderingkat! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Thank you! :)

Beautiful place and that water looks so beautiful and crystal clear, how I would love to be there on vacation !!

It really is so clear and the colours changing from green emerald, turquoise to deeper blue. Swimming in the lake and the looking at the mountains as you swim is just so amazing. I hope you get to experience it one day :) I appreciate your comment

Amazing Lake!

It sure is, thank you for the comment. Hopefully you get to see it one day

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1397.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

What a beautiful place :)

Really is, check it out if you ever get a chance :)

I have to say Slovenia is indeed amazing; there's a lot to see for such a small country. It's just that the Police is a pain in the arse! They stopped me on my bicycle because apparently I was riding and filming, wtf!

Ohhh really? That's crazy! They didn't give you a fine for that did they?? Fortunately I didn't have many police encounters in my 29 years over there, I was stopped once and tried to get them to not give me a fine and it didn't work even though I was super friendly ! But yea, they can be strict for some reason.

No, they didn't. They just asked for my passport etc and asked what I was doing in Slovenia. I said I was on a bicycle tour around Europe. We chatted for bit as they couldn't believe I was cycling during the winter \o\

But I knew upfront Slovenia is kinda strict, especially when we wild camp (I camped anyway). They did fine though another Brazilian who is going around the world on foot; he was camping somewhere.

I guess the country wouldn't be as safe and cool if they weren't strict, so yeah... we have to accept

Yea, it's not every day someone would do a bicycle tour around Europe in winter haha :D:D
I think a bit also has to do with just the culture, even just our faces seem strict to many people, even if we're actually really pleasant. I've had quite a few experiences (especially here in Australia), when my face would be a problem. When I focus on something I look too serious for some people haha

\o\

I've heard Slovenians are known to complain a lot

hahaha yes, you heard right lol :D

Congratulations @wanderingkat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!