Bahrain Bliss: A Memoir of Tranquility and Tradition 🇧🇭

in Pinmapple9 months ago

BeFunky-collage.png

 

Good Day Travelers!

 
Welcome to the second and final part of my little Bahrain series! As the country is so small I will combine all walks/trips around Bahrain in this final post and try to show you the beauty of this little place.
 
In total I spend around 10 days in Bahrain but because of the crazy heat I was only able to take 2-3 hour walks each day (And that was already tough as hell!) :D - The max. temperature it had during my stay was 48°C and I can promise you, that this is not a comfortable weather to do crazy activities. I probably couldn't even hydrate as much as I sweated on the average day, ha!
 
Screenshot 2023-08-03 at 14.23.51.png
 
During June/July/August its pretty rare that the temperature drops below 40°C during the day. And the most crazy thing is - It only rains around 3x a year!!
 

How to get around Bahrain?

 
To begin with - Yes, Bahrain is very small. People mostly stay around the Northern part of the country as the Mid/Southern part is basically just pure desert. To give you a bit of a better picture and help you to imagine what I mean by small I'll show you the Google-Maps layout:
 

Screenshot 2023-08-03 at 14.36.12.png
Goole Maps
 
The absolute mayoralty of the Bahrain people live in the capital Manama, which was also the location where I spend my time during my stay.
 
Regarding the small size there aren't many options to get around Bahrain. The most common way of transportation is taking Ubers (Which are also Bahrain's taxis) or buses. As of 2023 there are no trains or metro lines available (Although, there are currently constructions for the first Bahrainian Metro line!)
 
Current Transportation Methods of Baharain:

  • Uber (Taxi) - Easy to order but quiet expensive
  • Busses - A bit confusing but a cheap alternative to Ubers
  • Renting your own car
     

What to do in Bahrain?

 
So, the first question would be - Why would you ever consider going to Bahrain? Well.. the only reason I went to Bahrain was the simple fact, that I had no idea about this country! I mean, I knew the geographical location and the name of it but really nothing else (it turned out that Bahrain has quite a bit to offer for all kinds of travelers!).
 
The first thing I did was taking a walk around the center of the City where also my last post about the Al Fateh Grand Mosque was located. On the first two images you can also see the massive islamic library which is right beside the Mosque.
 

City Center, Islamic Center

 
AR503529.jpg

AR503528.jpg

AR503530.jpg

AR503531.jpg
 
There is everything in walkable distance in this District. Just make sure to wear a cap or what ever to cover your head from the heat. There aren't a lot of places with shadow!
 

Bahrain Bay Walkway

 
The Bahrain Bay walkway is especially at night a must do activity! It leads you around the cost line and financial district of the city. There are massive walkways everywhere with good lightning at night. Before I forget to mention it - Bahrain is extremely safe! Crime is almost not existing in this country and you can freely walk around by day and night without ever having to worry about anything!
 

AR503678.jpg

AR503673.jpg

AR503672.jpg

AR503666.jpg

AR503675.jpg
 

Central Business District of Manama

 
This is probably the most busy district of the capital Manama. You can find a lot of gold and jewellery shops there, some smaller bazaars and a bunch of good restaurants. Also the countries popular historical building Bab Al Bahrain is located there.
 

AR503626.jpg

AR503617.jpg

AR503619.jpg
 
Not far off from the Bab Al Bahrain you can also find the Indian district of this location. As there are loooots of Indian people living in Bahrain, they have their own area with also quite an impressive Hindu Temple which I visited.
 

AR503634.jpg

AR503635.jpg

AR503639.jpg

AR503642.jpg
 
The temple allows access to everyone and I even got invited watching their praying ceremony while I was there. That was something I haven't seen before, not even while I traveled through India! There was a lot of singing, praying and music combined from all different kinds of people. Such a interesting experience and they even gave me some fruits and coconut after the ceremony! :))
 

AR503610.jpg

AR503655.jpg

AR503637.jpg

 
Beside my activities from basically just walking around the entire city, taking pictures and explore as much as I can without melting are the 33 artificial islands around the country. I've heard that some of them have stunning beaches and places to dive or snorkel. Something I would have liked to experience but at this heat I honestly had 0 feelings about going to swim :D
 

Food & Drinks

 
Well.. You may already know me - I feel mostly to awkward taking pictures in restaurants of my food :D .. But I can guarantee you - Bahrain Food is amazing - especially the BBQ! Meals you definitely should try when you are there:
 

  • Samboosa (Fried triangles filled with beef or vegetables)
  • Majboos (Rice with Chicken)
  • Shawarma (Seomthing like Wraps, really popular in Arabic countries)
     

These 3 dishes where definitely my favorites and I kept ordering them in multiple locations as I just couldn't get enough of it! :))
 
Beside drinking tons of water I really recommend you to also drink some hot tea during the day. There are tiny tea houses everywhere and it really helps you to balance your body temperature. There is a reason why people love hot tea in hot countries!
 
AR503659.jpg
 
From what I've been told - Bahrain has also a pretty good nightlife with lots of music bars and even clubs. As this is not really in my interest I didn't join any of them but if you are a traveler who likes a good nightlife you are definitely not in a wrong place!
 

Would I recommend a visit to Bahrain?

 
Well, if you live very far away from Bahrain probably not, but if you are already traveling in the golf regions or the middle east then absolutely! People in Bahrain are super polite, speak perfect english and are super helpful and talkative!
 
The country is extremely safe, the food is amazing, the infrastructure works great and overall it's just a super clean environment with some great activities to do.
 
I would just recommend everyone to not go there in summer - Trust me, it's crazy hot!!! :D - Just go there in winter, like in January and I think the country will be even more enjoyable!
 

Thanks for joining my little virtual tour!
 
Best,
Chris

Sort:  

What picturesque and curious buildings. I'm also attracted by the less touristic countries, but if it's too far away I wouldn't go, only if I'm passing through while I visit other areas haha.

At least I have as a point of reference your experience and your photos, thanks for sharing them! regarding the heat, it is almost the same as we have in Spain now... Horrible, but I have never been able to get used to it. To travel to hot countries, if not to be soaking at the beach, better when the weather is more acceptable.🤣

Heyyy! Thanks a bunch for your comment!

Oh yeah, I've heart about the crazy heat in Spain! You definitely know then how it feels to walk around these temperatures :D

I'm glad you enjoyed the post - Thanks again! :))

Your descriptions of your travels are super cool, and make one want to travel the location. Bahrain sure sounds like a place to visit, apart from its safety and amazing infrastructure, I like a small place like that.

Amazing photos as always 🙌🏾

Yay!!! Thanks so much for stopping by! And indeed - It's really a great travel destination!

Appreciated my friend! :))

That is a strange time to go there when it's so hot 🙂 I would probably stay in my room and refuse to go out. I can understand that you didn't feel like swimming as I can imagine that water there is warm like when you shower at home 😁

I worked with people from Bahrain and I agree with you. They are very polite and their English is indeed perfect.

Thank you for taking us on this tour with you!

Haha I agree - But it happened to be that I was not far away so I gave it a go! :D

Yeah, swimming would literally feel like I'm jumping in a cup of tea, ha!

Indeed - Such good people! Thanks for stopping by! :))

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honourable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1957.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank's a lot! Highly appreciated!! :))