Admire the Arches of Étretat and feel the Coastal Nature || Normandy || France

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

DSC01120-01.jpeg



Experience the Serene beauty of Étretat


Étretat might be the most beautiful place in France I have seen in the maybe 15 times I have been there, its coastal scenes are really stunning, with its cliffs made of chalk, with its arches and sea stacks, it is looking nothing but spectacular. I just loved everything about it!

You can find the place just 2,5 hours away from Paris, located at the West-coast of france, facing the English channel, the part of the Atlantic Ocean which separates England and the North France. I highly recommend this place if you are traveling to Paris and also feel the need to see some of France's most beautiful nature.

DSC01132-01.jpeg

This place looks just perfect to me, It looks so calm and peaceful. A place to sit down and feel how good life is when you spend time with nature

DSC01149-01.jpeg


And while you are sitting at the edge of the cliff, you can watch the seagulls fly by and the waves move gently. Welcome to Étretat!

DSC01103-01.jpeg


The view from uphill over Étretat village and its cliffs. Now you probably understand my love for Étretat already better


We stayed with our camper at a camping site near étretat, Camping Sunelia L'aiguille creuse, just a short bus ride away from étretat. We left the camp around 10 in the morning to visit Étretats famous cliffs and enjoy a walk along the coast. I Expected the place to be nice, but it was much more than that. It was perfect!
DSC01053.JPG

When you arrive at the bus stop, there are two ways to the cliffs: take the tourist train for 7 euros (return ticket) or walk up the hill yourself (just around 15 minutes) It is nice that the tourist train is there to bring people up, so the viewpoint is accessible for everyone, including older people.

DSC01274-01.jpeg


You can easily walk from the town up to the viewpoint and walking trail, it is only about 15 minutes walk

DSC01034-01.jpeg

The tourist train, ready to bring you to the must sees of the area. It drives over the road, it is not a real train by the way, in case you care



The Falaises d'Aval: Étretat’s spectacular arches


DSC01111-01.jpeg

This Arch made Étretat famous


The must see of Étretat is de Falaises d'Aval, chalk cliffs with remarkable arches, which are the header of every article about Étretat. If you say Étretat, you are probably talking about these cliffs, and when you see the pictures of this stunning place, there is no doubt that you understand why.


DSC01268-01.jpeg

But the cliffs can also be dangerous, please be careful! A week before we went here, 2 tourists died when they fell off the cliff, a local priest told us while talking with the Duch girl who was sitting close to the edge. The cliffs rising far above the sea might be stunning and might be wonderful selfie spots, but it might also be the last breath you take when you don't mind your steps or slip out.



Let's go for a walk!


What I liked the most about Étretat is the walking path along the coastline, where you can experience everything. It was just a perfect, sunny day but not too hot. At our left, we had the view from the cliffs over the deep-blue ocean, Birds were flying around and sailing boats were enjoying the ocean. I wish we would have taken some food and drinks, because this is truly a dream location to have a nice picnic.

DSC01138-01.jpeg

The walking path along the coast

DSC01158-01.jpeg

With those kinda views!


Birds flying by & Boats Sailing by

On the other hand, cows and their calves were grazing in the fields, little flowers were blooming and bees were buzzing around,looking for colorful flowers to have a tasty meal. I don't really know how to describe the feeling this place gave me, but at least it felt so natural and peaceful. All elements about the place were just so balanced. I wish I could come here to read a book every day!



Wild grasses, Bees and flowers


Feel the nature vibes!


A monument for the first planned direct flight from Paris to New York


Upstairs you can find the war monument, a cemented shape of an airplane. It is quite hard to take a good picture but I guess I managed to take 2 pictures which make you realize it is a plane.



This is a memorial to the first non-stop flight between Paris and New York, where the plane got lost in an unknown way. It is a mystery up to today.



the Chapel Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde


There is also a small church at the top, the Chapel Notre-Dame-de-la-Garde. Originally, there was a church here dedicated to the holy virgin, but It got destroyed in the second world War by the Germans, but rebuilt in 1950 in a different style. This chapel is protecting sailors from the cliffs. Like a lighthouse.

DSC01119-01.jpeg
DSC01084-01.jpeg
Here you can see how beautiful the church is located, right besides the sea on top of the cliff, overviewing the chalk arches

DSC01064-01.jpeg


DSC01152-01.jpeg



Take a book and relax with this natural vibes & beautiful views



Best time to visit Étretat


Étretat is a beautiful and attractive place to visit. It is best to visit in late spring and summer (from end of April till early September). Since it is a popular sight in the area, I would recommend avoiding this place in July and August, Europe's main tourist season which are also the school holidays. May or June must be the perfect months, and September if the weather is still nice

DSC01094_1-01.jpeg

Thanks for reading my blog about my new favorite place in France! I hope you liked it and don't forget to add it to your bucket list.

See you next time!

Regards,
Sascha

Sort:  

One of my favorite places in France, it's an awesome location. Great photos, you really captured how great it is

Yeahh and I understand why! It is stunning here!

This place is great. Nature has created many unique things. I'm sure you've had a great experience.
Have a nice day <3

Yeah nature can be so mind blowing!

such beautiful formations. Gorgeous photos.

Thank you! It is easy to make good shots with such a pretty place :)

But it is also need eye for ir

Wowww!!! This is so awesome!😍, I've known France for its famous tower and cities only, I never imagined that France has this rich beauty as the countryside.😍🤩 So serene and peaceful.

Thanks @xsasj for this beautiful virtual tour.☺

Paris is beautiful but by far not my favorite in france. I remember that my parents took me as a child to beautiful old towns and castles, to mountains with plenty of flowerfields. France has a lot to discover. I hope the tourists from out of EU will also see that some day soon.

Amazing place and amazing pictures!!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1648.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

It is very beautiful there, you are privileged to be able to enjoy it. Greetings from Venezuela.

Excelentes fotos y los paisajes son muy buenos, te dejo mi voto y te sigo, saludos.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @xsasj.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I can understand why you have visited Étretat 15 times and still want to come. The view from there is spectacular. I like everything there from the arch, the village, the sand, the clear sea water and the plants around. Everything is beautiful. Thank you and have a nice day @xsasj

Great place, great presentation, thank you!
I have not traveled to France, but if I did, I would choose Étretat. I see that it has everything I like. The sea, the beach and places to walk. No agglomeration.

I'm curious about the type of camera you used to capture these fantastic photos; you did an excellent job. I hope I can travel someday and am grateful that you shared this; I hope I can do it with my significant other as you did #xsasj #Sascha.🤗🤗

This place looks so beautiful. I'm not surprised that it's your favorite. I have a French friend who keeps asking me to join her for a few days in that region and I think that I should finally accept that offer :) I love the cliffs and the color of water.

Thank you for sharing!

If you accept it, you won't regret it, I can promise you that!

Wow!!! It's very beautiful

Hi Sascha. What a beautiful place to relax. When I hear the Country France, what comes into my mind is the beautiful Eifel Tower and buildings. I never thought there could be like this beautiful beach there. Thanks for sharing such awesome photos. Have a wonderful stay! 💕

wow, what an amazing trip. and all the photos you show on this occasion are very beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing have a nice day.

so amazing post. I am a newbie on Hive. I hope have a follow from you.