DOUBLE IN A DAY: Hiking Skeleton Gorge and Nursery Ravine, on Table Mountain, Cape Town

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

F5299C29-104C-47BF-962E-DFD51C571C6F.jpeg

The title is a little ambiguous not just because I hiked two crazy steep sections of the mountain in one afternoon, but because I had already done another 8 kilometre hike in the morning on a different part of the Table Mountain range. Check out my. Spitzkop Peak hike on my feed a couple days ago.

So by the time I started this hike I was already a little tired. My friend, Val, had invited me to join her at Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens which are the pride of Cape Town and a spectacular tourist adventure around the gardens. Val said we would do some hiking around the area. In my mind that meant some walking up the lowers slopes toward the contour path and maybe the Skeleton Gorge waterfall. Boy!!! Was I mistaken!

As I arrived she said she was glad I still had my gear (my husband had dropped me off directly from our other morning hike) and said we were going to just do a quick hike up Skeleton Gorge and down Nursery Ravine. WAIT WHAT????!!!

887D3958-2A29-4CAF-984A-13330EA02AF1.jpeg

I’ve done this route before very slowly and it was PAINFUL the next day. And this time I was doing it on tired legs. Oh well, there’s no where else to go but UP!

34FC3307-4E75-42C8-AE60-48BEDF4A9DFC.jpeg

C7A70F94-B228-40E1-B86C-E7FD779DD41D.jpeg

The four of us started up the paths of Kirstenbosch Gardens that headed for the lower contour path. Up above us we could see the shadow of Skeleton Gorge as the sun was already moving past the peak of the mountain. That quick snack was the fuel I had to get me up there (and back down again).

3B5186FD-9247-4FF3-9A8A-F8E7FA905C40.jpeg

The contour path eventually meets up with the single track steps that lead up Skeleton Gorge and the constant uphill climb up the wood and stone steps began.

The first milestone was reaching the Middle Contour path and followed it a short way to the Skeleton Gorge waterfall. It’s amazing to see it gushing with water as only a year and half ago it was dry. The 3 year drought had hit us hard but today the dams are full and we are still getting good amounts of rain for the time of year.

81D7BD9E-5F2C-435E-AEDE-8BECD9698AFA.jpeg

Skeleton gorge seems to have layers that change as you climb. The first section had wooden steps and scrubby bushy trees. The next section had stone steps, waterfalls and hanging branches that form a swing. The next section is Boulder hopping through the river (this cannot be done during our winter rainfall). Next is ladders and a steep climb along a rock wall to avoid getting wet. More wood and mud steps until eventually the trees open up to the blue sky and you’re almost at the top. (That's it in a nutshell)

5EDE1451-C3CA-4E05-96AC-F1815A727F4E.jpeg

The first wood stairs followed by the rock stairs were already killing me as my legs felt like lead and my heart was beating loudly in my ears. The tall trees and foliage were beautiful but I didn’t even have the energy to get my phone out to take a photo.

We stopped regular and the two guys pulled ahead and waited every now and then for us girls to catch up.

The ladders followed by the boulder climb were no time to be holding anything but onto the rocks we were climbing. Although I found the Boulder climbing far more energising than the soul destroying steps. The unique way that this path constantly changes gives you just enough relief to keep going.

Back on the upper steps my cap blocked my view of a branch that I walked straight into. It wasn’t too bad except that about 100 meters later I realised that I had lost my favourite sunglasses in that moment. There was no chance I was going back to get them so some nice fit hiker has probably now got a cool pair of polarised sunnies.

F3EA0E41-C301-4856-A27C-46C5BB70AE51.jpeg

5474650E-3A24-46D9-889C-612E7D5AE3A6.jpeg

B502CC7F-6E00-40DB-BE50-4425D051FBCA.jpeg

My heart was still beating in my ears and my face was as red as a tomato so the sight of the upper waterfall was too inviting to turn down. Val and I took turns getting wet and felt refreshed after our little photo op and free shower.

The blue sky opened and the last few steps lead us to the white sand of the Hely Hutchison Dam on the top of Table Mountain. The last time I was here it was like a moonscape with very little water, dry wooden debris and white sand as far as the eye could see.

1E59CD98-1038-4735-820B-5F374796CFCE.jpeg

4CF66FB3-8C3C-47E4-BC5B-7E5ED675F81D.jpeg

Now the sky closed over with thick fog, the wind picked up at the top and the dam was filled to the brim! It was like two different places yet one and the same.

B5D836AB-2285-4CC2-930F-A16F5148E107.jpeg

8FB1E2D4-E260-48F7-9D07-B9AD33440F4D.jpeg

Instead of taking a swim we immediately turned back towards the wind shadow and headed for the upper Smuts path towards Nursery Ravine (our way down the mountain). The other path around the back of Cleft Peak would have been too cold and windy and no fun at all. But the Smuts path was protected, and has beautiful views of Cape Towns suburbs and the Kirstenbosch Gardens down below.

179B4013-42FA-430E-A565-F4771F477E21.jpeg

F9C545E5-B38C-469B-B40B-DD959F8310FF.jpeg

Walked over large boulders and through overgrown paths over Cleft Peak and soon reached the telltale handrail that marks the top of Nursery Ravine.

CE600432-5353-4F1F-A22B-AB7352B1A28C.jpeg

And so the descent began. It’s an endless, carefully placed climb down. Loose rocks, steep wood log steps that have eroded away, small streams running across the path in places. The concentration is intense and doesn’t leave much room for taking in the view. By half way down my legs started to feel like jelly and I had to think about where I was putting my feet and using my pole to make sure I stayed upright at all times.

Soon we were back in the forest, still going down log and mud steps, and the guys were nowhere to be seen. They had gone ahead and left us to our own devices.

Having done a path before doesn’t always makes it easier. Sometimes the “not knowing” is better because you don’t know how much it’s going to hurt. But I knew this one was going to hurt so it became a mental workout as much as a physical one.

We made it to the bottom of the path and then turned right onto the contour that would lead us back towards Kirstenbosch Gardens. Still no guys in sight. Val was quite annoyed with her boyfriend (and his buddy) for leaving us. We knew the way, but it’s not safest way to hike in these mountains.

689738CF-8A5B-4F9A-8BB7-8C98EEB6607C.jpeg

The walk into Kirstenbosch Gardens felt amazing as our stride picked up and we could walk more briskly and stretch our aching legs. The gardens are always beautiful and welcomed us back with the later afternoon shadows.

We met up with the guys at the same bench where we had begun and we walked straight passed them and headed for the car. We needed a coke and rehydration and tonight the cokes were on Val’s boyfriend.

Here’s a map and stats of the route we took.

668F7751-A671-4D79-AEE4-C856D76E42DB.jpeg

FAC01588-1600-4360-8066-FCDD89EA5B94.jpeg

You can also follow me on Strava app (Zoe Donald) to see a lot more routes of mountains and hikes around Cape Town and the Western Cape of South Africa.

We have 5 big multi day hikes planned from December 2021 to August 2022 so watch this space for a lot more adventures and hikes around the country and beyond.

3BF167A2-74ED-4283-AA16-7949EDE0DDA3.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That's a quite adventure!!!

Looks like the waterfall was very cold. Haha

The view is incredible. So high.

Very different on top (Moonscape like indeed) is that fog?!

Hi! Yes there was a thick fog at the top of the mountain! It just shows how quickly conditions can change and why you’re always supposed be prepared with the right gear even when you don’t think you’ll need it.

Yes! The waterfall was cold 😆

Yep. Must be prepared. That's why is important to be guided if you don't know the place or have no experience...

Glad the weather opened and you could see a nive overview.

Great day

What a stunning hike! I'll have to check out your post from the other hike you did too.

I hike every weekend and sometimes midweek as well, so if you go through my feed you will see loads of hikes. I’m about to do a 5-day hike called The Whale Trail which is along the coast of a nature reserve so I’ll post that one at the end of next week when I get back. Hope you enjoy the trails with me 😉

Wonderful! My boyfriend and I used to do some backcountry hiking in summer when we lived in Canada. I love seeing where other people hike.

I do LOVE a waterfall!

Ha ha! I went a little too close to the waterfall and
Got soaked! I was still wet when I got home but I guess it helped keep me from overheating. You saw how red my face was when I got to the top 🥵

Yeah, that happens!

'hmmm, this stream doesn't look THAT wide'
Next thing you know, you're on your knees, slipped on some moss covered rock, just a half stride too far from the side of the water. Oh, yeah.... that ice melt sure is cold!

It happens.

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - Winners List

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1401.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: