Explain Your Blog Name (30 Days Blogging Challenge - Part One)

Image Source

I remember in my introductory post,I talked about my username (Golden06). From that post,I pointed out that my username is a combination of my name (English name) and my birthday. But both of them of major significance to me (especially my birthday).

Not a lot of people know me by my English name. It's one name I haven't really used and I'm personally not used to being “Golden”. Even when I introduce myself to someone, I always call my native name. The only time I ever tell someone my other name (Golden) is when I realize that they can't pronounce my native name correctly (probably because they're not from my tribe and can't speak my language) or they ask for my English name. Where I'm from, Golden isn't a popular name. I've literally met only one person who's bearing that name (I hope I meet more of my namesakes when I enter the university 😄). So because Golden isn't a popular name, a lot of people refuse to believe that's my actual name. I find it really annoying when I tell someone my name and they say, “ That's your real name? ” or “is that the name your parents gave to you or you just gave yourself that name”🤦🏾‍♀️. Then I have to convince them that it's my real name. Despite all of these, having a unique name is a big flex it😁. Maybe my parents might have had a reason for giving me that name, but I don't know the reason. All I know is that it was a perfect choice and I wouldn't have preferred any other name 🤭.

Image taken with my phone

I was born on the 6th of September, 2005. I'm just fifteen (and a few months), but a lot of people have told me that I'm bigger than my age😂. My growth is all thanks to genes and the fact that I eat a lot😂(I didn't say I'm a glutton, don't get me wrong). The day I was born was one very crazy day. My mother was in serious pains because there were complications during my birth. My dad and my grandpa were so worried because there was a chance she wouldn't survive it. But at the end of everything they got what they were asking for, they got a daughter. So my birthday is a very important day to me. It reminds me that God gave me a chance to live and gave my mother a chance to continue living. Maybe that's why my family takes my things very seriously (maybe even too serious).

Image taken with my phone

I didn't realize the significance of these two things till recently. I want people to look at my username and understand how important it is to me. Having a blog is a very big achievement and the username I chose is one decision I'll never regret (I would've never come up with that username on my own. Thank goodness my teacher @officialuroga was there to help me🤗). I want people who follow my write ups to understand that I appreciate every being alive and owning this account are my biggest achievements.
My name and my birthday are there to remind me of what my family went through because of me. It reminds me of how special I am. Everyone's special in their own way and I think everyone should have something to remind them of this like me. So yeah,my name and birthday remind me of my uniqueness. And quite frankly, I like it that way 😉.

This is me starting up the first part of this Challenge, and I will be slow because of school work, but I plan to finish it. I look forward to sharing my thought on each topic in the part one of this challenge. Now you know about my username, how about you tell me about yours?

Thanks for reading!

@golden06

Sort:  

Wow girl, you're a beautiful gold indeed 😊 and I got to know more about your name too, awesome!

It's nice to see you join in the blogging challenge, it's a nice way to make at least one post a day.

Well done with your first challenge dear.

Thank you so much, I am blushing. Yes, the blogging challenge is really helpful. Thanks for reading.