The Comedy Open Mic Contest Announcement: 40 HBD in Prizes

in Comedy Open Mic2 years ago (edited)

image.png
Image source

Hey, everyone, the COMEDY OPEN MIC CONTEST is back in its new form, a new community, a new platform, and we're still not going to wear underwear because some things never change.

Below are the rules to enter.

The Rules

  • 1- You must be subscribed to the community
  • 2- You must nominate two other people to enter the contest. Don't be selfish, tag your funny friends so they'd get a chance to win
  • 3- You must include (Comedy Open Mic Contest) in your post title
  • 4- No recycled posts, all posts must be original and new
  • 5- Include a link to this post in your post
  • 6- You must include "comedyopenmic" and "COMtest" in your tags.
  • 7- You must interact with at least 3 other entrants.
  • 8- Drop the link to your post in the comment section below.
  • 9- Cross-posts are allowed but the original version has to be posted here.
  • 10- All your posts need to be written in English. Bilingual posts allowed.
  • 11- Short content (I.E gif + comment/short post) will not be considered for contest rewards, but you are welcome to post them in the community.

This is a fairly new community so rules are subject to change from week to week.

Prizes

1st place: 15 HBD
2nd place: 10 HBD
3rd place: 5 HBD

The remaining 10 HBD will go to honorable mentions. More surprise prizes are in store, but these are the announced ones.

You can enter the contest with a written post, a video, even audio if that's possible for you, just make sure it is original work. If you are not certain something is original feel free to contact me on Discord, my discord is AmirTheAwesome1#5402. You may also contact me there with any questions you may have or if you are looking to sponsor/support this community.

Contest will stop 2 weeks after posting this announcement. Results will be announced within three days as this is a manual process.

Reblogs would be appreciated. Get your funny face on!

Sort:  

Ohhh dear, I did the biggest mistake...my entry posted via my own blog page...anyway, I am happy to be part of the community...here is the link for fun
@amirtheawesome1 cross posted into the community now.

https://peakd.com/comedyopenmic/@steemflow/comedy-open-mic-god-bless-husbands

It is cool, we are all learning as we go. Thank you for your entry.

Thank you for your entry. True and humorous.

I am finally here with my entry to the contest. No post yet to engage with though, I'll be here waiting for entries to engage with though.

Entry link

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@mrenglish/when-a-military-man-slaps-you-or-comedy-open-mic-contest

Excellent entry. Thank you for participating in the Comedy Open Mic Contest.

Awesome man! Carrying on the torch ! This is something we need on the platform; More comedy !

Yeah, and I started by picking the worst time ever to announce a contest...

Hahah yep everyone busy eating Xmas ham. The timing of my post was not good either. I posted for #sublimesunday on a Saturday. In my case I blame the wine ..

Jesus! I will do a reminder post when this one expires and hope for the best.

Ahaha. This is going to be another stand-up opportunity for comedy skit lovers. Thanks for such a brilliant opportunity @amirtheawesome1.
Let me go cook one funny post.

I will be looking forward to reading it.

Wow...this is yet a great one for the comedy lovers right here. I'm in for this.

Looking forward to reading your post.

If I get this correct, all one has to do is to make a funny post while abiding to all the Rules above. Right?

Yes, that's all. Post the link to your post here after you post it and you will eligible for the prizes.

Alright. Thanks .. stay tuned for my entry

I can't wait.

Curious to see who joins! Keep em coming!

 2 years ago  

@rubido @angryman @brandt @paradoxtma @nineclaws
You're not funny but you might know someone who is.

@insaneworks @nevies @meesterboom @corvidae aren't funny either but they might still be interested.

I concur, me not funny at all and negative funny especially when asked to be funny, but then again we all need some negativity here in the world so I might give it a try. Or what do you think @penderis, you ain't negative at all, like never. And funny? Oh man no. But then again there might be people (like me) who like non negative non funny people.
Not sure if I mixed all my negative thoughts here so that everything is positive as double negativity tends to do and no-one understood what I tried to say here as I for one didn't, but that's okay I guess.

Aaaaaaaand... now that I read the rules, I should also mention @rubido since he's pretty funny although I have no idea how pretty he is but funny and sometimes also negative which is always desirable feature in everything, or should I have said that he's not negative at all and not funny at all but he might know someone who is. Yeah. That's what I'll say.

I'm positive about being negative, I accept that things will of course get worse but I always have pancakes, and beer. So maybe that makes me B-+?

Regardless this could be a bit of fun...

Too late to unmention the unmentionables so I guess I'll have to take that negative and make it a positive.

Awesome! All this negativity here makes me all warm and fuzzy cold and spikey inside which is GREAT!

You can keep it a negative and still post. It is a weird world here, angry and sad count as funny.

Sad counts then I'm in 100%

Unmentionables are always worth mentioning.

It is Comedy Open Mic dude, no one has said anything funny since its inception. We just validate each other so we'd get validated as "funny"

Oh but that's harder than making the normies laugh! Way harder. It's like... super hard. Like surepduper hard! It's so hard that digging a 10 meter hole for myself in frozen clay ground in ten minutes with a shovel is easier. It's so hard that I would better succeed in building a spacecraft and sending it to space, in my lifetime, going to the moon and back and survive that, all alone. It's like... really, really, really, really hard. It's like... if Superman, Wonderwoman, Thor and Poison Ivy joined their forces and fought me, I would have better chances at defeating them than making people who were born with comedy expertism branded in their brain, laugh. So hard.

I'm hyperventilating.

Thinkin should I also run around aimlessly and scream.

I don't think I have to. I will faint before that.

Ah! Comedy Open Mic from the old days! Thanks @amirtheawesome1 for bringing this thing back, it was so good its a surprise it stayed dead for this long.

Thanks @brandt, I peep you, through the glory peep hole

 2 years ago  

Check out that new avatar!

Hahah! My man. Its from this character of mine The Woke Pimp😅

Nevies! Would like to see an intro of yours.

Did you mean intro or entry @amirtheawesome1?🌚

Entry, but I would love getting to know you better 😍

I don't get it.

It's comedy open mic, you should enter :)

But I'm not funny. Ever. You know this.

Like @brandt said.

The process is simple. You pretend to laugh while reading others' posts, they'll pretend to laugh at yours while people outside the community think it actually has comedy.

Nobody in COM is. So you'd fit right in.

Everyone direct your thanks to @dandays When I write my next post. I will continue to field the letter bombs in an attempt to stock up for 4th of July.

Everyone direct your thanks to @dandays

I will make sure to send him the prize money in case you win.

It'd be better, I don't like to win 😁 just wanna have fun, that's victory enough. I will say if I win anything, not sounding arrogant of course I wanna pick the account that gets the prize 👍

That's easily doable.

A contest? A contest that takes people who deflect from their crippling psychological disorders, and pits them against each other? Sounds delightfully brutal. I will definitely spectate. Will I participate?

I don't know... it's an open mic contest, and I tend to drop mics. Not as a statement or anything, I'm just kinda clumsy, and it's embarrassing.

On the other hand, it is a comedy performance, so it's not like I'd have to wear pants...

 2 years ago  

You'll think of anything to get outta wearing pants.

A contest that takes people who deflect from their crippling psychological disorders, and pits them against each other

There was never a better way to describe it.

I'm told I have a way with, uh..., you know the things I mean.

YO, Mr. @dandays... I'm still in the process of reading that rather longggggggggggggg......... list of rules...!!! Quite painful...😖 Reminds me of when I got off the bus at Boot Camp in the 1960's...!!! What a fuckin 'blow-head' that was.

 2 years ago  

11?! I won't spoil a good joke but don't worry, I'm covering group opinion about those rules in the one I'm working on.

Even plumbers know shit runs downhill and don't bite your fingernails, 2 rules is more than enough.

Break all the rules with me sir. 👊🏼

Only ONE rule in the carpet laying trade, which since inception, worked out fairly well:
"Fuzzy Side, UP...

 2 years ago  

That's an old morgue joke.

The original content rule is merely a suggestion.

Not the first note about the rules. They will be downsized to around half with an updated post. You have a chance until then to make a post mocking them.

Boot Camp in the 1960's

I love that specific reference.

From the fingerlips of the pink princess parading as perpetual punnyfunny man. Thanks for the tag, checking it out!

#fingerlips
#nineclawscreatedword

It would be pun reading an entry from you.

😂 You're killing me! Alrighty, not sure I can measure up to snuff with the pink princess's pontifications (@dandays), but I'll give it my best shot.

Well, so far there's one great entry. I picked the worst time to start this lol.

Doesn't matter, we have to collect a few people that keep chilling in on Twitter etc. I already shared the community a few days ago, will drop this one as well later.
Otherwise, we extend another week, no? :) Go and collect these old COM-ers if you can still find them!

This one still has around 10 days. As well as 3 more contests and we will know whether it will work or not. Old COMers are slowly coming back.

Nice! Timing just sucked for the first round, but at least you decided on two weeks instead of one :)

Ok, so I got 11 days to think of something funny.
Maybe I’ll make a video of myself reading a chapter from the Bible while pole dancing.

I think that would belong in the fine arts section really!

I've got my a handful of one dollar bills ready to stuff down ya bra preaching stripper 😂

Good to see you here @buttcoins
I've just joined the community and can't wait to resurrect some of my comedy characters.

Speaking of which... has cryptobro worked out how defunge his none fungible tokens yet?

has cryptobro worked out how defunge his none fungible tokens yet?

No, but he had a lot of fung attempting it.

Aww yeah COM's making a COMBACK!

Knock knock
Who's there?
!PIZZA
Pizza who?
Pete's a pizza.

Yup, it is time for our COMback! Long time no see btw. I really hope I would see an entry from you soon.

I'll toss one in for sure! Thanks for reviving this thing!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@brandt(1/5) tipped @amirtheawesome1 (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Hey hey hey, COM is back baby!
One is my favourite things from back in the day.

Hmnnnnn, now I have to bash my funny bone against the wall... cause it's been a while 🤣

Kings of COMbac! Good to hear from you!

I am pretty sure you still have it in you to post a funny post or two.

I'm afraid if I drop this, it might break.

I'll just set it here...

https://ecency.com/hive-164166/@oldsoulnewb/why-contest-when-you-can

Thanks for sharing on #PYPT!

While I am doing funny things I am not comedian maybe others I share this with can participate!

We always appreciate contests! Thank you for giving of yourself. Found this post shared on #PYPT and was also shared on Sarge's Twitch Stream!

Here you go!!

Have you ever been to one of those hipster hippie towns like Byron Bay where ... https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@riverflows/comedy-open-mic-two-life-saving-smoothies-you-have-to-try-this-summer

Needs only 2 rules.
Really one would be best, but 2 is good.

Thanks for sharing it on #pypt on @dreemport today

Cheesus Christ, Not a Cheese Board... a close examination of the rigorous and noble art of stuffing your fat face at Christmas. In rhyme form, with some other crazy stuff not in rhyme form 😂

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@raj808/cheesus-christ-not-a-cheese-board-a-comic-festive-poem-comedy-open-mic-contest-entry

It was so much fun participating in this. I laughed a whole lot reading entries from other people. Check out mine; Crazy twins

Hello!
Here is my entry: Me, my girlfriend, and her pet rock.

Hopefully it makes the cut.