The Comedy Open Mic Contest Update: 70 HBD in Prizes

in Comedy Open Mic2 years ago

image.png
Image source

One week has passed since the beginning of the contest and the support has been incredible. After looking at the data, paying someone to explain them to me, and then paying another to explain what that guy just explained, I deduced that some updates to the contest are in order. So, here we are.

Updating The Rules

Thanks to destructive constructive criticism from people in the community, people outside the community, the homeless guy outside my building, and my grandfather who died 13 years ago, a decision to update the rules have been made. Instead of 11, we will now have 48 rules! Including what you need to be wearing, eating, and drinking while writing a post here.

Thanks to many people like @nonameslefttouse, @angryman, @riverflows, @dandays, I could go on with the names really. But with help from Dan, @raj808, and @bulldog-joy, here are

The New Rules

  1. Use the tag #comedyopenmic and #comtest in your entry and comment a link to your entry on this post.
  2. Entries must be in English.
  3. Your entry must be posted here originally if you cross-post.
  4. You must be subscribed to the community.

To Help the Community Grow

Please interact with other posts and consider reblogging this post for visibility. It would mean a lot if entrants and members, in general, do that.

Updated Prizes

Thanks to generous support from @acidyo, @OCD, @curie, @nonameslefttouse, and many more (Apologies if your name isn't here) who supported the community with generous upvotes. As well as @dandays for donating 5 HBD. The prize pool has gotten larger.

The New Prizes

Jester Award: 25 HBD
The Joker Award: 15 HBD
Laughter Infection Award: 10 HBD

The Bill Burr Award: 5 HBD - Winners of one of the previous can still win this.

Lucky Clown: 5 HBD - All the entrants will enter a draw, the winner will win this award

Honorable Comedians: 10 HBD - 10 HBD Will be distributed among those who had great entries but didn't manage to win any of the above awards.

There will be more surprise prizes.

The rewards from this post will be used to fund future contests. Please consider subscribing to the community and reblogging this post. Thank you.

Sort:  

I look forward to seeing the entries.

Nooooooo... I somehow forgot to comment my entry on this post.
Well spank me and call me Norman!!

I hope I'm not too late!!???!!?

https://peakd.com/hive-164166/@raj808/cheesus-christ-not-a-cheese-board-a-comic-festive-poem-comedy-open-mic-contest-entry

i am not wearing anything, can I still be a part?
Thanks for presenting today at #PYPT, on @Dreemport

If you're still not wearing anything, you can take part in the new one.

I am so happy to see you running a comedy community. I don't understand what goes on here, but I support you whatever it is.

Comedy. A tonic for all times.

Good luck, @amirtheawesome1

Thanks, I think the platform needs a place where people can just laugh.

Here's my entry. @brandt made me do it.
Sorry about the smell but thanks, you know, for the opportunity to share it.

Gosh I laughed hard reading the updates. First read in 2022 and you did not disappoint me. Even though I don't get rule 3 😅. If someone posts in the community as required, why and what would he cross-post again? Call me stupid German lol and where are my funny rules? Just kidding, glad you skipped the 8 after the 4. 😁 Happy new years!

It is just there to avoid getting spammed. It is more precautionary than anything else. I just saw what the lack of it did in other communities.

Happy New Years.

I see. Fair enough.

Miss you guys! Let's Go! Happy New Year btw :P

Happy New Year! You are also missed. See if you can drop an entry.

You look familiar--do I know you from somewhere?

Oooooooooohhhhhhhhhh... Much better rules list...😎 Do our entries need to be funny in order to enter the contest, or just to win something...?!?!?!?!? 😕

You if all people already know that Comedy Open Mic has never been about being funny.

!LOL

Why did Stalin only write in lowercase?
Because he hated capitalism.

@amirtheawesome1, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @theabsolute
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)

Oh that's good to hear... I hate it when people laugh at stuff I write...!!!

I reblogged and it seems we may be getting the band back together.

image.png

Thank you, now post a fucking entry.

Thank you the personal invite. I'm expecting a visit from frosty the snowman. I will tag com

How do I subscribe to the community? Do I need to get beaten in like a gang? Is there some initiation ritual, like to ai need to do a drive-by joke? Do a fat one-liner?

You can subscribe and post an entry. We will discuss the possibility of beating you later if you insist.

My entry: When It's Way After Christmas, But Your Kids Can't Handle The Truth

@myjob, your favorite little friends from Freewriters Community are here with a new adventure, and @dreemsteem and @wrestlingdesires, I think y'all should give me some competition and enter this contest!

When is it due??? I just saw this, my notifications sort of got away from me again 😂

!ALIVE

SIX HOURS!!!!!

Sorry it looks like I didn't subscribe to it yet! I just gave it a subscribe, I'll be back later, gotta go do some stuff!

Take your time.

Thanks so much for the awesome contest, here is my entry ❤️
https://ecency.com/hive-164166/@wrestlingdesires/but-it-s-the-truth

This one is going to count as the first entrant for the new round as the announcement post has already been scheduled and is already live. I hope that's okay.