Don't you know who I am? A funny incident at the reception.

in Comedy Open Mic7 months ago (edited)

If there is one thing I am afraid of and trying to avoid, is being a server at any occasion. I have always run away from such even in my church because I don't like serving guests; this is because no matter how you do it, some people will still want to step on your toes, act greedy and complain they aren't served even when it is obvious to them that you are still serving others and haven't reached their turn.

1000105332.jpg

(At the reception ground during Grandma's burial ceremony)

My immediate younger sister is talented in this aspect. She is a great event planner and knows how to organise parties for people. Just last year, she was given a million naira project to organise a conference for hundreds of people and she was compensated for a job well done. In case you want to know, she would be the event planner on my wedding day. She has the energy but I don't have it. Sometimes, I wish I could be like her and it is one reason she is loved by people including my family. I am always seen as the weakest child in family gatherings because anything that is called stress, counts me out.



When Grandma died, I knew there was no way I was going to escape this since it was our event, we were doing it together. At least they hired caterers for a week to cook and serve everyone even before the occasion. Ours was just to arrange the souvenirs and serve the guests on that day. With all these, I was still trying to keep my head low and run away from serving. Maybe I am good at following orders, tell me who to serve and which table to go to first, and I will gladly do it but for me to start thinking and looking for the next table to be served, I don't have that strength.

So, it happened on the last day of the burial ceremony, we had just returned from church and were ready to serve guests at the reception ground, and my uncle's wife saw me and begged me to come help her serve people chinchin (snacks) while she engaged in other activities. As much as I wanted to refuse it, she didn't allow me as she kept begging. My big sis offered to help me and I was excited that it wouldn't be me alone, my shyness was part of the reason for refusing to do that apart from the fact that I hate serving people.



Somehow, my sister was tasked with another thing and I was left alone. At that moment, I was feeling nervous about how I would start facing the crowd and sharing snacks in a small bowl for them. With the number of tables and chairs being in circles, that would be difficult for me to serve all. As luck would find me, my younger sister (the last born) who has been busy with other things was free and volunteered to help me. I was happy and I told her what to do; she would be the one serving as I instruct her while pouring the chinchin in each bowl. We served over 20 tables of 5 people each and the chinchin was gradually finishing. I looked around and did a rough count of the remaining tables, the remaining snacks would not be enough to go round. Now, you see, this is what I am always avoiding. If you give to some and do not give to others, instead of understanding that it has finished, they start to feel unhappy as if they contributed money for the snacks.



With the little remaining which I was trying to reduce the quantity, there sat some old women from the village who kept signalling to me to pour some into their hands. With the way they sat down in groups, they looked like those witches having a meeting in their coven.

One thing I have known about my village is knowing there are witches and wizards who love to inflict pain on others. As much as I knew about this, I was being careful with any of them. It is not like I am afraid but one has to create a boundary because even the Bible says the one who is in me is greater than them. So, why scared?



I frowned my face while sharing the chinchin and pretended not to see them. The next thing I saw was one of them stood up to meet me and silently said into my ear, "Do you want to say you don't know us? I told you to pour something, but you refused. What is wrong with you, this child?" I looked up to see the woman and lo and behold, I never knew this woman before, not in the village. At that moment, I was fidgeting and my hands were shaking. Immediately, I apologised and gave the remaining chinchin to the women and the others as I poured into their hands. As soon as it finished which they saw too, I left that place, holding my sister's hand while calling the blood of Jesus 😁

I don't want somebody to come and attack me over chinchin they never contributed money for. The world is wicked 😄

Thanks for your time on my blog.

png_20230103_101955_0000.png

Sort:  

I also feel uncomfortable in case of serving people. It seem s it's one of the most difficult task for me to do. But because of various kind of situation I am learning a little bit about it and at least I can do the thing a little bit.

Yes, I can do things bit by bit but when there are huge crowds around, I feel uncomfortable.

You're just like me, I'm the laziest person in my family, no one would even put me in charge of anything. I dislike crowd, serving people is not my thing and will never be. Lmao, those coven aunties and grandmas are the meanest and worst kind of people you should ever have a bad encounter with. I enjoyed reading👍

Hahaha, they know me in the family already and know the kind of task to do unless I volunteer to do the biggest part of it. Lol
I don´t like crowds at all, it weakens me immediately and even when I go to an event, I don´t stay too long at all because I would start to feel uneasy in me. You see those aunties and grandmas, one should avoid them. Lol
Thanks for reading.

Sorry for the lost, but if I was at the funeral and I noticed you, I would have ordered for 10 different serving rounds of chinchin just to wip the fear out.😂

Hahaha,, I will already recognize your face na 😂 you can´t collect twice oo.

Chinchin made you ran from the place. What if you have to stop there for some more minutes? May be that women will beat you up 😉 😂

Hehehe, those women have some spiritual powers used to hurt people and I don´t want that 😂

Why were you scared like that?
Was it not you that quoted scriptures of Who's in you is greater? Lol😄

The woman's game did well for her 🏋️

Abeg, I don´t want to trespass at all, but if dem come, then God is ready to fight because I didn´t look for trouble 😂

You think say devil know who looked for trouble? 😂

😂
The fear of witches is the beginning of wisdom in this case.

Just give them the chinchin to avoid stories that touch. 😂

As in... you understand me. I had to give them the remaining ones and let them know it was finished before leaving. Others couldn´t taste out of it.

I kinda know that feeling from the burial i attended yesterday inside a village majority of the men were looking scary. It just tried not to shake with ones i don't know.

Exactly. We need to be careful. Lol

Hia, see wahala. Hope you didn't experience any mysterious pain in any part of your body after serving them? Hmm, those people are wicked oo

Omo this story was getting scary towards the end. But you needed up doing your job well. It's not your fault the chin chin finished in the first place. And like you said, they didn't contribute for it.

Nice story.

What a scary encounter,she even came to close to your ear that would have been it for me.The fear of having to serve the crowd and the older women nooooo I will pass.No one can raise from my chair

Lolzzzz ,,, those women are really witches how can you be hustling for chinchin in someones burial 🤣🤣🤣 people can be heartless i swear #dreemerforlife

It is difficult to attend to so many people, especially at banquets. Personally, I prefer to be away from that stress, even though it is not bad to help from time to time to serve some drinks and eat a little while you distribute the food.

#dreemerforlife

Hahahahaha, I do not like sharing too, especially when there is not enough to go round. I am glad you behaved yourself and gave the chinchin Better be safe than sorry. Hahaha

Hahahahha princess o you want to offend the gods you better give them chinchin well , God save you.
#dreemerforlife