Nerd By Northwest #261 – “I’m Blue, da ba dee da ba daa…”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro3 years ago (edited)

Rosk the sorcerer finally gets to show his stuff...

Nerd By Northwest #261 – “I’m Blue, da ba dee da ba daa…”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


I currently play a wild magic sorcerer in our group's dungeon-crawl in Undermountain. I've seen a number of forums with people complaining up a storm about wild mage characters hurting or killing the party with wild magic surges. But so far, most of the surges have worked in our favor. In fact, so far the only one in the party negatively affected by my wild magic surges has been ME.

And yes, my character's skin turning smurf blue was one of those! I was stuck that way for quite a while until our cleric was able to cast "remove curse". I think at one point during a battle, my character had smurf blue skin, with a long beard made of feathers, AND a 3rd eye on his forehead. Wild magic sorcerers are a lot of things, but they're sure not boring... 😎


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

You have to imagine that any magic would not be simple. I would think it is some power that is out there to be harnessed, but it could be like channelling lightning. Bound to go wrong sometimes.

!PIZZA

In the D&D game, that's pretty much how wild magic works.... you get a little more power, but less control over it. If nothing else it's great for comic relief. And it makes you think twice before using it frivolously.... imagine attempting to channel powerful, destructive magic but instead turning yourself into a potted plant for 1 minute.😂

Connect

Trade


@northwestnomad! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

That's awesome! When I'm running sessions, the single most enjoyable thing for me are having anyone roll Natural 1's or 20's. I once had a party that was beginning to squabble amongst themselves; to try to show his stuff, a low level mage cast a "expell gas" cantrip at the largest fighter in the group. He rolled a nat 20. The fighter asked to roll a save; I allowed, and he rolled a nat 1. He spent the rest of that evening expelling gas at the best opportune time (for me, as the storyteller).

At minimum, I'd say that gives the fighter disadvantage on Persuasion and Performance checks. Intimidation checks for interrogations could go either way, depending whether it's in a small room and how much beer, broccoli, and beans the fighter had for dinner!