Nerd By Northwest #294 – “Steerage Class”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro2 years ago (edited)

Low man on the totem pole? Sucks to be you...

Nerd By Northwest #294 – “Steerage Class”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


So for those not clued in to D&D, a "Bag of Holding" is a magic bag where the space inside the bag is much bigger than the outside... much like the Doctor's Tardis. It can hold up to 500 pounds of stuff inside it, and you can either retrieve the things inside one at a time or you can turn it upside down and inside out to dump everything out. It's traditionally used to hold excessive amounts of adventuring gear & loot. But naturally, there are some of us gamers who stretch the boundaries of what the game creators envisioned for this particular magic item. And stuffing hapless henchmen inside said extradimensional bags is only the tip of that twisted iceberg... 😈


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

Nay, good sir, the real fun happens when you have two bags of holding and some form of telekinesis magic...

oh. you may be opening a tear in reality with that one

That is exactly what happens when you put one extraplanar object inside another. Anything nearby gets zapped straight to the Astral Plane.

Hey, no skipping ahead in the story! 😉

But yes, it's an effective, if expensive, astral bomb to make enemies go bye-bye. That said, though, it could be a lot cheaper if you happen to have an artificer like Pickles who can infuse at least two bags of holding each day... 😈

I'm metagaming again, aren't I?

We had a member of our party who was always throwing people into a bag of holding.

It become so troublesome for other party members we had to just ban bags of holding from any our games.

So this was quite humorous for me. !LUV

Years ago I played a kender thief, and the party would commonly threaten to shove me into a bag of holding. All of which just confirms in my mind that I was role-playing the kender true to form. 😁

Oh Kenders. When Dragonlance was the main setting. I fondly remember those days.
And yes you were playing true to form from that story. !LUV

You ever read the Knights of the Dinner Table and their whole Bag War saga?

Sadly I haven't, but I've heard about it. Quite a few years back I read a fair number of KODT comics that a friend collected, but none of them that I remember were part of that storyline. Maybe I should put that anthology on my wish list for when Hive and the crypto market in general explodes higher (crossing fingers!)

I never heard of this bag of holding, as I'm not a D&D player ( aside from some attempts, ages ago, with roommates) but this comic sure made me laugh.

Nice one! :^)

Thanks! I'm glad it still translates well to the non-D&D people out there.

decent humor always translates ;^)

Hopefully that's not 500 pounds of breakfast he's looking at puking up! 😂

Makes you wonder if the people and items in the bag of holding have a 'floor' to be on, or if they just kinda float around. As bad as standing in barf would be, having it floating around would be infinitely worse! Probably something like this Archer episode (at the 1:00 mark): 😁

Hahahaha. OMG, I wonder if there's even light in that bag for him to see it coming.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.