Nerd By Northwest #314 – “The Archmage’s Secret Recipe”

in COMIC BOOKS fan/pro2 years ago (edited)

Even hill giants are not immune to the worst that fast food can deliver...

Nerd By Northwest #314 – “The Archmage’s Secret Recipe”
(Click on the image to see the full-size version)


Don't know if other countries had the same experience, but as a child and young adult in the USA we heard about food poisoning in fast food joints and chain restaurants ALL THE TIME. Didn't seem to slow or stop us from eating fast food (though it should have) so much as just shifting which fast food places we ate at. And I admit I was no exception... even with the Jack-in-the-Box disaster in the 90's, that didn't stop me from eating there all too much several years later when going to University of Arizona. Sure, part of me thought "by now they're probably the SAFEST of fast food places after getting through that ordeal"... but methinks the larger part of myself was thinking, "where else can I eat out and feed myself for under $3?"

So bringing this back to the comic strip: in MY version of the Forgotten Realms the esteemed former archmage of the city of Waterdeep fell into the trap many celebrities do... open up a restaurant franchise! So 'Khelben's Fried Chicken' (or 'KFC' 😏) is a thing in my version of Waterdeep, and just like the America I grew up in it also has had its share of fast food disasters. The one mentioned here happened when one of the wizarding heirs to the Khelben's Fried Chicken franchise resorted to dark magic in an attempt to create the ultimate low-carb fried chicken recipe to help people lose weight. And it worked!... sort of. Naturally, when one is bazooka-barfing their guts out, it's pretty hard to gain weight!

As to the final comment in the last panel, those who remember the previous strip (you can find the link below!) know exactly what went into the beer that giant is drinking. Ultimately that bit was an homage to a satirical meme, one that I still find hilarious to this day:

https://thehardtimes.net/culture/bearded-man-in-flannel-mistakes-cat-piss-for-really-good-ipa/


Want to see the other Nerd By Northwest webcomics? Use the convenient links below!

First
Previous
Next

Sort:  

Oh yeah, absolutely. That's the same reason I steer well clear of Taco Bell.

Unless I am going to be with people I actively do not like. Then it's fair game.

I have a rule that we never get Taco Bell while on a road trip, or any other situation where a bathroom is not easily available.... 😏

I have a cast iron stomach. No fast food is bad enough to overcome my Constitution! Is that my Irish blood? Chinese?

Or it's because you're American, and like most Americans have been forged in the crucible of sub-par fast food since we were toddlers! That gives us an advantage on Constitution saves vs. 'questionable food exposure'... all for the low, low price of having disadvantage on Constitution saves vs. 'getting a fatter ass as we get older'. 😁

I've mostly managed to avoid food poisoning. There are good reasons for having people inspecting anywhere that serves food.

!LOLZ

It's hard to completely avoid here in Mongolia, but it doesn't happen to us as much as you'd think for a developing country and it's almost always been mild (as in not life-threatening). Restaurants and food producers have inspectors here too, but in general you just get an idea of which places you can consistently trust.

Whats the nuttiest Band in the history of rock and roll
The Allmond Brothers.

Credit: reddit
@northwestnomad, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @steevc

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(1/1)

Dear @northwestnomad, sorry to jump in a bit off-topic.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!